ITS

Information Technology Services
Information Technology Services

OneDrive for Business FAQ

ITS has gathered a listing of frequently asked questions. If you have a question that is not found on the list, please fill out the Online Support Form or call us at 613 533 6666.


Q. What is the difference between OneDrive and OneDrive for Business?

OneDrive is for individuals to sync their personal files across their devices and to the cloud. OneDrive is available free to individuals.

OneDrive for Business is online storage for organizations. At Queen's University, it's the place where faculty, staff, and students can store, sync, and share their files across multiple devices with ease and security.

With OneDrive for Business you can collaborate with others in real time and edit documents from virtually anywhere via a web browser using Office Online. Accessing files from multiple devices (including iOS and Android devices) is a cinch with native Office Online integration with OneDrive for Business.

For more information about OneDrive for Business, go to the What is OneDrive for Business? webpage on the Microsoft website.

Q. Where do I obtain help for my personal OneDrive account?

Queen's does not provide support for use of personal OneDrive. Microsoft provides online documentation to assist users with personal OneDrive.

Q. Can I sync OneDrive for Business to a network drive?

No. OneDrive for Business cannot be synced to a networked or removable drive. Also, do not sync your OneDrive for Business to the same location as your personal OneDrive.

Q. How do I access files that have been shared with me?
  • When someone shares a file with you they have the option to Send an email invitation containing a link to you.
  • If you did not receive a link (or lost it) you can log into OneDrive for Business and from the left navigation menu select Shared and then select Shared with you. You will see all the files that have been shared with you.
Q. I am syncing my OneDrive for Business to my computer but files shared with me are not syncing. Why?

They are not syncing, because they do not belong to you. Only files that you created/uploaded to your OneDrive for Business account will be synced with another device.

Q. How do I manage versioning in my OneDrive for Business?

Navigate to the gear icon in the top right of your OneDrive for Business account. Select OneDrive Settings and then select More Settings from the navigation menu on the left. In the Can’t find what you are looking for? section, select Return to the old Site settings page. In the Site Administration section, select Site libraries and lists. On this page you will see a list of libraries and lists that you can customize. Select your desired library/list (e.g. Customize “Documents”). On this next page, below General Settings, select Versioning Settings. From here you can customize your versioning settings for the library or list. Please see Restore a previous version of a file in OneDrive for more information on using versioning.

Q. How can I check to see how much space I have left on my OneDrive for Business account?

To see your storage usage, first navigate to the gear icon in the top right of your OneDrive for Business account. Select OneDrive Settings and then select More Settings from the navigation menu on the left, this will bring you to a landing page for managing your site. In the Features and Storage section, select Storage Metrics. Please note that Queen's provides each user up to 5 TB of storage space for work documents.

Q. Can I do real-time collaboration in OneDrive for Business?

Yes, if you have shared a document from your OneDrive for Business with another person, you can do real-time collaboration in Microsoft Office products (Word, Excel, PowerPoint). In your document library, in the column titled Sharing, it should say Shared next to the document. To collaborate, open the document by selecting it from OneDrive. It will first open in the Office online application. You can choose to edit directly from here, or you can open the document in your desktop client by selecting Edit in [application name] from the ribbon at the top of the page. In the upper right hand corner of the online app you will see when someone else is editing the file. You will also see a flag while the other person is typing.

Last Updated: February 14, 2021