Department of History

Department of History
Department of History

Editorial Team

Jeffrey Collins

Sandra den Otter

Virginia Vandenberg 

Virginia reflects: “It has been extremely valuable to see the process of academic publishing from the inside, and I appreciate being able to see new scholarship in the field of British Studies as it develops. The chance to review and edit is also sharpening my skills as a writer.”

Stefan Brown 

Stefan Brown: “Working for the JBS has been tremendous. Enough can't be said about the opportunity to learn about the process of academic publishing from within a respected journal and the skills acquired from working on the articles submitted by the many talented contributors.”


Alex Martinborough

Maureen Garvie

Professional editor and author Maureen Garvie further assists in the editorial process

Associate Editors

Stephen Brooke, York University, Canada

Elizabeth Ewan, Guelph University, Canada

Matt Houlbrook, University of Birmingham, UK

Joanna Innes, Oxford University, UK

David Lambert, Warwick University, UK

Ted McCormick, Concordia University, Canada

Paul Monod, Middlebury College, USA

Cecilia Morgan, University of Toronto, Canada

Cynthia Neville, Dalhousie University, Canada

Christopher Otter, The Ohio State University, USA

Erika Rappaport, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Robert Travers, Cornell University, USA

Michelle Tusan, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

James Vernon, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Rachel Weil, Cornell University, USA

Board of Advisors 

Don Akenson, Queen’s University, Canada

Jordanna Bailkin, University of Washington , USA

Tim Barringer, Yale University, USA

Richard Bourke, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Christopher Brown, Columbia University, USA

Deborah Cohen, Northwestern University, USA

Tarnya Cooper, National Portrait Gallery, UK

Brian Cowan, McGill University, Canada

Margot Finn, University College London, UK

Katherine French, University of Michigan, USA

Deborah Harkness, University of Southern California , USA

Ben Jackson, University of Oxford, UK

Maryanne Kowaleski, Fordham University, USA

Philippa Levine, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

Margaret McGlynn, Western University, Canada

Bernadette Meyler, Stanford Law School, USA

Craig Muldrew, University of Cambridge, UK

Melanie Newton, University of Toronto, Canada

Kate Retford, Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Ethan Shagan, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Nigel Smith, Princeton University, USA

Miles Taylor, University of York, UK

Robert Tittler, Concordia University, Canada

Selina Todd, University of Oxford, UK

Kathleen Wilson, Humanities Institute at Stony Brook, USA