Award Presentation

The Global Development Studies Department congratulates Jadyn Kuah for being the recipient of the 2022-2023 Eileen Krieger Award. This award honours a graduating student in the DEVS program who demonstrates the qualities cherished in Eileen: strong extra-curricular involvement at Queen's, a positive attitude, strong leadership skills, and excellent academic standing.

During her time at Queen's, Jadyn has been involved in many extra curricular activities  including Queen’s Backing Action on the Climate Crisis (QBACC) where in her first year where she helped initiate a project to reduce waste and food called Plates over Plastic. In her second year, she became the QBACC Special Programs Manager in second year, eventually leading to the Vice President of EDII and Education. Jadyn is the Co-Founder and Co-Chair of the Queen’s Advocacy Coalition, created in the summer of 2020. This  organization brings together student-run QTBIPOC oriented clubs to advocate for change collectively based on equity, diversity, inclusion and Indigeneity.  Jadyn was also able to obtain funding for this organization to commission a BIPOC artist to create a mural (to be unveiled in Spring/Summer 2023). Jadyn is a strong leader that embraces every challenge and opportunity that comes her way. She uplifts her peers and will always lend a helping hand to those who need it (especially when handing in assignments). Congratulations Jadyn!

The department would also like to recognize all the other nominees for the award:
Carina Cutillo for her contributions to the Keep Refillery Kingston team and Queen’s Student for Systems Change.  She uplifts those around her with her positive attitude and quirky energy! 

Aidan Gurung for their passion for entrepreneurship and bringing awareness to the importance of student mental health.

Jasmine Hasmatali for her strong leadership, commitment and positive energy provided to extra curriculars such as Queen’s International Affairs Association (QIAA) and QNMUN.  

Mariam Ibrahim for her infectious laugh, humour and dedication to the arts as VP secretary for Queen’s Musical Theatre.

Sandrine Jacquot for being a passionate peer and contributions to QPID, QIAA, and Queen’s Journal.  Her open-mindedness and ability to greet everybody with a smile. 

Jennifer Kozelj for her supportive and positive attitude in and out of school, and her work on Queen’s Advocates for Women’s Global Rights, Women in International Security (WIIS), and Queen’s University Liberal Association.

Kelsi Lee for her enthusiasm in extracurriculars including the Vogue Charity Fashion Show, Queen’s for Sustainable Fashion, Queen’s Fashion Industry Network and Queen’s Pom Team. 

Abby Mclean for their quirky and lively personality and contributions to the DEVS DSC, as well as other groups such as Queen’s Bands, Muse Magazine, and Abby’s Crafts for Change (which she founded herself!)

Charlotte Reeves for her kindness and perseverance through difficult situations. Charlotte has also been a part of many extra curriculars including Queen’s Feminist Leadership in Politics, and QFLIP.

Shannon Smithwick for playing an integral role to the Queen’s Project on International Development (QPID) and her consistent involvement with both academics and university.

Devon Sweeney for commitment to the DEVS DSC, participation in Queen’s Bands, Dan School of Drama production and Yarning for Love along with her approachable, energetic, and witty personality.

Megan Zelle for her passion and involvement to the DEVS DSC as the communications director and first year mentor. Megan brings a positive energy to the classroom and is known for making weird (but relevant) connections between class work and pop-culture.

Thank you as well to the Eileen Krieger Award Committee - Paritosh Kumar, Diana Cordoba, Rebecca Hall, Anika Barua, and Brooke Spencer.

Article Category