School of Policy Studies

School of Policy Studies
School of Policy Studies

The People at SPS

The School of Policy Studies is located in Robert Sutherland Hall, Queen's University.
138 Union Street, Kingston, ON
3rd Floor

Name Position Email Office Telephone

Warren Mabee

Associate Dean and Director mabeew@queensu.ca         301C 613-533-3020

Gail MacAllister

Department Manager spsdpmgr@queensu.ca 301B 613-533-60825
Fiona Froats MPA/PMPA Program Administrator froatsf@queensu.ca 319 613-533-6200

 


 

Faculty
Name Position Email Office

Elly Alboim

Adjunct Professor elly@earnscliffe.ca                

Naomi Alboim

Adjunct Professor/Distinguished Fellow alboimn@queensu.ca  

Randy Boyes

Adjunct Professor randy.boyes@queensu.ca  

Terri-Lynn Brennan

Adjunct Professor terri.brennan@inclusivevoices.com  

Kathy L. Brock

Professor kathy.brock@queensu.ca 328

Patrick Deutscher

Adjunct Professor patrick.deutscher@queensu.ca  

Weili Ding

Associate Professor dingw@queensu.ca 321

Don Drummond

Adjunct Professor and Stauffer-Dunning Fellow drummond@queensu.ca  

Morah Fenning

Adjunct Professor morah.fenning@queensu.ca  

Alison Fraser

Adjunct Professor alison.fraser@queensu.ca  

Andrew Graham

Adjunct Professor andrew.graham@queensu.ca 316

Soma Hewa

Adjunct Professor    

Bill Irwin

Adjunct Professor birwin6@uwo.ca  

Mike Joyce

Adjunct Professor mike.joyce@queensu.ca  

Wenjue Knutsen

Adjunct Professor wenjue.knutsen@queensu.ca 315

Rachel Laforest

Associate Professor laforest@queensu.ca 317

Eugene Lang

Adjunct Professor eugene.lang@queensu.ca  

Steven Lehrer

Associate Professor lehrers@queensu.ca 324

Warren Mabee

Associate Dean and Director, Associate Professor warren.mabee@queensu.ca 301C

Barbara Martin

Adjunct Professor barbara.martin@queensu.ca 335A

Jamshed Merchant

Adjunct Professor jm378@queensu.ca 323

Kim Nossal

Professor, and General Editor, Queen's Policy Studies Series     nossalk@queensu.ca  

Bryne Purchase

Adjunct Professor purchase@queensu.ca  

Duncan Sinclair

Adjunct Professor sinclair@queensu.ca  

Arthur Stewart

Adjunct Professor stewarta@qed.econ.queensu.ca  

Lori Turnbull

Adjunct Professor lori.turnbull@queensu.ca  

Andy Vogler

Adjunct Professor gafvdf@queensu.ca  
David M.C. Walker Professor (cross-appointed) david.walker@queensu.ca 335

Bob Watts

Adjunct Professor bob@thewattsfamily.ca  
Cross-Appointed Faculty
Name Position Email

Marcia Finlayson

Professor and Director, School of Rehabilitation Medicine marcia.finlayson@queensu.ca

Ian Gilron

Director of Clinical Pain Research, Professor of Anesthesiology and Biomedical Sciences gilroni@queensu.ca
Michael Green Brian Hennen Chair and Head, Department of Family Medicine, Professor of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences

michael.green@dfm.queensu.ca

Kieran Moore

Professor of Emergency and Family Medicine and CEO/ Medical Officer of Health for KFL&A Public Health moorek@queensu.ca  

John Muscedere

Professor of Medicine, Research Director, Department of Critical Care Medicine, and Scientific Director for Canadian Frailty Network john.muscedere@kingstonhsc.ca

Richard Reznick

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Professor, Department of Surgery, and Chief Executive Officer, Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization (SEAMO) richard.reznick@queensu.ca

Chris Simpson

Vice-Dean (Clinical), Faculty of Health Sciences and Professor of Medicine (Cardiology);  Medical Director, Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization (SEAMO)

simpsonc@kgh.kari.net
Emeritus Professors
Name Position Email

Keith Banting

Emeritus Professor keith.banting@queensu.ca

Thomas Courchene

Emeritus Professor courchen@queensu.ca
Peter Harrison Emeritus Professor

peter.harrison@queensu.ca

William Leiss Emeritus Professor wleiss@uottawa.ca

Robert Wolfe

Emeritus Professor robert.wolfe@queensu.ca
Administrative Staff
Name Position Phone Email Office

Chris Cornish

Events and Communications Coordinator 613-533-6217 chris.cornish@queensu.ca 307

Fiona Froats 

MPA/PMPA Program Administrator 613-533-6200 froatsf@queensu.ca 319
Mark Howes Publications Unit 613-533-2192

mh15@queensu.ca

413

Yuhong Lin

Financial Analyst 613-533-6000 x 75702 liny@queensu.ca 301 A 

Celia Russell

Special Events Coordinator 613-533-2547 russellc@queensu.ca 309

Elizabeth Thomas

Admissions/Financial Assistant 613-533-2960 thomase@queensu.ca 311

E.B. (Lee) Van Niedek

Departmental Assistant 6713-533-3020 lee.vanniedek@queensu.ca 301
Distinguished and Emeritus Fellows

Distinguished Fellows are highly respected professionals with extensive leadership experience in government at the municipal., provincial/territorial, national or international levels, the private or the non-profit sector. They play an integral role in the School’s policy community and participate in School’s teaching, research and knowledge dissemination activities in a variety of ways. This includes sharing their expertise with students and faculty, providing professional advice and career mentoring to students; giving guest lectures; and providing advice to the Executive Director and other QSPS personnel on various issues.

Name Title Email
John Adams Emeritus Fellow  

Naomi Alboim

Adjunct Professor and Distinguished Fellow alboimn@queensu.ca

Margaret Biggs

Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy margaret.biggs@queensu.ca
Ed Broadbent Emeritus Fellow

edbent@rogers.ca

Malcolm Brown Distinguished Fellow  

Helen Cooper

Distinguished Fellow cooper@cogeco.ca
Kevin Costante Distinguished Fellow kc122@queensu.ca

John M. Curtis

Emeritus Fellow john.margeson.curtis@gmail.com

Caroline Davis

Distinguished Fellow carolinedavis350@gmail.com

Don Drummond

Adjunct Professor and Stauffer-Dunning Fellow drummond@queensu.ca
David Lindsay Distinguished Fellow dlindsay@cou.on.ca
Craig McFadyen Emeritus Fellow

craig.mcfadyen@ontario.ca

Peter Milliken Distinguished Fellow peter.milliken@queensu.ca
Maureen O'Neil Emeritus Fellow  
Victor Rabinovitch Distinguished Fellow victor.rabinovitch@queensu.ca
Roy Romanow Emeritus Fellow; Chancellor, University of Saskatchewan roy.romanow@usask.ca
Hugh Segal Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy; Master of Massey College hsegal@masseycollege.ca
Duncan G. SInclair Adjunct Professor and Distinguished Fellow sinclair@queensu.ca
David Szwarc Distinguished Fellow; Chief Administrative Officer, Region of Peel david.szwarc@peelregion.ca
George Thomson Distinguished Fellow gmthompson@judicom.gc.ca
Bob Watts Adjunct Professor and Distinguished Fellow; Chief of Staff, Assembly of First Nations bob@thewattsfamily.ca
Hugh Winsor Emeritus Fellow winsnews@sympatico.ca