Department of Political Studies

Department of Political Studies
Department of Political Studies

Faculty and Instructors

Regular Faculty
G. Grant Amyot
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C331
Email: amyotg@queensu.ca
Elizabeth Baisley
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C405
Email: keab@queensu.ca
Yolande Bouka
Field(s) of Study: International Relations, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C425
Email: yolande.bouka@queensu.ca
Poulomi Chakrabarti
On Leave January 1, 2021 - October 31, 2021
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C408
Email: pdc@queensu.ca
Wayne Cox
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C304
Email: coxw@queensu.ca
Zsuzsa Csergo
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C402
Email: csergo@queensu.ca
Danielle Delaney
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C411
Email: dd123@queensu.ca
Colin Farrelly
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C400
Email: farrelly@queensu.ca
Paul Gardner
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C428
Email: pg73@queensu.ca
Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C328
Email: elizabeth. goodyeargrant@queensu.ca
J. Andrew Grant
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C424
Email: andrew.grant@queensu.ca
David Haglund
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C329
Email: david.haglund@queensu.ca
Oded Haklai
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C431
Email: haklai@queensu.ca
Kyle Hanniman
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C412
Email: kyle.hanniman@queensu.ca
Janet Hiebert
On Leave January 1, 2022 – June 30, 2022
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C419
Email: janet.hiebert@queensu.ca
Stéfanie von Hlatky
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C406
Email: svh@queensu.ca
Rachel Laforest
On Leave July 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room C407
Email: laforest@queensu.ca
Andrew Lister
On Leave July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C426
Email: andrew.lister@queensu.ca
Margaret Little
On Leave January 1, 2022 – June 30, 2022
Field(s) of Study: Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, D521
Email: mjhl@queensu.ca
Fan Lu
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C429
Email: fan.lu@queensu.ca
Eleanor MacDonald
On Leave July 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory, Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C320/C430
Email: e.macdonald@queensu.ca
Stéphanie Martel
On Leave September 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C410
Email: stephanie.martel@queensu.ca
John McGarry
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C404
Email: john.mcgarry@queensu.ca
Margaret Moore
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C300
Email: margaret.moore@queensu.ca
Jonathan Rose
Head of Department
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C330
Email: jonathan.rose@queensu.ca
Term Adjuncts and Cross-Appointments
Amarnath Amarasingam
Cross-Appointment from the School of Religion
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Theological Hall, 405
Email: aa152@queensu.ca
Jane Boulden
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: bouldenj@queensu.ca
H. Christian Breede
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 401
Email: hcb@queensu.ca
Kathy Brock
Cross-Appointment from Policy Studies
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 328
Email: kathy.brock@queensu.ca
Stéphanie Chouinard
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Email: stephanie.chouinard@queensu.ca
Dalal Daoud
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B302
Email: 12dd38@queensu.ca
Pinar Dokumaci
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B310
Email: pd71@queensu.ca
Dax D'Orazio
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B302
Email: dax.dorazio@queensu.ca
Holly Ann Garnett
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Email: Holly-Ann.Garnett@rmc-cmr.ca
Thomas Hughes
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B301
Email: a.t.hughes@queensu.ca
Kristin Hulme
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study:
Office: 
Email:
kchulme@live.ca
Pierre Jolicoeur
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: pierre.jolicoeur@queensu.ca
Will Kymlicka
Cross-Appointment from Philosophy
Fields of Study: Political Theory
Office: Watson Hall, 328
Email: kymlicka@queensu.ca
Stephen Larin
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room C423
Email: stephen.larin@queensu.ca
Christian Leuprecht
Cross-Appointment from Policy Studies and the Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics, International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: christian.leuprecht@queensu.ca
Spencer McKay
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C419
Email: spencer.mckay@queensu.ca
Asbjorn Melkevik
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: 
Office: 
Email: asbjorn.melkevik@queensu.ca
Fahim Quadir
Cross-Appointment from Global Development Studies
Field(s) of Study: International Development, International Relations, International Political Economy
Email: quadirf@queensu.ca
Grace Scoppio
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International and Development Education
Email: Scoppio-g@rmc.ca
Susanne Soederberg
Cross-Appointment from Global Development Studies
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room A406
Email: soederberg@queensu.ca
Joel Sokolsky
Cross-Appointment from RMC
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, International Relations
Office: RMC
Email: sokolsky-j@rmc.ca
Jeremy Wildeman
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: 
Office: 
Email: jeremy.wildeman@gmail.com
Teaching Fellows
Rida Abu Rass
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B309
Instructor Email: rida.aburass@queensu.ca
Elisha Corbett
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C401
Instructor Email: elisha.corbett@queensu.ca
Lilian Estafanous
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B304
Instructor Email: leke@queensu.ca
Jennifer Guiho
Fields of Study: Political Theory, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C305
Instructor Email: jennifer.guiho@queensu.ca
Akif Hasni
Fields of Study: International Relations, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B308
Instructor Email: akif.hasni@queensu.ca
Simon Marmura Brown
Fields of Study: International Relations, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C411
Instructor Email: simon.marmurabrown@gmail.com
Joshua McEvoy
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B306
Instructor Email: joshua.mcevoy@queensu.ca
Patricia Mockler
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B309
Instructor Email: p.mockler@queensu.ca
Andrew Nguyen
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B303
Instructor Email: n.nguyen@queensu.ca
Canan Sahin
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C311
Instructor Email: 17cs14@queensu.ca
Lama Tawakkol
Fields of Study: International Relations, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B307
Instructor Email: l.tawakkol@queensu.ca
Douglas Yearwood
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C421
Instructor Email: 16dy3@queensu.ca
Retired/Emeritus Professors
Keith Banting
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 313
Email: keith.banting@queensu.ca
Bruce Berman
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: bermanb@queensu.ca
Edwin Black
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Catherine Conaghan
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: conaghan@queensu.ca
Philip Goldman
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
J.A.W. Gunn
Field of Study: Political Theory
Nadia Khalaf
Field of Study: Political Theory
Jayant Lele
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Colin Leys
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
John Meisel
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Kim Richard Nossal
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Email: nossalk@queensu.ca
Stephen Page
Field of Study: International Relations
Charles Pentland
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Email: ccp@queensu.ca
George C. Perlin
Field of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Email: perling@queensu.ca
Robert Wolfe
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: woodpj@queensu.ca
Phillip Wood
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: woodpj@queensu.ca
Faculty in Memoriam
David Cox
Field of Study: International Relations
C.E.S. (Ned) Franks
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Stewart Fyfe
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Jack Grove
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Bill Irvine
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Peter Leslie
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Khalid Sayeed
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Richard Simeon
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Hugh Thorburn
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Ronald L. Watts
Field of Study: Canadian Politics