School of Graduate Studies

School of Graduate Studies
School of Graduate Studies

Event logo

Thinking perhaps of doing a graduate degree?  Then Queen's School of Graduate Studies would like to invite you to peruse the many graduate programs we have to offer.  Take this opportunity to listen to presentations, ask questions, watch videos and chat with faculty, staff and current graduate students.

When:  October 28th 2020

Timing: 11am- 3pm EST (8am - 12noon Pacific Time,  12noon - 4pm Atlantic Time)

Registration Is Open: Use this link - https://hopin.to/events/virtual-graduate-studies-fair

Note: When registering you have the option of registering for a specific faculty (perhaps your main interest) or general.  Regardless of which ticket you check, you will have access to all graduate programs within each Faculty and the School of Graduate Studies.


Faculty Sessions and Booths

Throughout the day each Faculty will host presentations and Q&A periods on their programs in their allotted Session areas as well as have faculty, staff and students available in their booth(s) to answer any other questions you might have. Check out each Faculty session and booth(s) schedule below.


Faculty of Arts & Science
Arts & Science Session schedule:
11:30 - 11:40am    Welcome from the Dean of Arts & Science, Barbara Crow
12:00 - 12:30pm    Presentation - Graduate studies with Arts & Science 
1:00 - 1:30pm        Presentation - Graduate studies with Arts & Science 
2:00 - 2:30pm        Presentation - Graduate studies with Arts & Science 
Expo Booths: Chat with Faculty, Staff and students throughout the day
Booth 1 - General Information. Speak to representatives from Arts & Science
Booth 2 - Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Physics
Booth 3 - History, English, Philosophy, Sociology
Booth 4 - Kinesiology & Health Studies, Psychology, Geography & Planning, Environmental Studies
Booth 5 - Cultural Studies, Political Studies, Global Development Studies
Booth 6 - Computing, Mathematics & Statistics, Economics
Booth 7 - Art History, Art Conservation, Film & Media, Gender Studies, Religious Studies
Booth 8 - Arts & Science Resources

Faculty of Education
Education Session schedule:
11:30 - 11:40am     Welcome from Associate Dean, Ted Christou
11:40 - 12:00pm     Graduate Presentations in Education by Manager of graduate programs, Erin Rennie
12:00 - 12:30pm     Q&A drop in with Manager graduate programs, Erin Rennie
12:30 - 1:15pm       Educational Student Experience panel - Nathan Rickey (MEd), Lindsay Stoness (PME) and Barbara Laing (PhD) and moderated by Sara Karn
1:15 - 1:25am         Welcome from Associate Dean, Ted Christou
1:25 - 1:45pm         Graduate Presentations in Education by Manager of graduate programs, Erin Rennie
1:45 - 2:10pm         Q&A drop in with Manager graduate programs, Erin Rennie
2:10 - 2:30pm         Educational Student Experience panel - Nathan Rickey (MEd), Lindsay Stoness (PME) and Barbara Laing (PhD) and moderated by Sara Karn
Expo Booths:
Booth 1 - Research with Us (MEd, WISE and PhD programs)
Booth 2 - Online graduate programs in the Faculty of Education 
 

Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science
Engineering & Applied Science Session schedule:
11:35 - 11:50am    Welcome from Associate Dean, Brian Surgenor
12:00 - 12:30pm    Q&A drop in for Chemical Engineering
12:30 - 1:00pm      Q&A drop in for Civil Engineering
1:00 - 1:30pm        Q&A drop in for Electrical & Computer Engineering
1:30 - 2:00pm        Q&A drop in for Mining Engineering
2:00 - 2:30pm        Q&A drop in for Mechanical & Materials Engineering
Expo Booths:
Booth 1 - Explore Engineering & Applied Science Graduate programs with Grad Maps
Booth 2 - Resources in Engineering & Applied Science 
Booth 3 - Chat with graduate students in Engineering & Applied Science about the graduate student experience

Faculty of Health Studies
Health Studies Session schedule:
11:30 - 11:45am   Presentation on Translational Medicine from Dr Paula James
11:45 - 12:15pm   Presentation on Aging & Health, Rehabilitation Science, DSC and Rehabilitation Health Leadership programs.
12:15 - 12:30pm   Presentation by Graduate Coordinator, Dr Nancy Martin, Biomedical & Molecular Sciences program
12:30 - 12:45pm   Presentation by Program Manager, Dr Denise Stockley, Master of Health Professions Education
12:45 - 1:00pm     Presentation by Neuroscience program
1:00 - 1:30pm      Presentation by Graduate Coordinator, Dr Peter Greer, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
1:30 - 1:45pm      Presentation by Graduate Assistant, Gerri Lyman, Master of Public Health
1:45 - 2:00pm      Presentation by Graduate Coordinator, Dr Will King, Epidemiology
2:00 - 2:15pm      Presentation by Graduate Coordinator, Dr Paul Peng, Biostatistics (masters and PhD)
2:15 - 2:30pm      Presentation by Graduate Coordinator, Dr Patti Groom, PhD programs in Public Health and Epidemiology
Expo Booths:
Booth 1 - Chat with representatives from the Translational Medicine Graduate Program
Booth 2 - Chat with representatives from the Biomedical & Molecular Sciences program
Booth 3 - Chat with representatives from the Master of Public Health Program (1:45ppm - 2:30pm)
Booth 4 - Chat with representatives from the Department of Public Health Sciences (12:00 -12:30pm MSc in Epidemiology, 12:30 - 1:00pm MSc in Biostatistics, 1:00 - 1:30pm PhD in programs)

Smith School of Business - Management Program (MSc & PhD)
Management Session schedule:
12:30 - 1:00pm   Welcome and introduction to graduate Management program by Associate Dean, Dr Yolande Chan. Followed by a Student Experience panel and Q&A period.
1:00 - 1:30PM    Welcome and introduction to graduate Management program by Associate Dean, Dr Yolande Chan. Followed by a Student Experience panel and Q&A period.
1:30 - 2:00pm    Welcome and introduction to graduate Management program by Associate Dean, Dr Yolande Chan. Followed by a Student Experience panel and Q&A period.
Expo Booths:
Booth 1 - Download information about the MSc and PhD in Management program

On the Main Stage:

Between presentations a series of videos on Kingston, Queen's, Graduate supports and opportunities will be played.

11:00am EST (8am PT, 12noon AT)
Opening Address by the Vice Provost and Dean, School of Graduate Studies, Fahim Quadir ​

11:30am EST (8.30am PT, 12.30pm AT)
Live Presentation on "What is Graduate Studies Anyway?" ​

12:00pm EST (9:00am PT, 1:00pm AT)
Live Presentation on "Funding your Graduate Studies" ​

12:30pm EST (9:30am PT, 1:30pm AT)
 Live Presentation on "Applying for Graduate Studies at Queen's" ​

1:00pm EST (10:00am PT, 2:00pm AT)
Live Presentation on "What is Graduate Studies Anyway?" ​

1:30pm EST (10:30am PT, 2:30pm AT)
Live Presentation on "Funding your Graduate Studies"​

2:00pm EST (11:00am PT), 3:00pm AT)
Live Presentation on "Applying for Graduate Studies at Queen's" ​

2:30pm EST (11:30am PT, 3:30pm AT)
Live Presentation on "The Graduate Student Experience" ​

2:50pm EST (11:50am PT, 3:50pm AT)
Closing Remarks ​

Expo Booth: School of Graduate Studies (SGS)
Booth 1 - The student experience with Suyin and Colette
Booth 2 - Consider Queen's and Kingston video
Booth 3 - Professional Development in graduate studies video
 

For  now why not take a look at what programs we offer?