School of Policy Studies

School of Policy Studies
School of Policy Studies

The People at SPS

Office of the Executive Director

David Walker, MD, Executive Director, Policy Studies photoDr. David M.C. Walker
Executive Director and
Stauffer-Dunning Chair of Policy Studies

david.walker@queensu.ca
305, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-3125

 

 

Rachel Laforest photoRachel Laforest
Program Director
 

laforest@queensu.ca
317, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 77264

Lynn Freeman, Assistant Director and Business Officer photoLynn Freeman
Associate Director,
Administration and Finance

freemanl@queensu.ca
301C, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 77007


Academic Staff

Elly Alboim
Elly Alboim
Adjunct Professor

elly@earnscliffe.ca

 

 

Naomi Alboim
Naomi Alboim
Adjunct Professor

alboimn@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Margaret Biggs
Margaret Biggs
Matthews Fellow in Global Public Policy

margaret.biggs@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Tom Courchene photo
Tom Courchene
Professor Emeritus

tom.courchene@queensu.ca

 

 

Weili Ding photo
Weili Ding
Associate Professor

dingw@queensu.ca

 

 

Don Drummond photo
Don Drummond
Adjunct Professor and Stauffer-Dunning Fellow

don.drummond@queensu.ca

 

 

Sean Field photo
Sean Field
Adjunct Professor

sean.field@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Alison Fraser photo
Alison Fraser
Adjunct Professor

alison.fraser@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Peter Harrison photo
Peter Harrison
Professor Emeritus

peter.harrison@queensu.ca

 

 

Bill Irwin photo
Bill Irwin
Adjunct Professor

birwin6@uwo.ca

 

 

Mike Joyce photo
Mike Joyce
Adjunct Professor

mike.joyce@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Rachel Laforest photo
Rachel Laforest
Associate Professor

laforest@queensu.ca
 

 

Eugene Lang photo
Eugene Lang
Adjunct Professor

eugene.lang@queensu.ca

 

 

Steven Lehrer photo
Steven Lehrer
Associate Professor

lehrers@queensu.ca

 

 

Bill Leiss photo
Bill Leiss
Professor Emeritus

wleiss@uottawa.ca

 

 

Warren Mabee photo
Warren Mabee
Associate Professor of Geography

warren.mabee@queensu.ca

 

 
 

Jamshed Merchant photo
Jamshed Merchant
Adjunct Professor

jm378@queensu.ca

 

 

Kim Nossal photo
Kim Nossal
Professor and General Editor, Queen's Policy Studies Series

nossalk@queensu.ca

 

 

Bryne Purchase photo
Bryne Purchase
Adjunct Professor

purchase@queensu.ca

 

 

Duncan Sinclair photo
Duncan Sinclair
Adjunct Professor

sinclair@queensu.ca

 

 

Arthur Stewart photo
Arthur Stewart
Lecturer, Department of Economics

stewarta@qed.econ.queensu.ca

 

 

Andy Vogler photo
Andy Vogler
Adjunct Professor

gafvdf@queensu.ca

 

 

Bob Watts photo
Bob Watts
Adjunct Professor

bob@thewattsfamily.ca

 

 

Robert Wolfe photo
Robert Wolfe
Professor Emeritus

robert.wolfe@queensu.ca

 

 
Administrative Staff

Chris Cornish, Events Coordinator
Chris Cornish
Events Coordinator

chris.cornish@queensu.ca
307, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6217

 

 

Christine Fader, Career Specialist
Christine Fader
Career Specialist

clb@queensu.ca
 

 

 

Fiona Froats, MPA/PMPA Program Administrator
FIona Froats
MPA/PMPA Program Administrator

froatsf@queensu.ca
319, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6200

 

 

Mark Howes photo
Mark Howes
Publications Unit

mh15@queensu.ca
411, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-2192

 

 

Yuhong Lin, photo
Yuhong Lin
Financial Analyst

liny@queensu.ca
301A, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-6000 x 75702

 

 

Celia Russell, photo
Celia Russell
Special Events Coordinator

russellc@queensu.ca
309, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-2547

 

 

Celia Russell, photo

Elizabeth Thomas
Admissions/Financial Assistant
 
thomase@queensu.ca
301B, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-2960

 

 

Lee Van Niedek, photo
E.B. (Lee) Van Niedek
Departmental Assistant

lee.vanniedek@queensu.ca
301, Robert Sutherland Hall
613-533-3020

 

 
Distinguished and Emeritus Fellows
Amethyst Fellowship

The Ontario Public Service Amethyst  (Executive) Fellowship in Public Policy at Queen’s University was established in 2003. It provides support for a senior  official in the Ontario Public Service (OPS) to spend up to one year at the School of Policy Studies, working with future policy leaders to help shape public policy debate; raise the profile of the OPS as a centre of public policy excellence; and help provide the Queen’s programs with a provincial policy focus.    

While the focus of the Amethyst Fellow’s activities varies each year depending on his or her professional expertise and interests, there are some general similarities in their contribution to the School’s teaching and other activities. The Amethyst Fellow will normally teach a course in the Winter or Summer Term and participate as a guest speaker in other courses as well as the Policy Speakers Series. He or she also serves as an active liaison with the Ontario Public Service and is involved in organizing the annual two-day MPA “Capital Briefings” program in Toronto, offers career planning advice to graduating students, and may coordinate with students in summer coop positions with the Ontario Public Service, among other activities.

Like other visitorships, the Amethyst Fellowship enriches the life of the School and supports its engagement with external professional public policy communities. A list of the OPS Amethyst Fellows appears below. The position titles are those held by the Fellow at the time of their appointment as an Amethyst Fellow.


2016-17 / 2015-16

2014-15
 

2013-14

2012-13
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Morah Fenning, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Tourism Planning and Operations Division
 

Patrick Deutscher, Ontario Chief Economist and Assistant Deputy Minister in the Office of Economic Policy at the Ministry of Finance

Nancy Austin, Executive Director and CEO, Ontario Human Rights Commission 

Peggy Mooney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Broader Public Sector Supply Chain Secretariat, Ministry of Finance  (Feb. to Aug.  2013)
Deborah Stark, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Sciences and Standards Division, Ministry of the Environment (Sept. 12 to Jan. 2013)

Katherine Hewson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration       

Craig McFadyen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economics and Justice, Intergovernmental Affairs, Cabinet Office

Alison Fraser, Chief Legislative Counsel, Ministry of the Attorney General

Jim Smith,  Assistant Deputy Minister, Information Management, Office of the Environment   

Vic Pakalnis, Regional Director, Eastern Region, Ministry of Labour

Richard McKinnell, Assistant  Deputy Minister,  Corporate Services Division, Ministry of Government Services

Gabriel Sekaly, Associate Deputy Minister, Ministry of Finance 

Andrea Maurice, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Community, Family and Children’s Services 

Joan McCalla, Corporate Chief Strategist, Management Board Secretariat

QSPS Board, Committee and Working Groups 2017-18

QSPS Board

  • Mohammed Albaghdadi
  • Naomi Alboim
  • Keith Banting
  • Margaret Biggs
  • Randy Boyes
  • Kathy Brock
  • Weili Ding
  • Don Drummond
  • Emma Esselink
  • Morah Fenning
  • Sean Field
  • Alison Fraser
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Fiona Froats
  • Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant
  • Andrew Graham
  • Mike Joyce
  • Wenjue Knutsen
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Eugene Lang
  • Steve Lehrer
  • Warren Mabee
  • Barbara Martin
  • ​Jamshed Merchant
  • Chanel Manzone Pilon
  • Bryne Purchase
  • Duncan Sinclair
  • Art Stewart
  • Lori Turnbull
  • E.B. (Lee) Van Niedek, secretary
  • Stéfanie von Hlatky
  • David Walker, Chair
  • Bob Watts

Priorities and Planning Committee

  • Margaret Biggs
  • Kathy Brock
  • Kevin Costante
  • ​Weili DIng
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Andrew Graham
  • Rachel Laforest
  • ​Steve Lehrer
  • David Walker, Chair

Visitors Committee

  • Naomi Alboim
  • Margaret Biggs
  • Chris Cornish
  • Weili Ding
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Celia Russell, Secretary
  • David Walker, Chair
  • Robert Wolfe

RTP Committee

  • Weili Ding
  • Rachel Laforest
  • Steve Lehrer
  • Warren Mabee

Communications Working Group

  • Chris Cornish
  • Lynn Freeman
  • Andrew Graham
  • Rachel Laforest
  • David Walker