School of Policy Studies

School of Policy Studies
School of Policy Studies

The People at SPS

Office of the Executive Director

David Walker, MD, Executive Director, Policy Studies photoDr. David M.C. Walker
Executive Director and
Stauffer-Dunning Chair of Policy Studies
305, Robert Sutherland Hall



Rachel Laforest photoRachel Laforest
Program Director
317, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 77264

Lynn Freeman, Assistant Director and Business Officer photoLynn Freeman
Associate Director,
Administration and Finance
301C, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 77007

Academic Staff

Elly Alboim
Elly Alboim
Adjunct Professor



Naomi Alboim
Naomi Alboim
Adjunct Professor



Margaret Biggs
Margaret Biggs
Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy



Tom Courchene photo
Tom Courchene
Professor Emeritus



Weili Ding photo
Weili Ding
Associate Professor



Don Drummond photo
Don Drummond
Adjunct Professor and Stauffer-Dunning Fellow



Sean Field photo
Sean Field
Adjunct Professor



Alison Fraser photo
Alison Fraser
Adjunct Professor



Peter Harrison photo
Peter Harrison
Professor Emeritus



Bill Irwin photo
Bill Irwin
Adjunct Professor



Mike Joyce photo
Mike Joyce
Adjunct Professor



Rachel Laforest photo
Rachel Laforest
Associate Professor


Eugene Lang photo
Eugene Lang
Adjunct Professor



Steven Lehrer photo
Steven Lehrer
Associate Professor



Bill Leiss photo
Bill Leiss
Professor Emeritus



Warren Mabee photo
Warren Mabee
Associate Professor of Geography



Jamshed Merchant photo
Jamshed Merchant
Adjunct Professor



Kim Nossal photo
Kim Nossal
Professor and General Editor, Queen's Policy Studies Series



Bryne Purchase photo
Bryne Purchase
Adjunct Professor



Duncan Sinclair photo
Duncan Sinclair
Adjunct Professor



Arthur Stewart photo
Arthur Stewart
Lecturer, Department of Economics



Andy Vogler photo
Andy Vogler
Adjunct Professor



Bob Watts photo
Bob Watts
Adjunct Professor



Robert Wolfe photo
Robert Wolfe
Professor Emeritus


Administrative Staff

Chris Cornish, Events Coordinator
Chris Cornish
Events Coordinator
307, Robert Sutherland Hall



Christine Fader, Career Specialist
Christine Fader
Career Specialist



Fiona Froats, MPA/PMPA Program Administrator
FIona Froats
MPA/PMPA Program Administrator
319, Robert Sutherland Hall



Mark Howes photo
Mark Howes
Publications Unit
411, Robert Sutherland Hall



Yuhong Lin, photo
Yuhong Lin
Financial Analyst
301A, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 75702



Celia Russell, photo
Celia Russell
Special Events Coordinator
309, Robert Sutherland Hall



Celia Russell, photo

Elizabeth Thomas
Admissions/Financial Assistant
301B, Robert Sutherland Hall



Lee Van Niedek, photo
E.B. (Lee) Van Niedek
Departmental Assistant
301, Robert Sutherland Hall


Distinguished and Emeritus Fellows
Amethyst Fellowship

The Ontario Public Service Amethyst  (Executive) Fellowship in Public Policy at Queen’s University was established in 2003. It provides support for a senior  official in the Ontario Public Service (OPS) to spend up to one year at the School of Policy Studies, working with future policy leaders to help shape public policy debate; raise the profile of the OPS as a centre of public policy excellence; and help provide the Queen’s programs with a provincial policy focus.    

While the focus of the Amethyst Fellow’s activities varies each year depending on his or her professional expertise and interests, there are some general similarities in their contribution to the School’s teaching and other activities. The Amethyst Fellow will normally teach a course in the Winter or Summer Term and participate as a guest speaker in other courses as well as the Policy Speakers Series. He or she also serves as an active liaison with the Ontario Public Service and is involved in organizing the annual two-day MPA “Capital Briefings” program in Toronto, offers career planning advice to graduating students, and may coordinate with students in summer coop positions with the Ontario Public Service, among other activities.

Like other visitorships, the Amethyst Fellowship enriches the life of the School and supports its engagement with external professional public policy communities. A list of the OPS Amethyst Fellows appears below. The position titles are those held by the Fellow at the time of their appointment as an Amethyst Fellow.

2016-17 / 2015-16














Morah Fenning, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Tourism Planning and Operations Division

Patrick Deutscher, Ontario Chief Economist and Assistant Deputy Minister in the Office of Economic Policy at the Ministry of Finance

Nancy Austin, Executive Director and CEO, Ontario Human Rights Commission 

Peggy Mooney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Broader Public Sector Supply Chain Secretariat, Ministry of Finance  (Feb. to Aug.  2013)
Deborah Stark, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Sciences and Standards Division, Ministry of the Environment (Sept. 12 to Jan. 2013)

Katherine Hewson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration       

Craig McFadyen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economics and Justice, Intergovernmental Affairs, Cabinet Office

Alison Fraser, Chief Legislative Counsel, Ministry of the Attorney General

Jim Smith,  Assistant Deputy Minister, Information Management, Office of the Environment   

Vic Pakalnis, Regional Director, Eastern Region, Ministry of Labour

Richard McKinnell, Assistant  Deputy Minister,  Corporate Services Division, Ministry of Government Services

Gabriel Sekaly, Associate Deputy Minister, Ministry of Finance 

Andrea Maurice, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Community, Family and Children’s Services 

Joan McCalla, Corporate Chief Strategist, Management Board Secretariat

QSPS Board, Committee and Working Groups 2017-18

QSPS Board

  • Mohammed Albaghdadi
  • Naomi Alboim
  • Keith Banting
  • Margaret Biggs
  • Randy Boyes
  • Kathy Brock
  • Weili Ding
  • Don Drummond
  • Emma Esselink
  • Morah Fenning
  • Sean Field
  • Alison Fraser
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Fiona Froats
  • Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant
  • Andrew Graham
  • Mike Joyce
  • Wenjue Knutsen
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Eugene Lang
  • Steve Lehrer
  • Warren Mabee
  • Barbara Martin
  • ​Jamshed Merchant
  • Chanel Manzone Pilon
  • Bryne Purchase
  • Duncan Sinclair
  • Art Stewart
  • Lori Turnbull
  • E.B. (Lee) Van Niedek, secretary
  • Stéfanie von Hlatky
  • David Walker, Chair
  • Bob Watts

Priorities and Planning Committee

  • Margaret Biggs
  • Kathy Brock
  • Kevin Costante
  • ​Weili DIng
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Andrew Graham
  • Rachel Laforest
  • ​Steve Lehrer
  • David Walker, Chair

Visitors Committee

  • Naomi Alboim
  • Margaret Biggs
  • Chris Cornish
  • Weili Ding
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Celia Russell, Secretary
  • David Walker, Chair
  • Robert Wolfe

RTP Committee

  • Weili Ding
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Steve Lehrer
  • Warren Mabee

Communications Working Group

  • Chris Cornish
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Andrew Graham
  • Rachel Laforest
  • David Walker