Principalship Review

Per the university’s Principalship Review and Search Policy, Principal Deane has advised the Chair of the Board of Trustees that he wishes to be considered for reappointment to a second term.

Accordingly, a review of the principalship will now take place. The membership of the Principalship Review Committee (PRC) has now been approved by the Senate and Board of Trustees.


Pursuant to the Queen’s charter, the Board of Trustees is vested with the authority to appoint the Principal.  The establishment of the Joint Board/Senate Principal Review Committee is based on the Principalship Review and Search Policy (2022).  It should be noted that, while the process of review and selection is a shared one, the responsibility for an appointment or reappointment rests solely with the Board of Trustees.


Principal Patrick Deane began his term as Queen’s University’s 21st Principal on July 1, 2019.  This term is scheduled to conclude on June 30, 2024.  Principal Deane has confirmed his desire to be considered for a second term and, in accordance with the Policy, a Joint Board-Senate Principal Review Committee will be established.

The Review Committee is established to conduct the review process, in confidence, with a view to delivering a recommendation regarding reappointment to the Board of Trustees.  


Per the Policy, the Review Committee is composed of the Chair of the Board of Trustees, Rector, four Trustees selected from Board appointed and/or Council elected Trustees, a dean, one student senator, and four other senators, which shall include at least one faculty senator and one staff senator.  Committee members shall demonstrate a diversity of skills, background, and personal attributes that ensure appropriate balance on the Committee.  the Chancellor shall Chair the Joint Committee and shall have a vote only in the case of a tie.

The slates of appointees from the Board and the Senate shall be placed before the Board of Trustees and the Senate, respectively, which shall each have final authority to appoint their members to the Review Committee.


The processes to be followed by the Review Committee are outlined in the Principalship Review and Search Procedures document (2022).


As outlined in the Procedures, it is expected that the Review Committee will complete its work within a reasonable timeframe.  Its work shall begin as soon as possible after the announcement of the Principal’s desire to seek a second term in order to permit extensive consultation of stakeholders.  The Review Committee will endeavour to deliver its recommendation to the Board of Trustees in time for the Board to consider it at its March 2023 meeting.



Membership Composition

Chair - Chancellor Murray Sinclair

Rector - Owen Crawford-Lem

Chair, Board of Trustees - Mary Wilson Trider

Four Trustees:

Doug Bruce, Council-elected Trustee

Alison Holt, Council-elected Trustee

Gilles Patry, Trustee

Patrice Walch-Watson, Trustee

Six Senators:

Dan Borschneck, Faculty of Health Sciences

Jackie Davies, Faculty of Arts and Science

Rebecca Luce-Kapler, Dean, Faculty of Education

Martha Munezhi, Smith School of Business

Eric Sikich, AMS President

Judy Wilson, Student Awards Office

Advisory to the Committee

Kanonhsyonne Jan Hill, Associate Vice-Principal, Indigenous Initiatives and Reconciliation

Stephanie Simpson, Associate Vice-Principal, Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion

Submissions to the Committee 

The Joint Committee will wish to solicit submissions from all interested individuals, in confidence, on the present state and future development of the University and on the principalship. Later this fall, options will be provided to share this feedback.



The Review Committee will meet between mid November and mid February.

Final recommendation will be provided to the Board of Trustees by March 2023.