Department of Philosophy



site header

Grégoire WebberMargaret MooreThe Royal Society of Canada has announced some new appointments of Philosophy Department members. Professor Margaret Moore (cross-appointed with Political Studies) has been elected a Fellow, and Professor Grégoire Webber (cross-appointed with the Faculty of Law) has been elected to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Congratulations to both!

Fellows come from all branches of learning who have made contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life. The Fellowship recognizes Margaret as among the very best in her field, in part because she has developed a comprehensive and systematic theory of territory dealing with some of the most pressing issues faced in national and international politics: how to draw state boundaries, secession, resource rights, rights to migrate and rights of national defence.

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. Grégoire has worked for the Privy Council Office, served as Legal Affairs Advisor to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, and received a Meritorious Service Medal from the Governor General for founding the Supreme Court Advocacy Institute.