PSYC 501 Information

Application Dates and Deadlines 2023

  • Period for students to submit applications - Monday, February 27 - Monday, March 6, 2023 • 4:00pm (EST)

  • Deadline for students to submit rankings - Monday, March 27, 2023

  • Thesis eligibility and match confirmed - Late-May/Early-June, 2023

Minimum Criteria

  • The completion of PSYC 302/3.0 by April 2023 with a minimum grade of C+ (unless on approved Exchange in Winter 2023 term);

  • A minimum GPA of 2.60 between PSYC 202/3.0, PSYC 203/3.0, PSYC 301/3.0, and PSYC 302/3.0;

  • A minimum PSYC GPA (not including Supporting Science or PSYC_Subs credits) of 3.30 (equivalent to a B+), following submission of winter term grades.

NOTE: Students must have a minimum PSYC GPA of 3.00 ("B" average) at the time of application. Students with a GPA below this threshold who apply will be advised of their ineligibility.

Please make use of the ASC "GPA Calculator" to see if it is likely that you will meet the GPA requirements by the end of the winter term.

Please note that all students who meet the minimum criteria may apply for PSYC 501/9.0. However, not all students who meet the minimum criteria will be accepted into the thesis option.  Because PSYC 501/9.0 is an intensive course of study, involving a significant amount of commitment from both the student and their Faculty supervisor, we can only accept a limited number of students. Acceptance is based primarily on (1) academic performance in Psychology courses, and (2) match in research interests with a potential supervisor.

Application Steps 

  1. Identify Faculty members with whom you would like to work. See the list at the bottom of this page for a list of Faculty accepting students for PSYC501 in 2023/24. [Note: ONLY faculty members listed here can serve as a 501 supervisor.] Look at their websites. Download and skim their papers to find out more about their research area. We ask you to identify at least 6-8 potential supervisors whose research you are interested in. That might seem like a lot, but see point 5. Send your application to these faculty members you have selected between February 27 and March 6. NOTE: You should submit the same application to all faculty members you contact. If you wish, you can personalize each cover email by explaining briefly why you are interested in talking to the faculty member. Click this link to download the Application Form (MS Word Doc, 85 KB)

  2. By Monday, March 6 you should have submitted the application form to each and every Faculty member with whom you are interested in working. Please send one application also to the Academic Advisor and Assistant to the Undergraduate Chair, at ug.psyc@queensu.ca, for records. Please do not copy the Academic Advisor on your emailed applications to Faculty members.

  3. Over the next weeks, Faculty members to whom you applied, may contact you for an interview.

  4. By Monday, March 27, you should have a list of potential supervisors, and be comfortable listing them in order of preference with the one you would most like to work with numbered 1. To increase your chances of matching, we encourage you to rank several (4-6) potential supervisors. Do NOT list faculty who you have not had an interview with unless that faculty member has indicated that an interview is not required for them to rank the student. You will need to complete the PSYC 501 Supervisor Ranking Form. This should be done after you have met with potential supervisors, and MUST be submitted no later than March 27, at 6:00pm (EDT).

  5. Once final grades for Winter term are in and academic eligibility is confirmed, matches will be generated. This will happen late May/early June. Your preference ranking (i.e. the order in which you ranked potential supervisors on the supervisor ranking form) and the faculty’s preference ranking are the primary considerations in assigning students to supervisors. We will do the best we can to match you with a thesis supervisor as far up your list as possible. Some research areas are much more popular than others, however, and faculty typically only supervise 2 thesis students per year. Many students will not get their top choice of supervisor, or maybe even their second or third choice, depending on who they have listed. It is in your interest to check out potential supervisors from a few different areas. We will never assign you to someone that you haven’t listed on your application. If a match isn’t possible given the list you’ve submitted, you will be invited to participate in a second round of matching students and supervisors.

  6. Late May/early June, you will be informed via email who your thesis supervisor will be. If you did not get matched but meet the academic criteria you will be invited for the second round of matching.

  7. In the event that you are not matched with a faculty supervisor in the second round, you will not be able to enroll in PSYC501. Please consult with the Undergraduate Office for alternative options for gaining research experience in the Department (e.g., PSYC570/575).

  8. If you have any questions, please contact either the Undergraduate Office at ug.psyc@queensu.ca or a PSYC 501 Coordinator.

PSYC 501 Supervisor List 2023-2024

Supervisor Area Email

Dr. Christopher Bowie

Clinical

christopher.bowie@queensu.ca

Dr. Monica Castelhano

Cognitive Neuroscience

monica.castelhano@queensu.ca

Dr. Meredith Chivers

Clinical

chiversm@queensu.ca

Dr. Wendy Craig

Clinical

wendy.craig@queensu.ca

Dr. Hans Dringenberg

Cognitive Neuroscience

dringenb@queensu.ca

Dr. Lee Fabrigar

Social

fabrigar@queensu.ca

Dr. Stanka Fitneva

Developmental

fitneva@queensu.ca

Dr. Randy Flanagan

Cognitive Neuroscience

flanagan@queensu.ca

Dr. Luis Flores

Clinical

luis.flores@queensu.ca

Dr. Kate Harkness

Clinical

harkness@queensu.ca

Dr. David Hauser

Social

david.hauser@queensu.ca

Dr. Tom Hollenstein

Developmental

tom.hollenstein@queensu.ca

Dr. Jill Jacobson

Social

jill.jacobson@queensu.ca

Dr. Li-Jun Ji

Social

lijunji@queensu.ca

Dr. Elizabeth Kelley

Developmental

kelleyb@queensu.ca

Dr. Valerie Kuhlmeier

Developmental

vk4@queensu.ca

Dr. Janet Menard

Cognitive Neuroscience

menard@queensu.ca

Dr. Michele Morningstar

Developmental

michele.morningstar@queensu.ca

Dr. Jillian O'Connor

Cognitive Neuroscience / Social

jillian.oconnor@queensu.ca

Dr. Mary C. Olmstead

Cognitive Neuroscience

olmstead@queensu.ca

Dr. Jordan Poppenk

Cognitive Neuroscience

jpoppenk@queensu.ca

Dr. Caroline Pukall

Clinical

caroline.pukall@queensu.ca

Dr. Mark Sabbagh

Developmental

sabbagh@queensu.ca

Dr. Tim Salomons

Clinical

ts119@queensu.ca

Dr. Jonathan Smallwood

Cognitive Neuroscience

jonathan.smallwood@queensu.ca

Dr. Jeremy Stewart

Clinical

jeremy.stewart@queensu.ca

Dr. Anita Tusche

Cognitive Neuroscience

anita.tusche@queensu.ca

Dr. Sari van Anders

Cognitive Neuroscience / Social

sva5@queensu.ca

Dr. Vera Vine

Clinical

vera.vine@queensu.ca

Dr. Jeffrey Wammes

Cognitive Neuroscience

jeffrey.wammes@queensu.ca

Dr. Daryl Wilson

Cognitive Neuroscience

daryl.wilson@queensu.ca