Department of Psychology

Department of

Psychology

Department of

Psychology

site header

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Psychology 501 Information for 2020-21

Applications

It's time to apply for PSYC 501! Please note the following deadlines:

  • Period for students to submit applications - Monday, February 24th - Monday, March 2nd, 2020
  • EXTENDED! Deadline for students to submit rankings - Monday, March 30th, 2020
  • Matching decisions announced - Late-April, 2020
  • Thesis eligibility confirmed - Late-May, 2020

Minimum Criteria:

  • The completion of PSYC 302/3.0 by April 2020 with a minimum grade of C+ [unless you participated in exchange during the 2019-20 academic year];
  • A minimum GPA of 2.60 between PSYC 202/3.0, PSYC 203/3.0, PSYC 301/3.0, and PSYC 302/3.0;
  • A minimum PSYC GPA (not including Supporting Science or PSYC_Subs credits) of 3.30 (equivalent to a B+), following submission of winter term grades.

NOTE: Students must have a minimum PSYC GPA of 3.00 ("B" average) at the time of application. Students with a GPA below this threshold who apply will be advised of their ineligibility.

Please make use of the ASC "GPA Calculator" to see if it is likely that you will meet the GPA requirements by the end of the winter term.

Please note that all students who meet the minimum criteria may apply for PSYC 501/9.0. However, not all students who meet the minimum criteria will be accepted into the thesis option.  Because PSYC 501/9.0 is an intensive course of study, involving a significant amount of commitment from both the student and their Faculty supervisor, we can only accept a limited number of students. Acceptance is based primarily on (1) academic performance in Psychology courses, and (2) match in research interests with a potential supervisor.

Application Steps 
  1. Identify Faculty members with whom you would like to work. An approved 501 Faculty Listing for 2020-2021 is listed in the 501 Supervisor List below. [Note: ONLY faculty members listed here can serve as a 501 supervisor.] Look at their websites. Download and skim their papers to find out more about their research area. We ask you to identify at least 6-8 potential supervisors whose research you are interested in. That might seem like a lot, but see point 6. Send your application to these faculty  members you have selected between Feb 24-March 2nd. NOTE: You should submit the same application to all faculty members you contact. If you wish, you can personalize each cover email by explaining briefly why you are interested in talking to the faculty member. • Click here to download the Application Form (MS Word Doc, 17 KB)
  2. By Monday, March 2nd you should have submitted the application form to each and every Faculty member with whom you are interested in working with. Send it also to the Academic Advisor and Assistant to the Undergraduate Chair, at ug.psyc@queensu.ca, for her records.
  3. Over the next couple of weeks, Faculty members to whom you applied, may contact you for an interview. By March 23rd, Faculty members will advise next year’s PSYC 501 Coordinators of the students they are prepared to take.
  4. By Monday, March 30th, you should have a list of potential supervisors, and be comfortable listing them in order of preference with the one you would most like to work with numbered 1. Do NOT list faculty who you have not had an interview with unless that faculty member has indicated that an interview is not required for them to rank the student. Complete the PSYC 501 Supervisor Ranking Form on Qualtrics. This should be done after you have met with potential supervisors, and MUST be submitted no later than March 30th.
  5. Between March 30th and the end of April, the matches will be generated. Your preference ranking (i.e. the order in which you ranked potential supervisors on the supervisor ranking form) and the faculty’s preference ranking are the primary considerations in assigning students to supervisors. We will do the best we can to match you with a thesis supervisor as far up your list as possible. Some research areas are much more popular than others, however, and faculty typically only supervise 2 thesis students per year. Many people will not get their top choice of supervisor, or maybe even their second or third choice, depending on who they have listed. It is in your interest to check out potential supervisors from a few different areas. We will never assign you to someone that you haven’t listed on your application. If a match isn’t possible given the list you’ve submitted, you will be invited to participate in a second round of matching students and supervisors.
  6. You will hear sometime at the end of April or early May who your thesis supervisor will be, via e-mail. Note that this does not guarantee that you are eligible to take PSYC 501.  Eligibility will be determined by the Undergraduate office, and communicated to you via email in late May.
  7. In the event that you are not matched with a faculty supervisor in the second round, you will not be able to enroll in PSYC501. Please consult with the undergraduate office for alternative options for gaining research experience in the Department (e.g., PSYC570/575).
  8. If you have any questions, please contact either the undergraduate office at ug.psyc@queensu.ca or one of the PSYC 501 Coordinators, Dr. Stanka Fitneva at fitneva@queensu.ca, or Dr. Li-Jun Ji at lijunji@queensu.ca
501 Supervisor List

Only the following Faculty members are accepting applications for honour thesis (501) students: Please follow up with them directly via email with your application form, your writing sample, resume and unofficial transcript (includes ALL courses, in PDF format) to apply.

Faculty Member:

Email:

More Information:

Christopher Bowie christopher.bowie@queensu.ca More Information
Meredith Chivers chiversm@queensu.ca More Information
Hans Dringenberg dringenb@queensu.ca More Information
Leandre Fabrigar fabrigar@queensu.ca More Information
Stanka Fitneva fitneva@queensu.ca More Information
Randy Flanagan flanagan@queensu.ca More Information
Luis Flores luis.flores@queensu.ca More Information
Jason Gallivan gallivan@queensu.ca More Information
Kate Harkness harkness@queensu.ca More Information
David Hauser david.hauser@queensu.ca More information
Tom Hollenstein tom.hollenstein@queensu.ca More Information
Jill Jacobson jacobsoj@queensu.ca More Information
Li-Jun Ji lijunji@queensu.ca More Information
Elizabeth Kelley kelleyb@queensu.ca More Information
Val Kuhlmeier vk4@queensu.ca More Information
Tara MacDonald tmacdon@queensu.ca More Information
Janet Menard menard@queensu.ca More Information
Michele Morningstar michele.morningstar@queensu.ca More information
Kevin Munhall kevin.munhall@queensu.ca More Information
Mary Cella Olmstead olmstead@queensu.ca More Information
Caroline Pukall caroline.pukall@queensu.ca More Information
Tim Salomons ts119@queensu.ca More Information
Jeremy Stewart jeremy.stewart@queensu.ca More Information
Dean Tripp dean.tripp@queensu.ca More Information
Anita Tusche anita.tusche@queensu.ca More Information
Sari van Anders sari.vananders@queensu.ca More Information
Jeffrey Wammes jeffrey.wammes@queensu.ca More information
Daryl Wilson daryl.wilson@queensu.ca More Information