Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts

Queen's University Queen's University
Search Type

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra

Wed, Jan 29, 20207:30 pm
Doors open
Front Doors : 6:30pm Concert Hall : 7:00pm
Performance Hall
Subscription Pricing
Baroque and Beyond

Safe Haven: Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra

Safe Haven is a powerful multimedia exploration in music, words, and images of the influence of refugee populations on the culture of their adopted countries during the baroque era. Performing the works of the 17th and 18th centuries, we will hear how French, English, German, and Italian baroque music reflects the story of how migrants and refugees influenced the culture in each country. Safe Haven features music by European baroque composers including Corelli, Lully, Bach, Telemann, and Vivaldi — composers whose interactions with migrant musicians, impresarios, and artisans had a major influence on their work.

Conceived, scripted, and programmed by Alison Mackay
Elisa Citterio, Music Director
Maryem Tollar, narrator and vocalist
Diely Mori Tounkara, kora
Naghmeh Farahmand, percussion

Antonio Vivaldi                 Allegro non molto, from “Winter” (The Four Seasons)

Jean-Baptiste Lully          Suite from Cadmus & Hermione

Claude Goudimel & Louis Bourgeois             “Or sus, serviteurs du seigneurs”

Henry Purcell                     Voluntary on The Hundredth Psalm

Johann Sebastian Bach      Sinfonia to Cantata 156

Antonio Vivaldi                  Allegro, from Concerto for 4 violins in F Major

Tomaso Albinoni              Allegro, from Concerto for 2 oboes

A. Vivaldi                         Allegro, from “Winter” (The Four Seasons)


Agostino Steffani             Ouverture, from I trionfi del fato

Juan Hidalgo                    A la salida de Lisboa

Peter Phillips                    Pavan

Jan Sweelinck                  Pavana Philippi

Tobias Hume                    A Soldier’s Galliard

John Beck                       “Come riggs are bonnie,” from The Balcarres Lute Book

Georg Philipp Telemann  Adagio, from Concerto for oboe in C Minor

                                        Mezzetin en turc, from Suite in B-flat Major

                                        Les postillons, from Suite in D Major

A. Vivaldi                         Largo, from “Winter” (The Four Seasons)

Arcangelo Corelli            Allegro, from Concerto grosso in D Major

SUBSCRIBE NOW! CALL 613-533-2424

(MON-FRI 12:30-4:30PM)

Find subscription pricing information…

Ticket prices are inclusive of HST and ticketing fee. 

Queen's and The Isabel promotes a scent free environment. Thank you!