Department of Political Studies

Department of Political Studies
Department of Political Studies

George C. Perlin

George C. Perlin's profile picture 
Professor Emeritus 
B.A. Honours (Queen's); A.M. (Chicago); Ph.D (London School of Economics and Political Science)

School of Policy Studies, Room 428 
Phone: (613) 533-6000, ext 77220
Fax: (613) 533-2135


Brief Biography

From 1966 to 2003 George Perlin was a member of the Department of Political Studies where he taught courses on Canadian and comparative politics. He currently teaches courses in the School of Policy Studies on Canadian democracy and on international democratic development.

He founded and was Director of the Centre for the Study of Democracy at Queen's from 1993 to 2002 and was re-appointed as Director of the Centre in 2010.

From 2003 to 2006 Perlin was a Fellow at the Institute for Research on Public Policy where he edited and contributed to a series of papers on Canada's policy for assistance to democratic development. Since then he has been a consultant on Canadian and international policy in democratic development with the Democracy Council, the International Development Research Centre, and the Department of Foreign Affairs. His current research is concerned with improving methods for the strategic planning and evaluation of assistance to democratic development

Perlin has also had experience as a practitioner in the delivery of democracy assistance as director of a CIDA-funded project to establish a program of education in the study of democracy for the universities, technical colleges, and secondary schools of Ukraine.

His most recent major publication is the second revised edition of Osnovii Demokrati (Fundamentals of Democracy), co-authored and edited with a group of Ukrainian scholars, which was published in November, 2009. He has also written extensively about Canadian politics.

In November, 2008, in recognition for his contribution to democratic reform in Ukraine, Perlin was elected as an international member of Ukraine's National Academy of Pedagogical Science.