Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts

Queen's University Queen's University
Search Type




Sat, May 4, 20197:30 pm
Doors open
Lobby doors open 6:30pm, House Doors open 7:00pm
Performance Hall
Subscription Pricing
Baroque and Beyond
  • [Photo of Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra in The Circle of Creation]
    Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra in The Circle of Creation
  • [Photo of Alison Mackay]
    Alison Mackay

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra

BACH AND HIS WORLD: Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Conceived, Scripted, Programmed by Alison Mackay
Elisa Citterio, Music Director
Blair Williams Narrator

"In these hands, Bach’s music feels more alive than ever." -The Globe and Mail

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra is thrilled to present Bach and his World — a celebration of the genius of Bach and a multimedia creation by Alison Mackay. This program blends the great music of Bach with 21st-century technology and an exploration of the tradition and skill of old world craftspeople and artisans. Like its predecessors The Galileo Project and House of Dreams, Mackay’s imaginative creation redefines the concert experience.

The World of Bach
Conceived, programmed, & scripted by Alison Mackay
Blair Williams Narrator
Directed by Elisa Citterio
Marshall Pynkoski Stage Director
Glenn Davidson Production Designer
Raha Javanfar Projection Designer
Jane MacRae Film Editor

Johann Sebastian Bach
Sinfonia to Cantata 249a
Sonata for 3 violins in C Major, after BWV 1005: I. Adagio
Orchestral suite no. 1 in C Major, BWV 1066: Ouverture
Chorale tune “Gloria laus et honor”
Orchestral suite no. 1 in C Major, BWV 1066: Bourrée & Forlane
Sinfonia in G Minor, BWV 797, for solo harpsichord
Prelude in C Major, BWV 933, for solo harpsichord
Suite no. 3 for violoncello in C Major, BWV 1009: Sarabande
Brandenburg Concerto no. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: I. Allegro
Adagio, after Cantata 202/1: “Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten” (Depart, melancholy shadows)
Brandenburg Concerto no. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: II. Allegro


Andante, after Cantata 208/9: “Schafe können sicher weiden” (Sheep may safely graze)
Partita for violin in D Minor, BWV 1004: Allemande
Tish Nign (18th -century Klezmer tune)
Cantata 140: Chorale “Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme” (Awake, calls the voice to us)
Orchestral suite no. 3 in D Major,  BWV 1068: Gavottes
Sonata for 2 violins and continuo in G Major, BWV 1039: Adagio & Allegro ma non presto
Canons on the first 8 notes of Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087 Simplex – Duplex a 4 – Duplex a 5
Excerpts from Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, Air – Variation #18: Canone alla sexta – Variation #22: Alla breve
Canon triplex on the first 8 notes of Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087/13
Adagio, after Cantata 42/3: “Wo zwei und drei versammlet sind” (Where two and three are gathered together)
Sinfonia, after Cantata 11/1: “Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen” (Praise the Lord in his riches)

Movements from Cantatas 249a, 202, 208, 42, & 11, Goldberg Variations #18 & 22 transcribed & arranged by Alison Mackay. Sonata BWV 1005 arranged by Christopher Verrette.

Find subscription pricing information…

Ticket prices are inclusive of HST and ticketing fee