Queen's University

Queen's University Queen's University

Header-MainMenu-LYNDA.COM

[LYNDA.COM]
[LYNDA.COM]

Learn with Lynda.com

Lynda.com is moving to LinkedIn Learning

Lynda.com is a popular training website for software, technology, business and creative skills. Offering thousands of videos on hundreds of topics, Lynda.com is available to all students, staff and faculty at Queen’s.

Lynda.com at Queen’s is upgrading to the new LinkedIn Learning platform.

LinkedIn Learning features the same great video library from Lynda.com, which means that you’ll be able to pick up your learning right where you left off.

The new platform will provide new features such as:

  • an updated look and feel
  • personalized course recommendations
  • shareable multi-media collections (playlists)
  • social curation (i.e. “like” the videos that you’ve watched)

To ensure that you are included in the migration and receive important communications about the upgrade,
login to Lynda.com before July 5, 2019.

Upgrade Information – What to Expect

While the system is being upgraded, Lynda.com will be unavailable for up to 24 hours. Once the upgrade is complete, you will receive an email directly from LinkedIn Learning, asking you to activate your new LinkedIn Learning account. At that time, you’ll have the option to:

  • create a LinkedIn profile and connect it to your LinkedIn Learning account
  • connect your LinkedIn Learning account to an existing LinkedIn profile
  • create a LinkedIn Learning account that is unconnected to a LinkedIn profile.

Once your account has been activated, you will gain access to the new platform and will no longer be able access to Lynda.com; however, all profile information and learning history will be carried over to your LinkedIn Learning account.

Do I need a LinkedIn profile to use LinkedIn Learning?

No, you do not need a LinkedIn profile to use LinkedIn Learning.

If you do have a LinkedIn profile, you are not obligated to connect it to your LinkedIn Learning account.

What are the advantages of connecting my LinkedIn Learning account to a LinkedIn profile?

LinkedIn recommends connecting or creating a LinkedIn profile to receive enhanced product features (such as retaining course history even after you’ve left Queen’s) and more personalized content recommendations.

LinkedIn takes your privacy seriously, so only your basic information (e.g., name, job title, skills, photo) will be shared with Queen’s. Queen’s will not have access to any private activity from your personal LinkedIn account.

How do I log into my new LinkedIn Learning account?

If you are connecting your LinkedIn profile, please log in or activate LinkedIn Learning using the email address associated with your Linkedin.com account.

If you do not wish to connect your LinkedIn profile, please sign up for a separate LinkedIn Learning account using the email address of your choice.

How long do I have to activate my account after the upgrade?

The activation link that you receive from LinkedIn Learning after the upgrade will expire after 14 days.

If you need to activate your account after this time, please contact IT Services and we will resend the activation link.

You must activate your account within 1 year of the upgrade date for your individual learning data and history to carry over.

If I’m viewing a course or am midway through a learning stream before the upgrade, will my learning history be captured so that I can continue working in the new platform?

Yes, all learning history and activity will be migrated from Lynda.com to your new LinkedIn Learning account.

If you do not want to migrate your existing data, please contact IT Services.

Is the content on LinkedIn Learning the same as on Lynda.com?

Yes, LinkedIn Learning provides access to all the courses from the Lynda.com library that you know and love.

What happens to my LinkedIn Learning account/LinkedIn profile when I leave Queen’s?

If you connected your LinkedIn profile to your LinkedIn Learning account, you can retain your course history, regardless of your license status.

You can disconnect your LinkedIn profile from your LinkedIn Learning account at any time by contacting the Customer Service team.