Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts

Queen's University Queen's University
Search Type

REBELS AGAINST TIME: The Tides of Romanticism

Sun, Nov 5, 20172:30 pm
Doors open
Lobby doors open 1:30pm, House Doors open 2:00pm
Performance Hall at The Isabel
Subscription Pricing
The Soloists
  • [Photo of Duo Kleinhapl and Woyke]
    Duo Kleinhapl & Woyke

Duo Kleinhapl & Woyke

REBELS AGAINST TIME: The Tides of Romanticism
Duo Kleinhapl & Woyke, Cello and Piano

Some rebels, such as Beethoven and Piazzolla, forge far ahead into the future and are the revolutionaries against tradition. Others – such as Mendelssohn and Jacob Gade – firmly entrench themselves in esteemed
musical traditions. This program features the awardwinning duo of Austrian cellist Friedrich Kleinhapl and pianist Andreas Woyke, who will perform sonatas by Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Franck and tangos by
Gade and Piazzolla. The New York Times describes the “unimpeachable virtuosity and a thrilling unanimity of spirit” of the Duo Kleinhapl & Woyke. This celebrated duo has appeared in renowned concert venues around
the world including Vienna’s Musikverein and the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.


Ludwig van Beethoven                        Sonata for Violoncello and Piano No. 2 in G minor, op. 5 no. 2

(1770 – 1827)                                                                          I.          Adagio sostenuto e espressivo – Allegro molto piutosto presto

                                                                                                         II.          Rondo. Allegro

   Johannes Brahms                      Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38

                                                                                                           I.          Allegro non troppo

                                                                                                         II.          Allegretto quasi Menuetto & Trio

                                                                                                        III.          Allegro

-        Intermission -

Jacob Gade                                 Jalousie

(1879 – 1963)                              (Tango Tzigane / Gypsy Tango)

Astor Piazzolla                                       Fuga y misterio

(1921 – 1992)                                           Oblivion

Adios Nonino

La Muerte del Angel

Le Grand Tango

(Piazzolla’s original composition for cello)


Arrangements of the pieces by Gade and Piazzolla:

Gerrit Wunder, Federico Ruiz*, Andreas Woyke, Friedrich Kleinhapl


[Austrian Cultural Forum Logo]

[Austrian Curlural Embassy Logo]


Single Ticket pricing: 

General Public: Front Orchestra $55 - Rear Orchestra $47 - Balcony $39
Faculty & Staff: Front Orchestra $52 - Rear Orchestra $44 - Balcony $36
Students: Front Orchestra $27 - Rear Orchestra $22 - Balcony $19