Office of the Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs


Student Affairs

site header

Advisory Committee on Academic Accommodations

The Advisory Committee on Academic Accommodations supports the Queen's Student Accessibility Services (QSAS) in accommodating students with disabilities. It also supports Student Health Services, Counselling Services and Faculties and Schools in responding to students who require temporary accommodations for other issues and to those requesting deferrals for any reason. 

Terms of Reference:

The Committee will meet at least once per academic term.  The Committee will:

  • Provide feedback and input on QSAS, Student Wellness Services and institutional administrative policies and procedures related to academic accommodations, deferrals and short term accommodations;
  • Share best practices with respect to deferrals and short term accommodation requests;
  • Advise QSAS and Student Wellness Services staff on matters related to essential academic requirements and standards, procedures and processes as they relate to the accommodation process;
  • Where appropriate, provide academic-related advice to QSAS and Student Wellness Services related to complex accommodation requests for the purposes of maintaining essential academic requirements and standards.

Membership 2017-2018:

Student Affairs

Ann Tierney (chair)

Ellie Sadinsky

Lindsay Winger

Student Wellness Services 

Jennifer Dods 

​Jeanette Parsons

Faculty of Arts and Science

Johanne Benard

Carolyn Teske

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Lynann Clapham

​Brian Frank 

Catherine Gurnsey

Faculty of Education Alan Wilkinson
Faculty of Law Helen Connop
Faculty of Health Sciences Leslie Flynn
Smith School of Business

Mandy Daniel

Brittany Lovelock 

School of Graduate Studies Marta Straznicky

Office of the University Registrar 

Suzanne Arniel

​Deborah Smith

Human Rights/Equity Office

Stephanie Simpson

Andrew Ashby


Victoria Lewarne 




Kelly Watson

Cam Yung

Reference documents: