University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

site header

Joint Board-Senate Principal Search Committee 

Principal and Vice-Chancellor Daniel Woolf’s current term is scheduled to conclude on June 30, 2019. On November 28, 2017, Principal Woolf announced that he will not be seeking a third term.

Accordingly, a Joint Board/Senate Principal Search Committee has been established to conduct the search process, in confidence, with a view to delivering a recommendation regarding a candidate to the Board of Trustees.

The Joint Committee is made up of nine members of the Board of Trustees and nine members of the Senate, in addition to Chancellor Jim Leech, who will chair the committee.

Search Updates and Communications

On May 14, 2018, the search moved into its active phase with the publication of advertisements and a position profile (PDF 4 MB).   The executive search firm Perrett Laver has been engaged to work with Queen's during the search process. You can read more details on the position and the firm by visiting their page here.  

Queen's will be communicating regularly with the community to provide progress updates.  You can stay in touch by following Queen's on Twitter and Facebook, in addition to reading the articles published by the Queen's Gazette.  

Top Candidates Presented (July 25, 2018)

Active Recruitment Phase Underway (May 14, 2018)

Principal Search Enters New Phase (March 20, 2018)

Search for Next Principal Set to Begin (January 25, 2018)

Terms of Reference

To view the Terms of Reference for the Joint Board-Senate Principal Search Committee, please click here


For photos and biographical statements of the members, please visit this page.

Membership Affiliation Status
Jim Leech Chair Appointed
Hazel Claxton Board of Trustees Appointed
Afsheen Chowdhury Senate  Appointed
Alexandra da Silva Board of Trustees Appointed
Laeeque Daneshmend Senate  Appointed
Ginette Denford Board of Trustees Appointed
Petra Fachinger Senate  Appointed
Yolande Chan Senate Appointed
Cathy Lemmon Senate  Appointed
Sue Lounsbury Board of Trustees Appointed
Colin Lynch Board of Trustees Appointed
Miguel Martinez Senate Appointed
Kelley McKinnon Board of Trustees Appointed
Tyler Morrison Senate Appointed
Julian Ortiz Senate Appointed
Donald Raymond Board of Trustees Appointed
Richard Reznick Senate  Appointed
Daniel Tisch Board of Trustees Appointed
Mary Wilson Trider Board of Trustees Appointed


Advisory members 

Kanonhsyonne Janice Hill, Director, Indigenous Initiatives

Stephanie Simpson, Equity and Human Rights Office

Rebecca Coupland, Associate University Secretary

Lon Knox, University Secretary