Department of Psychology

Department of

Psychology

Department of

Psychology

site header

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Psychology 501 Information for 2021-22

Applications

It's time to apply for PSYC 501! Please note the following deadlines:

  • Period for students to submit applications - Monday, March 1st - Monday, March 8th, 2021 • 4:00pm (EST)
  • Deadline for students to submit rankings - Monday, March 29th, 2021
  • Matching decisions announced - Late-April, 2021 - Early May, 2021
  • Thesis eligibility confirmed - Late-May, 2021

Minimum Criteria:

  • The completion of PSYC 302/3.0 by April 2021 with a minimum grade of C+;
  • A minimum GPA of 2.60 between PSYC 202/3.0, PSYC 203/3.0, PSYC 301/3.0, and PSYC 302/3.0;
  • A minimum PSYC GPA (not including Supporting Science or PSYC_Subs credits) of 3.30 (equivalent to a B+), following submission of winter term grades.

NOTE: Students must have a minimum PSYC GPA of 3.00 ("B" average) at the time of application. Students with a GPA below this threshold who apply will be advised of their ineligibility.

Please make use of the ASC "GPA Calculator" to see if it is likely that you will meet the GPA requirements by the end of the winter term.

Please note that all students who meet the minimum criteria may apply for PSYC 501/9.0. However, not all students who meet the minimum criteria will be accepted into the thesis option.  Because PSYC 501/9.0 is an intensive course of study, involving a significant amount of commitment from both the student and their Faculty supervisor, we can only accept a limited number of students. Acceptance is based primarily on (1) academic performance in Psychology courses, and (2) match in research interests with a potential supervisor.

Application Steps 
  1. Identify Faculty members with whom you would like to work. A list of Faculty accepting application for PSYC 501 will be published as soon as available. [Note: ONLY faculty members listed here can serve as a 501 supervisor.] Look at their websites. Download and skim their papers to find out more about their research area. We ask you to identify at least 6-8 potential supervisors whose research you are interested in. That might seem like a lot, but see point 6. Send your application to these faculty members you have selected between March 1st-March 8th. NOTE: You should submit the same application to all faculty members you contact. If you wish, you can personalize each cover email by explaining briefly why you are interested in talking to the faculty member. • Click here to download the Application Form (MS Word Doc, 17 KB)
  2. By Monday, March 8th you should have submitted the application form to each and every Faculty member with whom you are interested in working with. Please send one application also to the Academic Advisor and Assistant to the Undergraduate Chair, at ug.psyc@queensu.ca, for records. Please do not copy the Academic Advisor on your emailed applications to Faculty members.
  3. Over the next couple of weeks, Faculty members to whom you applied, may contact you for an interview. By March 22nd, Faculty members will advise next year’s PSYC 501 Coordinators of the students they are prepared to take.
  4. By Monday, March 29th, you should have a list of potential supervisors, and be comfortable listing them in order of preference with the one you would most like to work with numbered 1. Do NOT list faculty who you have not had an interview with unless that faculty member has indicated that an interview is not required for them to rank the student. You will need to complete the PSYC 501 Supervisor Ranking Form which will be made available in March. This should be done after you have met with potential supervisors, and MUST be submitted no later than March 29th.
  5. Between March 30th and the end of April, the matches will be generated. Your preference ranking (i.e. the order in which you ranked potential supervisors on the supervisor ranking form) and the faculty’s preference ranking are the primary considerations in assigning students to supervisors. We will do the best we can to match you with a thesis supervisor as far up your list as possible. Some research areas are much more popular than others, however, and faculty typically only supervise 2 thesis students per year. Many people will not get their top choice of supervisor, or maybe even their second or third choice, depending on who they have listed. It is in your interest to check out potential supervisors from a few different areas. We will never assign you to someone that you haven’t listed on your application. If a match isn’t possible given the list you’ve submitted, you will be invited to participate in a second round of matching students and supervisors.
  6. You will hear sometime at the end of April or early May who your thesis supervisor will be, via e-mail. Note that this does not guarantee that you are eligible to take PSYC 501. Eligibility will be determined by the Undergraduate office, and communicated to you via email in late May.
  7. In the event that you are not matched with a faculty supervisor in the second round, you will not be able to enroll in PSYC501. Please consult with the undergraduate office for alternative options for gaining research experience in the Department (e.g., PSYC570/575).
  8. If you have any questions, please contact either the undergraduate office at ug.psyc@queensu.ca or one of the PSYC 501 Coordinators, Dr. Hans Dringenberg at dringenb@queensu.ca, or Dr. Li-Jun Ji at lijunji@queensu.ca.
501 Supervisor List
Name Area Telephone Email
Christopher Bowie CLINICAL 613-533-3347 christopher.bowie@queensu.ca
Meredith Chivers CLINICAL 613-533-2889 chiversm@queensu.ca
Hans Dringenberg COG-NEURO 613-533-6215 dringenb@queensu.ca
Lee Fabrigar SOCIAL 613-533-6492 fabrigar@queensu.ca
Stanka Fitneva DEVELOPMENTAL 613-533-2363 fitneva@queensu.ca
Randy Flanagan COG-NEURO 613-533-6007 flanagan@queensu.ca
Luis Flores CLINICAL 613-533-3177 luis.flores@queensu.ca
Jason Gallivan COG-NEURO 613-533-6037 gallivan@queensu.ca
Kate Harkness CLINICAL 613-533-2886 harkness@queensu.ca
David Hauser SOCIAL 613-533-3127 david.hauser@queensu.ca
Elizabeth Kelley DEVELOPMENTAL 613-533-2491 kelleyb@queensu.ca
Tara MacDonald SOCIAL 613-533-2873 tmacdon@queensu.ca
Janet Menard COG-NEURO 613-533-3099 menard@queensu.ca
Michele Morningstar DEVELOPMENTAL 613-533-2704 michele.morningstar@queensu.ca
Kevin Munhall COG-NEURO 613-533-6012 kevin.munhall@queensu.ca
Mary Olmstead COG-NEURO 613-533-6208 olmstead@queensu.ca
Caroline Pukall CLINICAL 613-533-3200 caroline.pukall@queensu.ca
Mark Sabbagh DEVELOPMENTAL 613-533-2887 sabbagh@queensu.ca
Tim Salomons CLINICAL 613-533-2065 ts119@queensu.ca
Jonathan Smallwood COG-NEURO 613-533-2825 jonathan.smallwood@queensu.ca
Jeremy Stewart CLINICAL 613-533-3285 jeremy.stewart@queensu.ca
Dean Tripp CLINICAL 613-533-6955 dean.tripp@queensu.ca
Anita Tusche COG-NEURO 613-533-2351 anita.tusche@queensu.ca
Sari van Anders COG-NEURO & SOCIAL 613-533-2037 sva5@queensu.ca
Jeffrey Wammes COG-NEURO 613-533-6414 jeffrey.wammes@queensu.ca
Daryl Wilson COG-NEURO 613-533-2611 daryl.wilson@queensu.ca