Institute of Intergovernmental Relations


The International Association of Centers for Federal Studies (IACFS)

The International Association of Centers for Federal Studies (IACFS) was founded in 1977 to further the study and understanding of federal principles and patterns. The late Daniel Elazar was the Association's founding president.

The member centers conduct independent research on political, constitutional, legal, administrative, fiscal, economic, historical, and philosophical issues relevant to federalism and federations.

Member centers and institutes are committed to exchanging their research results and publications with all of the other members, notifying them about conferences and projects, and participating in the annual conference of the association.

Australia | Austria | Belgium | Canada | France | Germany | India | Israel | Italy | Nigeria | Russia | South Africa | Spain | Switzerland | United Kingdom | United States

IACFS Executive

Professor Cheryl Saunders
Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies
University of Melbourne

Professor Nico Steytler,
Director of the Community Law Centre, University of the Western Cape
Bellville 7535, South Africa

Enric Fossas (Spain)

G. Alan Tarr, Director
Center for State Constitutional Studies
Rutgers University - Camden
411 Cooper Street
Camden, New Jersey  08102 U.S.A.
PH: 856-225-2970;  856-225-6625
Fax: 856-225-6628


Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies
Professor Cheryl Saunders,
Director Law School,
723 Swanston Street (2nd Floor)
Parkville Vic 3052 Australia

North Australia Research Unit
Dr. Christine Fletcher,
Director PO BOX 41321,
Casuarina, Northern Territory Australia

South Australia Centre for Economic Studies
Dr. Greg Coombs,
Managing Director University of Adelaide
PO BOX 125, Rundle Mall
South Australia 5000, Australia


Institute for Federal Studies
Professor Dr. Peter Pernthaler,
Director Institut fur Foderalismusforschung
Maria-Theresien-Strasse 38b 6020 Innsbruck, Austria


Centre for the Study of Federalism
Professor Dr. Gonzales D'Alcantara
Centre d'Etude du Federalisme/Studiecentrum
voor Federalisme Hoornstraat 34, Rue de Cornet 1040 Brussel/Bruxelles, Belgium
Telephone: 32-2-280-1384
Fax: 32-2-231-1433


Institute for Public Economics
Paul Boothe
Encana Scholar in Public Policy,
CD Howe Institute
Professor and Director,
Institute for Public Economics
University of Alberta Edmonton,
(780) 492-2989 (voice)
(780) 492-3300 (fax)

Institute of Intergovernmental Relations
Thomas J. Courchene, Director
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario
Canada, K7L 3N6


International Centre for European Studies
Professor Ferdinand Kinsky,
Director 10 Avenues Des Fleurs 06000 Nice, France


European Centre for Research on Federalism
Professor Dr. Rudolf Hrbek,
Director University of Tuebingen
Nauklerstr. 37a 72074 Tuebingen, Germany

German Institute for Federal Studies
Professor Hans-Peter Schneider,
Director Deutsches Institut fur Foederalismusforschung e.V.
Konigsworther Platz, Hannover or


Centre for Federal Studies
Professor Akhtar Majeed,
Director Hamdard University Hamdard
Nagar, New Delhi, 110062


Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs
Zvi R. Marom,
13 Tel Hai Street Jerusalem, Israel


Inter-University Centre for Regional and Local Finance
Professor Giancarlo Pola,
Director Dipartimento d'Economia Instituzioni Territorio
University of Ferrara
Corso Ercole I d"este
44 44100 Ferrara, Italy

Studies on Federalism and Regionalism
University of Bolzano
Palermo Francesco
Viale Druso 1, 39100 Bozen/Bolzano, Italy
Telephone: +39 0471 055 055
Fax: +39 0471 055 059


Institute of Governance and Social Research
Professor J. Isawa Elaigwu,
Director PMB 2156 N,
Plot A 76 Liberty Boulevard,
Liberty Dam Layout Jos,
Plateau State Nigeria
Telephone: 234-73-46-1727
Fax: 234-73-46-0894


Centre for Combined Federal Studies - Institute of the U.S.A. and Canada
Dr. Slava Shealo,
2/3 Khlebny per.
Moscow 121 814, Russia

South Africa

Community Law Centre
Professor Nico Steytler,
Director of the Community Law Centre, University of the Western Cape
Bellville 7535, South Africa


Institute for Political and Social Science
Professor Isidro Molas,
Director C/Mallorca 244,
Principal 08008
Barcelona, Spain

Institute for Autonomous Studies
Library Catalogue
Dr. Antoni Bayona Rocamora,
Director Baixada de Sant Miquel 8
08002 Barcelona, Spain
Telephone: 34-3-412-4782
Fax: 34-3-412-0376


Institute for Federalism
Professor Dr. Thomas Fleiner,
Director Route d'Englisberg 7
CH-1763 Granges-Paccot
Fribourg, Switzerland

United Kingdom

Centre for European Politics and Institutions
Professor Jurg Monar,
Director Leicester University
Leicerster, England, LE1 7RH

United States

Center for the Study of Federalism
Wesley Leckrone,
Program Director
Temple University
1616 Walnut Street, Suite 507
Philadelphia, PA, United States 19103

The Robert B. and Helen S. Meyner Center for the Study of State and Local Government
Professor John Kincaid,
002 Kirby Hall of Civil Rights
Lafayette College
Easton, PA, United States 18042-1785

U.S. Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations
Mr. Charles D. Griffiths,
Executive Director
800 North Capitol Street, Suite 1082
Washington, D.C., 20575, United States
Telephone: 202-523-4390
Fax: 202-523-8298

Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis
Professor Vincent Ostrom and Professor Elinor Ostrom,
513 North Park Indiana University
Bloomington, IN, 47408-3895, United States