Queen's University
Search Type

University Secretariat and Legal Counsel

site header


The Senate is one of the three governing bodies of the University, together with the Board of Trustees and the University Council, all of which are administered by the University Secretariat.

The Senate is responsible for determining all matters of academic character affecting the University as a whole, including student discipline. It shares responsibility with the Board of Trustees for appointing the Principal.

The Senate has 68 members: 15 ex-officio and 53 elected.

The Senate functions through a standing committee structure consisting of 13 committees.