Truth

Indigenous Research Topics at Queen's

There are a number of faculty members and researchers currently working in various areas of Indigenous research at Queen’s. Please contact the individuals directly or visit their faculty page for more information about their research.

Faculty Department Name / Email Topic Faculty Page 

Arts and Science

Art History and Art Conservation

Dylan Robinson

dylan.robinson@queensu.ca

Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts Learn more about Dylan Robinson
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation

Rosaleen Hill
hillr@queensu.ca

Inuit Digital Preservation Strategy Learn more about Rosaleen Hill
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Lynda Jessup
lynda.jessup@queensu.ca
Indigenous Social and Cultural History Learn more about Lynda Jessup
Arts and Science Art History and Art Conservation Norman Vorano
norman.vorano@queensu.ca
North American Indigenous Arts Learn more about Norman Vorano
Arts and Science Dan School of Drama and Music

Gordon E. Smith
gordon.smith@queensu.ca

Mi’kmaq Music Culture Learn more about Gordon Smith
Arts and Science Economics

Anya Hageman
hagemana@econ.queensu.ca

Economics of Indigenous Communities Learn more about Anya Hageman
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Petra Fachinger
petra.fachinger@queensu.ca
Indigenous Literature Learn more about Petra Fachinger
Arts and Science English Language and Literature

Sam McKegney
sam.mckegney@queensu.ca

Indigenous Sport and Literary Art Learn more about Sam McKegney
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Heather MacFarlane
heather.macfarlane@queensu.ca
Indigenous Literature Learn more about Heather MacFarlane
Arts and Science English Language and Literature Laura Murray
laura.murray@queensu.ca
Indigenous History Learn more about Laura Murray
Arts and Science English Language and Literature

Armand Ruffo

armand.ruffo@queensu.ca

Contemporary Native issues (Environmental, Spiritual, Self-Determination)  Learn more about Armand Ruffo
Arts and Science Film and Media

Karine Bertrand

kb162@queensu.ca

Film Studies, Communications and Indigenous Studies Learn more about Karine Bertrand
Arts and Science Geography and Planning

Heather Castleden
heather.Castleden@queensu.ca

Indigenous Social and Environmental Justice Learn more about Heather Castleden
Arts and Science Geography and Planning Anne Godlewska
godlewsk@queensu.ca
Spatial Inclusion and Exclusion of Indigenous Peoples Learn more about Anne Godlewska
Arts and Science Geography and Planning Leela Viswanathan
viswanal@queensu.ca
Planning with First Nations Learn more about Leela Viswanathan
Arts and Science Environmental Studies  Graham Whitelaw
whitelaw@queensu.ca
Environment and Sustainability Learn more about Graham Whitelaw
Arts and Science Gender Studies

Elizabeth Brule

e.brule@queensu.ca

Indigenous Decolonization and Resurgence Practices Learn more about Elizabeth Brule
Arts and Science Gender Studies

Karen Lawford

karen.lawford@queensu.ca

Provision of Maternity Care On-Reserve Learn more about Karen Lawford
Arts and Science Gender Studies

Scott Morgensen
scott.morgensen@queensu.ca

White Settler Colonialism Learn more about Scott Morgensen
Arts and Science Global Development Studies Rebecca Hall
rh116@queensu.ca
Resource Extraction Learn more about Rebecca Hall
Arts and Science Global Development Studies

Robert Lovelace 
lovelace@queensu.ca

Aboriginal Studies Learn more about Robert Lovelace
Arts and Science History

Nancy van Deusen
nancy.vandeusen@queensu.ca

Indigenous Slavery Learn more about Nancy van Deusen
Arts and Science History 

Scott Bethelette

sab98@queensu.ca

Fur Trade, French-Indigenous Relations in North America Learn more about Scott Bethelette
Arts and Science Kinesiology and Health Studies

Lucie Levesque
levesqul@queensu.ca

Indigenous Health Learn more about Lucie Levesque
Arts and Science Kinesiology and Health Studies Jeff Masuda
jeff.masuda@queensu.ca
Indigenous Leadership in Environmental Health Learn more about Jeff Masuda
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures

Nathan Brinklow

nb81@queensu.ca

Second Language Acquisition Methodologies Learn more about Nathan Brinklow
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures

Noel McDermott
nm80@queensu.ca

Inuit Studies Learn more about Noel McDermott
Arts and Science Languages Literatures and Cultures Isabelle St-Amand
isa2@queensu.ca
French Studies Learn more about Isabelle St-Amand
Arts and Science Philosophy Lisa Guenther
lisa.guenther@queensu.ca
Incarceration, Reproductive Politics and Settler Colonialism Learn more about Lisa Guenther
Business   Tina Dacin
tdacin@business.queensu.ca
Social Impact Learn more about Tina Dacin
Education   Jennifer Davis
jennifer.davis@queensu.ca
Land-Based Education, Decolonizing Education, Education of Reconciliation Learn more about Jennifer Davis
Education   Alana Butler
alana.butler@queensu.ca
At-risk Learners and Student Success  Learn more about Alana Butler
Education   Rebecca Luce-Kapler
rebecca.luce-kapler@queensu.ca
Indigenous Multiliteracies Learn more about Rebecca Luce-Kapler
Education  

Lindsay Morcom

lindsay.morcom@queensu.ca

Language Revitalization and Decolonizing Education Learn more about Lindsay Morcom
Engineering and Applied Science  

Mark Green

provost@queensu.ca

Development of Indigenous access to engineering  Learn more about Mark Green
Health Sciences Nursing

Mary Smith

mary.smith@queensu.ca

Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing - Anishinaabe Epistomologies Learn more about Mary Smith
Health Sciences Medicine Michael Green
michael.green@dfm.queensu.ca
Indigenous Health Care Learn more about Michael Green
Health Sciences   Leslie Flynn 
leslie.flynn@queensu.ca
CBME Executive Learn more about Leslie Flynn
Health Sciences Biomedical and Molecular Sciences

Wendy Wobeser

wlw@queensu.ca

Recurrent tuberculosis in Canada – translating whole genome sequencing insights into best public health practice

Learn more about Wendy Wobeser
Law   Gail Henderson
gail.henderson@queensu.ca
Indigenous Entrepreneurship Learn more about Gail Henderson
Law   Cherie Metcalf 
metcalfc@queensu.ca
Indigenous Law Learn more about Cherie Metcalf
Law  

Nicolas Bala

bala@queensu.ca 

Family and Children's Law and Issues Related to Parental Separation  Learn more about Nicholas Bala
Law  

Nicolas Lamp

nicolas.lamp@queensu.ca

International Trade Law, Comparative Analysis of International Lawmaking Processes  Learn more about Nicholas Lamp