University Research Services

University Research Services
University Research Services

Welcome to University Research Services

To use phone extensions when calling from outside Queen's, dial 613-533-6000.

To obtain an institutional signature for a proposal, please contact the Research Projects Advisor
(within Grants and Institutional Programs), for your area of research.
Grants and Institutional Programs
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Charles Sumbler
Executive Director
Research Operations and Strategy
For scheduling please contact Marianne Ferris at 613 533-6933
charles.sumbler@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 74957
 
Karen Samis
Assistant Director
Grants Unit and International Research Development
karen.samis@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 78688
Traci Allen
Research Program Coordinator
Grants and Institutional Programs
allent@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79399
Heather Wiens
Office Assistant
hw42@queensu.ca 613-533-6000

Grants and Development

Name and Title
Email
Phone Number

Pre-Award

Bei Cai
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science: Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs)
beicai@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext.32694
Dora Baczyk
Research Projects Advisor
(Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs)
d.baczyk@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 77315
Kyle Hodder
Research Projects Advisor
Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs

kyle.hodder@queensu.ca 

                   
613-533-6000
ext. 79707
Andrea Hiltz
Research Projects Advisor
Health Science Funding Programs
ahiltz@queensu.ca
 
613-533-6000
ext. 33108
 
Jennifer Robinson
Research Projects Advisor
Faculty of Health Sciences: Health Science Funding Programs
*Located in Botterell Hall, room 614
j.robinson@queensu.ca
​613-533-6000
ext. 32944
Diane Davies
Research Projects Advisor
(Social Sciences, Humanities and Creative Arts, and International funding programs)
diane.davies@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79422
Adrian Kelly
Research Projects Advisor
(Social Sciences, Humanities and Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts and Science)
*Located in Watson Hall room 523
adrian.kelly@queensu.ca

613-453-5027

Post-Award

Magda Monreal
Research Facilitator
Social Sciences and Humanities; Natural Sciences and Engineering

monreal@queensu.ca

613-533-6000
ext. 74686
Kelly Manuel
Research Facilitator
Health Sciences
km270@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 74096

Institutional Programs

Name and Title Email Phone Number
Hollie O'Dette-Hoiles
Departmental Coordinator
hoilesh@queensu.ca

613-533-2757

Rebecca Kinsella
Research Projects Advisor
CFI, ORF, CRC
kinsella@queensu.ca 613-533-3310
Mayron Moorhead
Research Projects Advisor
CFI, ORF, CRC
mayron.moorhead@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 75840
Jennifer Chen
Research Projects Advisor
CFI, ORF, CRC
jc290@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79299
Tools for Research at Queen's - TRAQ
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Tom Herra
Research Administration Systems Manager
herra@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 77433
Patricia Ambrose
Help Desk Analyst and Trainer
ambrosep@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 78426
Research Ethics Compliance
Central Administration
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Dr. Andrew Winterborn
Director
For scheduling please contact Mallory Walker
613-533-3047
Jennifer Couture
Manager, Research Ethics Compliance 
For scheduling please contact Mallory Walker
613-533-6000
ext. 78223
Crystal McCracken
Ethics Compliance Advisor
For scheduling please contact Mallory Walker
613-533-6000
ext. 75826
Mallory Walker
Ethics Assistant
mallory.walker@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 74105
General Research Ethics Board - GREB
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Gail Irving
Ethics Coordinator, General Research Ethics Board (GREB)
613-533-6000
ext. 78281
Health Science Research Ethics Board - HSREB
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Miranda Miller
Ethics Coordinator, Health Science Research Ethics Board (HSREB)
miranda.miller@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 77000
Central Administration
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Charles Sumbler
Executive Director, Research Operations and Strategy
For scheduling please contact Marianne Ferris at 613 533-6933
613-533-6000
ext. 74957
Susan Richardson
Manager, Administration 
(located in the Office of the Vice-Principal (Research) Richardson Hall, suite 251
613-533-6000
ext. 77316
Research Contracts Unit
Please see the Queen’s Partnerships and Innovations Contact Us page for information on this unit.