Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor

[Principal and Vice Chancellor]
[Principal and Vice Chancellor]

Undergraduate Orientation Review Working Group

Final Report Now Available
The Undergraduate Orientation Review Working Group final report was released on March 7, 2018.
Principal and Vice-Chancellor Daniel Woolf has reviewed the report and stated that, “The university will be working to address these important recommendations over the coming year and a half, and I want to thank the working group for their efforts to make orientation week more inclusive. As an alumnus, I know the importance of both preserving our traditions and updating them to ensure future students are able to fully participate. Our campus is at its best when everyone is engaged, respected, and feels safe – and creating that environment starts with events like undergraduate orientation.”

News and Updates


Membership as defined by Terms of Reference

  • Deputy Provost – Chair
  • AMS President, or designate
  • Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs, or designate
  • One faculty or staff representative from each of the following undergraduate programs as follows:
    • Dean of Arts & Science, or designate
    • Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, or designate
    • Dean of the Faculty of Education, or designate
    • Director of the School of Nursing, or designate
    • Executive Director of the Commerce Program, or designate
    • Director of the School of Computing, or designate
    • Director of the School of Kinesiology, or designate
  • One student representative from, and selected by the Presidents of, the undergraduate society of each of the following undergraduate programs:
    • Arts and Science
    • Engineering and Applied Science
    • Concurrent Education
    • Nursing
    • Commerce
    • Computing
    • Kinesiology
  • AMS Social Issues Commissioner
  • Manager, Student Experience Office

Advisory members (non-voting)

  • Director of the Human Rights Office, or designate
  • Director of Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre, or designate
  • Director of Queen’s University International Centre, or designate
  • President, Queen’s University Alumni Association
  • one member of University Council

Support (non-voting)

  • Associate Secretary of the University
  • Director of Communications, or designate

At the discretion of the Working Group, non-voting advisory members may be added to provide expertise in regards to operational issues.



Teri Shearer (Chair)

Deputy Provost (Academic Operations & Inclusion)

Brandon Jamieson Student Co-Chair, Senate Activities Orientation Review Board
Bittu George Non-Student Co-Chair, Senate Activities Orientation Review Board

Nicky Andbinder

Vice President of Operations, Physical Health Education & Kinesiology Student Association 

Sue Bates

President, Queen’s University Alumni Association

Johanne Bénard

Associate Dean (Admission & Recruitment) and Associate Dean (Studies), Faculty of Arts & Science

Peter Chin

Associate Dean, Faculty of Education

Yvonne Cooper

Director of Communications

Robin Dawes

Associate Professor, School of Computing

Kevin Deluzio

Dean, Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science

Liam Dowling

President, Concurrent Education Students’ Association

Emlyn Folkes

President, Commerce Society

Keltie Gale

University Council

Lori Garnier

Executive Director, Commerce Program

Jyoti Kotecha

Director, Queen’s University International Centre

Jasmine Lagundzija

President, Arts & Science Undergraduate Society

Jennifer Li

AMS President

Vanessa McCourt

Aboriginal Advisor, Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre

Jennifer Medves

Vice-Dean (Health Sciences), Director of the School of Nursing

Alexandra Palmeri

President, Nursing Science

Heidi Penning

Equity Advisor, Equity Office

Ramna Safeer

AMS Social Issues Commissioner

Ann Tierney

Vice-Provost & Dean of Student Affairs

Alex Wojaczek

President, Computing Students' Association

Nathaniel Wong

President, Engineering Society

Woo Kim

Manager, Student Experience Office

Anna van der Meulen

Department Manager, School of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Support: Rebecca Coupland

Director & Associate Secretary, University Secretariat.