Queen's University




Matariki Network of Universities

[Matariki logo]

The Matariki Network of Universities is an international group of leading, like-minded universities, each amongst the most historic in its own country, and recognized as being:

  • a premier place of advanced learning, nationally and internationally
  • research-intensive across a broad subject base
  • focused on providing a high-quality student experience
  • flexible, modern, innovative, comprehensive and globally oriented

Queen's is one of the seven founding members of the Matariki Network of Universities (MNU), whose official launch took place in May 2010. The name "Matariki" is from the Māori language, in which Matariki is the name of the Pleiades star cluster (also known as The Seven Sisters) and signifies Spring and a new beginning.


The founding members of the MNU are:

Queen's participation in the MNU builds on the university's longstanding partnerships and agreements with Uppsala University (1993), the University of Western Australia (1994), and the University of Otago (2002), and more recent collaborations with Durham University (2011) and Tübingen University (2012).


MNU activities and initiatives at Queen’s include:

Student mobility

  • Queen’s undergraduate and graduate students may study on the campuses of five MNU partner institutions, and students of these institutions may study at Queen’s, due to bilateral exchange agreements that exist with Tübingen, Uppsala and Durham universities, and the Universities of Western Australia and Otago. Please see your Faculty International Office for details.

  • Global Citizenship Forum: Brings together students and faculty from across the network to develop global citizenship initiatives. This program currently operates from the BISC. Learn more about the Global Citizenship Forum...

  • Matariki Indigenous Studies Mobility Program (MISMP): Queen’s will host MISMP 2019, June 23-July 6, 2019. More information to follow.

Read about Kanonhsyonne Janice Hill, Associate Vice-Principal (Indigenous Initiatives and Reconciliation)’s experience at MISMP 2018 at Dartmouth College.

[Janice Hill]She:kon Sewakwe:kon,

Wahtkwahnonwera:ton. I was privileged to be asked to participate in the Matariki Indigenous Student Mobility Program (MISMP), held at Dartmouth University. The MISMP is designed to foster global scholarship and community engagement on the understanding of Indigenous peoples and Indigenous knowledge systems. It is a project of the Matariki Network of Universities (MNU). MNU is a network of seven universities, including Queen’s. 

It was an especially engaging program this year as we paid particular attention to the place of spirituality within Indigenous knowledge systems and within higher education.

I, along with a group of 14-18 primarily Indigenous students as well as faculty and support people including the Matariki Elder from Aotearoa, explored Indigenous protocol, process, knowledge creation, knowledge systems, research methodologies, and engagement through a series of on the land and academic experiences. We developed relationships not only with each other but also with the land and the traditional landholders of the land we travelled, specifically the Abenaki and the Mohegans. We started our journey together as strangers and ended as family.

Our time with these Indigenous peoples informed and grounded the academic work we all did together and brought to mind the value and importance of global engagement and understanding, not only for this group but also for all of us involved in higher education. In my experience and view I become comfortable in my customary ways of doing and being, but see this experience as so important because it encouraged me to question and consider important things like Indigenous research methodologies, knowledge creation, and what is viewed as knowledge, particularly by Indigenous peoples from across the globe.

This experience has expanded my thinking and perceptions and so I appreciate greatly the fact that Queen’s is a part of the MNU. I can only imagine the value added for any faculty, students, or staff members who have the opportunity to engage with our partners and expand their own horizons and I highly encourage it.

I felt it most appropriate to share this story in this edition of the inclusive community newsletter as I feel it reflects and substantiates the value of being open to other ways of being. It is a time to reflect on and embrace diversity, learn from it, expand our view of the world, and encourage equity and inclusion. All of us, together, weave a magnificent blanket of humanity.

Skennen (In peace)

Kanonhsyonne (Janice Hill)
Director, Office of Indigenous Initiatives

Faculty visits

Many Queen’s faculty members have visited MNU institutions, and many reciprocal visits have taken place. Please visit: International Visitors Program of the Principal’s Development Fund, for program details and information about previously funded visits.

See also:

Queen’s-hosted Matariki Research Workshops

Benchmarking activities

Many Matariki benchmarking activities (essentially, comparisons of how members are performing in a variety of metrics, both in teaching and research), are underway. Examples include:

Lindsay Morcom, Queen's Faculty of Education and Matariki Collaborator:

Can't access YouTube? See our video playlist in an alternate format.