Department of Political Studies

Department of Political Studies
Department of Political Studies
Subscribe to RSS - News

Raynold Wonder Alorse Receives SSHRC CGS Nelson Mandela Award

Raynold Wonder Alorse Receives SSHRC CGS Nelson Mandela Award

The Department would like to extend congratulations to PhD student Raynold Wonder Alorse, who is the recipient of a SSHRC Canada Graduate Scholarship to Honour Nelson Mandela. The Award celebrates Nelson Mandela’s legacy and his tireless pursuit of peace, democracy, justice, and freedom through learning, understanding, and education.

This is the first time that a Political Studies student has won this prestigious award.


Margaret Moore’s book receives Notable Mention from ISA

Prof. Margaret Moore’s  A Political Theory of Territory (OUP 2015) received a notable Mention from the ISA Ethics Panel Book Award 2016. The award committee justified its decision on grounds of the book’s  “rigorous and significant reflection on an issue of immense moral and political import… The book presents a significant contribution to non-statist reflection on territory in a world of conflict-ridden interdependence.” 

Moore’s book was also short-listed for the Canadian Political Science association CB Macpherson book prize and was subject of several important symposia and workshops. It received praising reviews in several of the top journals in the field.

The department congratulates Margaret on her outstanding achievement.


Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant wins SSHRC Connection Grant

Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant has won a SSHRC Connection Grant, with collaborators Will Kymlicka, Dick Johnston, and John Myles, for the conference New Frontiers in Public Policy: Federalism and the Welfare State in a Multicultural World. The conference honours the career of Keith Banting, a global expert in the subject matter, and features presentations from an intriguing mix of leading scholars, senior government practitioners, and civil society leaders. The conference takes place Sept. 23-24, 2016, organized by the School of Policy Studies, the Institute of Intergovernmental Relations, and the Department of Political Studies. For more information see:


John McGarry's contributions to peace work recognized with Order of Canada and Molson Prize

Professor John McGarry (Queen’s Political Studies) has been appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada. The Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System, and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. 

The department would also like to extend congratulations to John McGarry for receiving the Canada Council for the Arts 2016 Molson Prize. The Molson Prize is awarded annually for contributions to the cultural and intellectual heritage of Canada and is given in support of continuing to make such contributions in the future.


Brexit article in Foreign Affairs by Ognen Vangelov

Ognen Vangelov, PhD candidate in Political Studies, is co-author of an article published today in Foreign Affairs about the implication of Brexit on EU enlargement prospects in the Balkans. The article argues that the UK’s departure will make the region’s own bid for EU membership more distant, which may slow down democratic consolidation. Brexit could embolden autocrats who are already appealing to the worst instincts of the region’s divided societies.

Read the article here:


John McGarry Recognized with Distinguished Scholar Award

The department extends congratulations to Professor John McGarry (Queen's Political Studies), who is the joint winner of the 2016 Distinguished Scholar Award from the International Studies Association’s Ethnicity and Migration Studies section, along with co-recipient Brendan O'Leary (University of Pennsylvania). This international award is given to senior scholars who have made an impact in Ethnicity and/or Nationalism and/or Migration studies.

This year's award acknowledges both of the long-term collaborators for their research, both jointly and independently, on the political institutions of divided societies. 

Read more from the Queen's Gazette.



Marin Beck awarded Jean Royce Fellowship

The Department would like to extend congratulations to PhD student, Marin Beck for being awarded the Jean Royce Fellowship, Queen's top award for Queen's women graduates. This fellowship, established in memory of Jean I. Royce, is awarded annually by the Queen's University Alumnae Association to a woman graduate of Queen's University for one year of study and research that contributes to the advancement of knowledge, contributes to society or allows creative expression.

This is the first time that a Political Studies student has won this prestigious award, serving as a testament to Marin's extraordinary achievements during her time at Queen's.


Prof. Goodyear-Grant Receives Pierre Savard Award

The department extends congratulations to Dr. Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant who has been awarded the Pierre Savard Award for her book, Gendered News: Media Coverage and Electoral Politics in Canada. This award from the International Council for Canadian Studies (ICCS) recognizes an exceptional scholarly work that contributes to a better understanding of Canada. More information on this prestigious award can be found at the ICCS website:


Ognen Vangelov, PhD Candidate, earns Vanier Scholarship

Ognen Vangelov, PhD Candidate, Earns Prestigious Vanier Scholarship

The Department offers congratulations to Ognen Vangelov, who is one of six Queen's students awarded the prestigious Vanier Scholarship this year. The Vanier CGS program aims to help Canadian institutions attract and retain highly qualified doctoral researchers across the social sciences and/or humanities, natural sciences and/or engineering and health. Overall, the Vanier Scholarship strives to establish a global status for Canada as a centre for excellence in research higher learning.