Department of Political Studies

Department of Political Studies
Department of Political Studies
Subscribe to RSS - News

Prof. John McGarry, one of two research leaders, earns prestigious medal

Queen’s researchers Guy Narbonne and John McGarry were honoured today by the Royal Society of Canada for contributions to geology and political science, respectively.

Dr. McGarry (Political Studies) is the recipient of the Innis-Gerin Medal for his contribution to the literature of the social sciences. The medal has only been awarded 21 times since its inception in 1967.

See Queen's Gazette for full details.


Matthew Mitchell earns award for Best Dissertation in African Politics

Matthew Mitchell is the recipient of the prestigious APCG-Lynne Rienner Best Dissertation in African Politics 2013 Award, which was announced during the American Political Science Association meetings in Washington, DC. The Award Committee described the dissertation, entitled "Rethinking the Migration-Conflict Nexus: Insights from the Cocoa Regions of Cote d'Ivoire and Ghana", as has having "represented outstanding scholarship in African politics". Matthew joins a select group of past winners drawn from prominent universities such as Harvard. Dr. J.


Professor Stéfanie von Hlatky receives prestigious national grant

Professor Stéfanie von Hlatky (Political Studies), director of Queen's Centre for International and Defence Policy receives a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) to study corporate social responsibility practices within the mining industry. Professor von Hlatky in the third to receive this prestigious national grant.

Please see the September 9, 2014 edition of Queen's Gazette for details


Jeffrey Simpson recipient of Agnes Benidickson Award

Political Studies alumnus and current Globe and Mail columnist Jeffrey Simpson, Arts’71, LLD’05,is the 2014 recipient of theAgnes Benidickson Award, given by the Ottawa Branch of the Queen’s University Alumni Association. It is the highest honour bestowed by the Ottawa Branch and presented to an individual for distinguished service to the University and Canada.

During his student days, Mr. Simpson was also involved with CFRC and the Debating Club.

Mr. Simpson will receive his award on March 26 at the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa.


The Department of Political Studies Presents The J.A. Corry Lecture

Donald L. Horowitz is the James B. Duke Professor of Law and Political Science Emeritus at Duke University. He is the author of seven books, including The Courts and Social Policy (1977), which won the Louis Brownlow Award of the National Academy of Public Administration, Ethnic Groups in Conflict (1985, 2000); A Democratic South Africa? Constitutional Engineering in a Divided Society (1991), which won the Ralph Bunche Prize of the American Political Science Association, and The Deadly Ethnic Riot (2001). His most recent book is Constitutional Change and Democracy in Indonesia, published in 2013 by Cambridge University Press.


Congratulations to Erin Crandall

Our current Skelton-Clark Fellow, Erin Crandall, has been awarded an FQRSC (Quebec Research Fund for Society and Culture) postdoctoral scholarship for 2013-15, tenable in our Department.  Erin's current research examines the effects of judicial selection systems on the representation of women on the bench in Canada.  

We are very fortunate that this prestigious award will allow Erin to continue her project and give us the benefit of her presence and participation in the Department for the coming two years.  Please join me in congratulating Erin.   


Political Studies graduate joins forces and launches law firm

Toronto, ON  --  When the Canadian economy sheds jobs – and it did in March as 54,500 full time positions disappeared – there’s not enough focus on the impact this has on employees and employers. 

That’s according to employment lawyers Natalie MacDonald and Stuart Rudner, founders of the newly launched Rudner MacDonald LLP, a law firm specializing in employment law.



Sara Pavan, PhD candidate

For only the third time, a Queen’s University student has been honoured with a Trudeau Scholarship. Doctoral student Sara Pavan (Political Studies) was one of just 14 individuals across Canada to receive the scholarship this year.

“As an international student (from Italy), I am very grateful for the confidence that the Trudeau foundation has in me,” says Ms. Pavan. “The award gives you the opportunity to conduct even more ambitious research. It really changes your perspective about what you can achieve and how you can afford to go ahead with it. It also provides a chance to get to know a network of very interesting people—such as academics, journalists and policy makers.”  Read here for full story.


Political Studies professor appointed President of the ASN

Professor Zsuzsa Csergő is the new President of the Association for the Study of Nationalities (ASN).  She will serve in this capacity for three years, beginning on April 21, 2013.  

ASN is the leading international academic association in nationalism and ethnicity studies, and the only scholarly association focusing on the study of ethnicity and nationalism from Europe to Eurasia.  The ASN's annual world convention takes place every year in the spring at Columbia University, New York.  The 41st annual convention, which was held from April 18-21, 2013, included the highest ratio of international participants of academic conventions based in North America.  The convention included nearly 700 participants, and the program featured 150 panels on research related to nationalism and ethnicity--with over 400 scholars from 50 countries delivering papers; the screening of new documentary films; and expert panels on significant current events related to conflicts associated with nation-building, and ethnocultural and religious diversity.