University Research Services

University Research Services
University Research Services
Welcome to University Research Services

To use phone extensions when calling from outside Queen's, dial 613-533-6000.

To obtain an institutional signature for a proposal, please contact the Research Projects Advisor
(within Grants and Institutional Programs), for your area of research.
Grants and Institutional Programs
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Mary Purcell
Director
Grants and Institutional Programs
For scheduling please contact Hollie O'Dette-Hoiles
purcellm@queensu.ca 
613-533-6878
 
Karen Samis
Assistant Director
Grants and International Research Development
For scheduling please contact Mallory Walker
karen.samis@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 78688
Traci Allen
Research Program Coordinator
allent@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79399

Grants and Development

Name and Title
Email
Phone Number

Pre-Award

Vera Kettnaker
Research Projects Advisor
(Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs, NSF)
613-533-6000
ext. 77314
Kelly Cathcart (ON LEAVE)
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Engineering & Applied Sciences: Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs)
kelly.cathcart@queensu.ca

 

Alexandra Pedersen
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Engineering & Applied Sciences: Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs)
*Located in Beamish-Munro Hall, room 219
alexandra.pedersen@queensu.ca  613-453-3447
Hakan Karatas
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Arts & Science: Natural Sciences and Engineering funding programs)
*Located in Miller Hall, room 229
hakan.karatas@queensu.ca 613-929-2064
Kristina Arseneau
Research Projects Advisor
(Canadian & International Health Sciences Programs)
k.arseneau@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79707
Jennifer Robinson
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Health Sciences: Canadian and International Health Sciences funding programs)
*Located in Botterell Hall, room 614
j.robinson@queensu.ca
​613-533-6000
ext. 32944
Diane Davies
Research Projects Advisor
(Social Sciences, Humanities and Creative Arts, and International funding programs)
diane.davies@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 79422
Adrian Kelly
Research Projects Advisor
(Faculty of Arts and Science)
*Located in Dunning Hall, room 134F
adrian.kelly@queensu.ca

613-453-5027

Post-Award

Bonnie Stewart
Research Facilitator
Social Sciences and Humanities; Natural Sciences and Engineering
bonnie.stewart@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 74686
Robin Ashcroft
Research Facilitator
Health Sciences
ashcroft@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 74096

Institutional Programs

Name and Title Email Phone Number
Hollie O'Dette-Hoiles
Departmental Coordinator
hoilesh@queensu.ca

613-533-2757

Rebecca Kinsella
Research Projects Advisor
CFI, ORF, CRC
kinsella@queensu.ca 613-533-3310
Mayron Moorhead
Research Projects Advisor
CFI, ORF, CRC
mayron.moorhead@queensu.ca ext. 75840
Tools for Research at Queen's - TRAQ
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Tom Herra
Research Administration Systems Manager
herra@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 77433
Patricia Ambrose
Help Desk Analyst and Trainer
ambrosep@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 78426
Vacant
Research Administration Assistant
 
613-533-6000
ext. 77315
Research Ethics Compliance
Central Administration
Name and Title Email Phone Number
Dr. Andrew Winterborn
Director
613-533-3047
Jennifer Couture
Manager, Research Ethics Compliance 
613-533-6000
ext. 78223
Kayla Kooistra
Ethics Office Assistant
kayla.kooistra@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 74814
General Research Ethics Board - GREB
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Gail Irving
Ethics Coordinator 
613-533-6000
ext. 78281
Health Science Research Ethics Board - HSREB
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Jennifer Couture
Manager, Research Ethics Compliance 
613-533-6000
ext. 78223
Central Administration
Name and Title
Email
Phone Number
Charles Sumbler
Executive Director (Interim)
For scheduling please contact Susan Richardson
613-533-6000
ext. 74957
Susan Richardson
Manager, Administration
613-533-6000
ext. 77316
Bob Minor
Research Data Analyst
bob.minor@queensu.ca 
613-533-6000
ext. 74579
Mallory Walker
Office Assistant
mallory.walker@queensu.ca
613-533-6000
ext. 74105
Research Contracts Unit
Please see the Office of Partnerships and Innovation Contact Us page for information on this unit.