Department of Political Studies

Department of Political Studies
Department of Political Studies

Faculty and Instructors

Regular Faculty
G. Grant Amyot 
On Leave July 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C331
Email: amyotg@queensu.ca
Elizabeth Baisley
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C405
Email: keab@queensu.ca
Yolande Bouka
Field(s) of Study: International Relations, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C425
Email: yolande.bouka@queensu.ca
Poulomi Chakrabarti 
On Leave January 1, 2021 - October 31, 2021
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C408
Email: pdc@queensu.ca
Wayne Cox
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C304
Email: coxw@queensu.ca
Zsuzsa Csergo 
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C402
Email: csergo@queensu.ca
Danielle Delaney
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C411
Email: dd123@queensu.ca
Colin Farrelly
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C400
Email: farrelly@queensu.ca
Paul Gardner
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C428
Email: pg73@queensu.ca
Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant 
On Leave July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021

Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C328
Email: elizabeth. goodyeargrant@queensu.ca
J. Andrew Grant 
On Leave July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C424
Email: andrew.grant@queensu.ca
David Haglund 
On Leave January 1, 2021 - July 1, 2021
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C329
Email: david.haglund@queensu.ca
Oded Haklai
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C431
Email: haklai@queensu.ca
Kyle Hanniman
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C327
Email: kyle.hanniman@queensu.ca
Janet Hiebert 
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C419
Email: janet.hiebert@queensu.ca
Stéfanie von Hlatky
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C406
Email: svh@queensu.ca
Rachel Laforest 
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room C407
Email: laforest@queensu.ca
Andrew Lister
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C426
Email: andrew.lister@queensu.ca
Margaret Little
Field(s) of Study: Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, D513
Email: mjhl@queensu.ca
Fan Lu
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C429
Email: fan.lu@queensu.ca
Eleanor MacDonald
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory, Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C320/C430
Email: e.macdonald@queensu.ca
Stéphanie Martel
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C410
Email: stephanie.martel@queensu.ca
John McGarry
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C404
Email: john.mcgarry@queensu.ca
Margaret Moore
Field(s) of Study: Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C300
Email: margaret.moore@queensu.ca
Jonathan Rose 
On Leave January 1, 2021 - July 1, 2021
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C330
Email: jonathan.rose@queensu.ca
Term Adjuncts and Cross-Appointments
Amarnath Amarasingam
Cross-Appointment from the School of Religion
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Theological Hall, 405
Email: aa152@queensu.ca
Jane Boulden
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: bouldenj@queensu.ca
H. Christian Breede
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 401
Email: hcb@queensu.ca
Kathy Brock
Cross-Appointment from Policy Studies
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 328
Email: kathy.brock@queensu.ca
Stéphanie Chouinard
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics
Email: stephanie.chouinard@queensu.ca
Pinar Dokumaci
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B310
Email: pd71@queensu.ca
Holly Ann Garnett
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Email: Holly-Ann.Garnett@rmc-cmr.ca
Sara Greco
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Email: sara.greco@queensu.ca
Olivier Jacques
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C302
Email: oj6@queensu.ca
Pierre Jolicoeur
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: pierre.jolicoeur@queensu.ca
Chandra Kumar
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: TBD
Email: TBD
Will Kymlicka
Cross-Appointment from Philosophy
Fields of Study: Political Theory
Office: Watson Hall, 328
Email: kymlicka@queensu.ca
Stephen Larin
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room C423
Email: stephen.larin@queensu.ca
Meghan Laws
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: TBD
Office: 
Email: TBD
Christian Leuprecht
Cross-Appointment from Policy Studies and the Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics, International Relations
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 409
Email: christian.leuprecht@queensu.ca
Paul Nesbitt-Larking
Term Adjunct
Field(s) of Study: TBD
Email: TBD
Grace Scoppio
Cross-Appointment from Royal Military College
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics, International and Development Education
Email: tScoppio-g@rmc.ca
Timothy Smith
Cross-Appointment from History
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Office: Watson Hall, Room 202
Email: ttbs@queensu.ca
Susanne Soederberg
Cross-Appointment from Global Development Studies
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room A406
Email: soederberg@queensu.ca
Daniel Westlake
Term Adjunct
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C419
Email: d.westlake@queensu.ca
Teaching Fellows

Elisha Corbett
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender and Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C401
Instructor Email: emc8@queensu.ca

Dalal Daoud
Fields of Study: Political Theory, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B302
Instructor Email: dd99@queensu.ca

Akif Hasni
Fields of Study: International Relations, Political Theory
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B308
Instructor Email: ash4@queensu.ca

Thomas Hughes
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B301
Instructor Email: ath4@queensu.ca

Elizabeth McCallion
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Gender & Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C306
Instructor Email: elizabeth.mccallion@queensu.ca

Joshua McEvoy
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B306
Instructor Email: TBD

Patricia Mockler
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B309
Instructor Email: pem3@queensu.ca

Linda Mussell
Fields of Study: Gender & Politics, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B300
Instructor Email: linda.mussell@queensu.ca

Andrew Nguyen
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B303
Instructor Email: an.nguyen@queensu.ca

Jacob Robbins-Kanter
Fields of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B311
Instructor Email: jrk@queensu.ca

Celia Romulus
Fields of Study: Gender & Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B308
Instructor Email: TBD

Daniel Troup
Fields of Study: International Relations, Canadian Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, B311
Instructor Email: drt2@queensu.ca

Samantha Twietmeyer
Fields of Study: Comparative Politics, International Relations
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C311
Instructor Email: s.twietmeyer@queensu.ca
Douglas Yearwood
Fields of Study: International Relations, Comparative Politics
Office: Mackintosh-Corry Hall, C421
Instructor Email: dy20@queensu.ca
Retired/Emeritus Professors
Keith Banting
Field(s) of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Office: Robert Sutherland Hall, 313
Email: keith.banting@queensu.ca
Bruce Berman
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: bermanb@queensu.ca
Edwin Black
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Catherine Conaghan
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: conaghan@queensu.ca
Philip Goldman
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
J.A.W. Gunn
Field of Study: Political Theory
Nadia Khalaf
Field of Study: Political Theory
Jayant Lele
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Colin Leys
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
John Meisel
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Kim Richard Nossal 
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Email: nossalk@queensu.ca
Stephen Page
Field of Study: International Relations
Charles Pentland
Field(s) of Study: International Relations
Email: ccp@queensu.ca
George C. Perlin
Field of Study: Canadian Politics, Comparative Politics
Email: perling@queensu.ca
Robert Wolfe
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: woodpj@queensu.ca
Phillip Wood
Field(s) of Study: Comparative Politics
Email: woodpj@queensu.ca
Faculty in Memoriam
David Cox
Field of Study: International Relations
C.E.S. (Ned) Franks
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Stewart Fyfe
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Jack Grove
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Bill Irvine
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Peter Leslie
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Khalid Sayeed
Field of Study: Comparative Politics
Richard Simeon
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Hugh Thorburn
Field of Study: Canadian Politics
Ronald L. Watts
Field of Study: Canadian Politics