Important Dates

Academic Dates, Deadlines and Special Events

  • Friday December 2, 2016
    Fall Term classes end
  • Saturday December 3, 2016 to Wednesday December 7, 2016
    Fall Term pre-examination study period
  • Tuesday December 6, 2016
    Commemoration Day (examinations will not be held)
  • Wednesday December 7, 2016 to Thursday December 22, 2016
    Final examinations in Fall Term classes and mid-year tests in multi-term classes
  • Saturday December 31, 2016
    Fall Term ends
  • Sunday January 1, 2017
    Winter term begins
  • Monday January 9, 2017
    Winter Term classes begin
  • Tuesday January 10, 2017
    Tuition fees due in full for Winter Term
  • Friday January 13, 2017
    Last date to apply to the International Programs Office for exchange programs for 2017-2018
  • Friday January 20, 2017
    Last date to add Winter Term classes
  • Friday January 20, 2017
    Last date to drop Winter term classes without financial penalty
  • Monday February 6, 2017
    Registration for Summer Term classes begins
  • Monday February 20, 2017
    Family Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday February 21, 2017 to Saturday February 25, 2017
    Mid-term Reading Week
  • Friday March 3, 2017
    Last date to drop Winter Term and multi-term classes
  • Saturday March 11, 2017 to Sunday March 12, 2017
    March Break Open House
  • Thursday March 30, 2017
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Summer Term (May-June Session)
  • Saturday April 1, 2017
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree Program for Summer Term
  • Friday April 7, 2017
    Winter Term classes end
  • Saturday April 8, 2017 to Thursday April 13, 2017
    Winter Term pre-examination study period
  • Thursday April 13, 2017 to Friday April 28, 2017
    Final examinations in Winter Term and Multi-Term classes
  • Friday April 14, 2017
    Good Friday (examinations will not be held)
  • Sunday April 30, 2017
    Winter Term ends
  • Monday May 1, 2017
    Tuition fees in full for all Summer Term Sessions
  • Monday May 1, 2017
    Summer Term classes begin (May - June and May - July Sessions)
  • Monday May 1, 2017
    Summer Term begins
  • Friday May 5, 2017
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (May - June and May - July Sessions)
  • Friday May 5, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May - June Session) without financial penalty
  • Friday May 12, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May - July Session) without financial penalty
  • Monday May 22, 2017
    Victoria Day (classes will not be held)
  • Friday May 26, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May - June Session)
  • Thursday June 1, 2017
    Last date for Queen's students to apply to transfer into the Faculty of Arts and Science for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 1, 2017
    Last date to apply to the University for upper-year full-tim admission for Fall Term from another post-secondary institution
  • Thursday June 1, 2017
    Last date to apply to the University for admission as part-time student for Fall Term
  • Thursday June 1, 2017
    Last date for Queen's students to apply for admission to a Dual Degree Program for Fall Term
  • Monday June 12, 2017
    Summer Term classes end (May - June Session)
  • Thursday June 15, 2017 to Saturday June 17, 2017
    Summer Term examinations in May - June Session classes (TENTATIVE)
  • Friday June 23, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (May - July Session)
  • Saturday July 1, 2017
    Canada Day (classes will not be held)
  • Tuesday July 4, 2017
    Summer Term classes begin (July - August Session)
  • Monday July 10, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July - August Session) without financial penalty
  • Monday July 10, 2017
    Last date to add Summer Term classes (July - August Session)
  • Monday July 10, 2017 to Saturday July 29, 2017
    Summer class selection period (TENTATIVE)
  • Saturday July 15, 2017
    First date to apply in SOLUS to graduate in Fall 2017 (TENTATIVE)
  • Friday July 21, 2017
    Summer Term classes (May - July Session) end
  • Tuesday July 25, 2017 to Saturday July 29, 2017
    Summer Term examinations in May - July Session classes
  • Monday July 31, 2017
    Last date to drop Summer Term classes (July - August Session)
  • Monday July 31, 2017
    Last date to apply for admission to the Upper-Year Program at the Bader International Study Centre for Fall Term
  • Monday August 7, 2017
    Civic Holiday (classes will not be held)
  • Monday August 14, 2017
    Summer Term classes end (July - August Session)
  • Wednesday August 16, 2017 to Friday August 18, 2017
    Summer Term examinations in July - August Session (TENTATIVE)
  • Thursday August 31, 2017
    Summer Term ends
  • Friday September 1, 2017
    Fall Term begins
  • Sunday September 3, 2017
    Orientation Week begins (arrival day)
  • Sunday September 3, 2017
    Welcoming Ceremony for new students
  • Monday September 4, 2017
    Labour Day
  • Monday September 11, 2017
    Fall Term classes begin