Centre Personnel 

Director

Associate Director

Stephen LarinStephen Larin
Assistant Professor 
Department of Political Studies
stephen.larin@queensu.ca

 

 

Sharry Aiken  Sharry Aiken
  Associate Professor
  Faculty of Law, Queen's University
  aiken@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

George Anderson, Advisor | UN

  George Anderson
  Consultant
  United Nations
  andersg@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Bruce Berman

  Bruce Berman
  Professor Emeritus
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  bermanb@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Kathy Brock  Kathy Brock
  Professor
  Department of Policy Studies, Queen's University
  kathy.brock@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Poulomi Chakrabarti

  Poulomi Chakrabarti
  Assistant Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  pdc@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Stephanie Chouinard | RMC  Stéphanie Chouinard
  Assistant Professor
  Department of Political Sciences, Royal Military College (Kingston)
  stephanie.chouinard@rmc.ca

 

 

 

 

Zsuzsa Csergo  Zsuzsa Csergo
  Associate Professor & Department Head
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  csergo@queensu.ca

 

 

Current Projects: 

 

Colin Farrelly  Colin Farrelly
  Professor
  Queen's National Scholar
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  farrelly@queensu.ca

 

 
 
 

Andrew Grant   J. Andrew Grant
  Associate Professor 
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  andrew.grant@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

David G. Haglund | Political Studies  David Haglund
  Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  david.haglund@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Oded Haklai | Political Studies​  Oded Haklai
  Associate Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  haklai@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Andrew Lister | Political Studies  Andrew Lister
  Associate Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University 
  andrew.lister@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Fan Lu

  Fan Lu
  Assistant Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  fan.lu@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

John McGarry | Political Studies  John McGarry
  Professor & Canada Research Chair in Nationalism and  Democracy
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University
  john.mcgarry@queensu.ca

Jonathan Rose | Political Studies  Jonathan Rose
  Associate Professor
  Department of Political Studies, Queen's University 
  jonathan.rose@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Beesan Sarrouh  Beesan Sarrouh
  Visiting Researcher
  School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Toronto
  beesan.sarrouh@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Christine Sypnowich | Philosophy  Christine Sypnowich
  Professor & Department Head
  Department of Philosophy, Queen's University
  christine.sypnowich@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

Gregory Whitfield  Gregory Whitfield
  Junior Research Fellow
  Institute of Advanced Studies, University College London
  g.whitfield@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

  Marie-Joelle Zahar
  Scientific Director
  Réseau de recherche sur les opérations de paix, CÉRIUM
  marie-joelle.zahar@umontreal.ca

 

 

Current Projects:

  • Beyond Democratic Symbolism: elections as a tool of conflict-management in war-to-peace transitions, Université de Montréal

Dalal Daoud | Political Studies  Dalal Daoud
  Doctoral Candidate
  dalal.daoud@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Maria Krause | Political Studies  Maria Krause
  PhD
  maria.krause@queensu.ca​

 

 

 


 

Jeremy Ladd  Jeremy Ladd
  PhD
  j.ladd@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Alexandra Liebich  Alexandra Liebich
  Doctoral Candidate
  alexandra.liebich@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Dilan Okcuoglu | Political Studies  Dilan Okcuoglu
  PhD
  8do@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Charan Rainford | Political Studies  Charan Rainford
  Doctoral Candidate
  charan.rainford@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Jacob Kanter | Political Studies  Jacob Robbins-Kanter
  Doctoral Candidate
  j.robbins-kanter@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Philippe Roseberry | Political Studies  Philippe Roseberry
  Doctoral Candidate
  philippe.roseberry@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Olga Talal  Olga Talal
  Doctoral Candidate
  olga.talal@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Samantha Twietmeyer | Political Studies  Samantha Twietmeyer
  Doctoral Candidate
  sam.twietmeyer@queensu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

  Rebecca Wallace
  PhD
  r.wallace@queensu.ca

Lev Marder, SSHRC Post-Doctoral Fellow  Lev Marder
  Social Science and Humanities Research Council Post-Doctoral  Fellow: 2018/10 - 2019/10
  lm190@queensu.ca

 

 

 

Lev Marder holds a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Philosophy Department and Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity, working under the supervision of Will Kymlicka. Lev received his Ph.D. in political science from the University of California-Irvine. His broad areas of expertise include political theory, history of political thought, law and politics, international relations, and theories of representation. His research focuses on mapping the historical and contemporary political uses of ignorance and asks if practices of ignorance can help maintain political order, democratic politics, international relations, and serve other desirable objectives. How has the enforcement of ignorance of certain differences between individuals and groups in the past and the present time engendered a sense of community, un/equal opportunities, and affected the ability of some to rule over others? His research on the production and uses of ignorance appears in the Routledge International Handbook of Ignorance Studies, Philosophy and Social Criticism, Journal of International Political Theory, and Constellations. During his 2018-2020 Fellowship, Lev will examine how democratic regimes incorporate practices of ignorance. The objective is to formulate recommendations for cultivating ignorance conducive to democratic decision-making, political participation, and protection of minority rights and vulnerable groups.


Duygu Ozluk  Duygu Ozluk
  Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey Post-Doctoral Fellow: 2018/10 - 2019/10
  do22@queensu.ca

 

 

 

Project:
Democracy Promotion: Canada’s Contributions and Prospects

This research project aims to understand: What are the main features of Canadian democracy promotion? How did the initiatives of U.S. democracy promotion impact Canada’s initial democracy promotion involvements? What was Canada's motivation in founding the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development, later renamed Rights and Democracy? How do the Harper and Trudeau governments differentiate on democracy promotion? What is the future of Canada’s democracy promotion?

Canada has played a significant role in democracy promotion since the 1980's as a liberal democratic state and part of the Western World. Taking into consideration both the Mulroney government and Harper government’s approaches towards democracy promotion, Canada’s waning engagement on democracy promotion seemed to change when the Trudeau government put more emphasis on democracy supporting institutions. However, creating a new agency committed to democracy promotion is still not on the Canadian government's agenda. Therefore, this project critically analyzes the concept of democracy promotion and Canada’s role in democracy promotion by focusing on past practices, operations of organizations, and discourses of governments.


  Clayton Chin
  Visiting Researcher: 2018/10 - 2018/12
  clayton.chin@unimelb.edu.au

 

 

 

Project:
Multicultural Nationalism: Political Belonging and Community for Diverse States

During his time with the Centre, Clayton Chin focused on completing two papers addressing the question of reconsidering the nature of political community under conditions of diverse cultural populations. The first paper focused on the concept of belonging, examining its treatment in critical and normative literatures, and reconciling them through a model of “multicultural belonging”. The second paper re-examined the relationship between multiculturalism and nationalism, outlining the space and conditions for a multicultural form of nationalism. Both are part of a larger theoretical and empirical project entitled Multicultural Nationalism: Political Belonging and Identity in the Age of Diversity.