School of Graduate Studies

School of Graduate Studies
School of Graduate Studies

School of Graduate Studies Staffing Contact List and Roles

Administrative Officers

Administration

Position Name Ext Email
Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Fahim Quadir 36079 deansgsr@queensu.ca
Assistant to the Dean Alexa Lafleche 77311 sgsasst@queensu.ca
Associate Dean Chris DeLuca 36079 sgsadable@queensu.ca
Associate Dean James N. Reynolds 36079 sgsadstem@queensu.ca
Director, Admissions and Student Services Monica Corbett 77309 corbettm@queensu.ca
Director, Finance & Administration Linda Lam 75549 laml@queensu.ca
Web Developer Luke Storms 32763 luke.storms@queensu.ca
Interim Coordinator, Communications and Post-Doctoral Training Heather Merla 75356 heather.merla@queensu.ca
Manager, Recruitment & Events Colette Steer 78776 grad.recruitment@queensu.ca
Events & Communications Coordinator  Chantal Valkenborg   chantal.valkenborg@queensu.ca

Reception Staff

Receptionist/Administrative Secretary

Name Ext Email
Nancy Hicks 77303 grad.studies@queensu.ca

Receptionist/Clerk

Name Ext Email
Barbara Quesnel 79351 grad.studies@queensu.ca 

Admissions and Registration Staff

Admissions Assistants in the School of Graduate Studies work throughout the year with graduate programs and departments to process the administrative requirements in the application and admissions process. This work includes processing online and paper applications and gathering the documentation needed about each applicant.

In addition, these staff assist current students with all tasks associated with their student status such as registration, adding/dropping courses, changing study status and reviewing program details.

Admissions & Registration Assistants

Applicant Last Name Admission & Registration Assistant Name Extension Email
A - D Karen Arnold 78088 kca4@queensu.ca
E - K Ola Okomski 77304 okomski@queensu.ca
L - R Janet Dudek 77305 dudekz@queensu.ca 
S - Z Zannatin   Tazreen 77306 z.tazreen@queensu.ca

Graduate Awards Staff 

A number of internal and external awards for graduate students are processed and prepared for adjudication by the School of Graduate Studies' Awards Assistants.

These staff members work with graduate programs and departments to administer and disburse internal awards, such as fellowships and departmental awards, and external awards, such as Ontario Graduate Scholarships and federal and tri-council agency awards.

Awards Assistants

Name Ext Email
Erfan Aghdasi 77307 aghdasie@queensu.ca
Tanya Broadfoot 77308 tb120@queensu.ca

Degree Completion Staff

Degree completion staff in the School of Graduate Studies assist graduate programs, departments and students in the final stages of completing graduate degrees, including oral thesis examinations, thesis formatting, thesis submission and completion requirements in general.

Position Name Ext Email
Thesis Coordinator Rose Silva 77313 thesis@queensu.ca
Program Assistant Darlene Homer 77419 homerd@queensu.ca