Research Topics

There are a number of faculty members and researchers currently working in various areas of Indigenous research at Queen’s. Please contact the individuals directly or visit their faculty page for more information about their research.

Faculty Department Name Topic Email
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Dylan Robinson Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts dylan.robinson@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Rosaleen Hill Inuit Digital Preservation Strategy hillr@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Lynda Jessup Indigenous Social and Cultural History lynda.jessup@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Norman Vorano North American Indigenous Arts norman.vorano@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Dan School of Drama and Music Gordon E. Smith Mi’kmaq Music Culture gordon.smith@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Economics Anya Hageman Economics of Indigenous Communities hagemana@econ.queensu.ca
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Petra Fachinger Indigenous Literature petra.fachinger@queensu.ca
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Sam McKegney Indigenous Sport and Literary Art sam.mckegney@queensu.ca
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Heather MacFarlane Indigenous Literature heather.macfarlane@queensu.ca
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Laura Murray Indigenous History laura.murray@queensu.ca
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Armand Ruffo Contemporary Native issues (Environmental, Spiritual, Self-Determination) armand.ruffo@queensu.ca
         
Arts and Science Geography and Planning Heather Castleden Indigenous Social and Environmental Justice heather.Castleden@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Geography and Planning Anne Godlewska Spatial Inclusion and Exclusion of Indigenous Peoples godlewsk@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Geography and Planning Leela Viswanathan Planning with First Nations viswanal@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Environmental Studies  Graham Whitelaw Environment and Sustainability whitelaw@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Gender Studies Graham Whitelaw Indigenous Decolonization and Resurgence Practices  
Arts and Science Gender Studies Elizabeth Brule Provision of Maternity Care On-Reserve e.brule@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Gender Studies Karen Lawford White Settler Colonialism karen.lawford@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Global Development Studies Scott Morgensen Resource Extraction scott.morgensen@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Global Development Studies Robert Lovelace Aboriginal Studies lovelace@queensu.ca
Arts and Science History Nancy van Deusen Indigenous Slavery nancy.vandeusen@queensu.ca
Arts and Science History Scott Bethelette Fur Trade, French-Indigenous Relations in North America sab98@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Kinesiology and Health Studies Lucie Levesque Indigenous Health levesqul@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Kinesiology and Health Studies Jeff Masuda Indigenous Leadership in Environmental Health jeff.masuda@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures Nathan Brinklow Second Language Acquisition Methodologies nb81@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures Noel McDermott Inuit Studies nm80@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures Isabelle St-Amand French Studies isa2@queensu.ca
Arts and Science Philosophy Lisa Guenther Incarceration, Reproductive Politics and Settler Colonialism lisa.guenther@queensu.ca
Business   Tina Dacin Social Impact tdacin@business.queensu.ca
Education   Jennifer Davis Land-Based Education, Decolonizing Education, Education of Reconciliation jennifer.davis@queensu.ca
Education   Alana Butler At-risk Learners and Student Success  alana.butler@queensu.ca
Education   Rebecca Luce-Kapler Indigenous Multiliteracies rebecca.luce-kapler@queensu.ca
Education   Lindsay Morcom Language Revitalization and Decolonizing Education lindsay.morcom@queensu.ca
Engineering and Applied Science   Mark Green Development of Indigenous access to engineering  provost@queensu.ca
Health Sciences Nursing Mary Smith Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing - Anishinaabe Epistomologies mary.smith@queensu.ca
Health Sciences Medicine Michael Green Indigenous Health Care michael.green@dfm.queensu.ca
Health Sciences   Leslie Flynn CBME Executive leslie.flynn@queensu.ca
Health Sciences Biomedical and Molecular Sciences Wendy Wobeser Recurrent tuberculosis in Canada – translating whole genome sequencing insights into best public health practice wlw@queensu.ca
Law   Gail Henderson Indigenous Entrepreneurship gail.henderson@queensu.ca
Law   Cherie Metcalf Indigenous Law metcalfc@queensu.ca
Law   Nicholas Bala Family and Children's Law and Issues Related to Parental Separation  bala@queensu.ca 
Law   Nicholas Lamp International Trade Law, Comparative Analysis of International Lawmaking Processes  nicolas.lamp@queensu.ca

 

[illustration by Portia Chapman of Truth]