Beijing event raises profile of Matariki Network of Universities

Beijing event raises profile of Matariki Network of Universities

June 5, 2013


Photo courtesy of the University of Western Australia

Representatives of the Matariki Network of Universities (MNU) – a partnership of seven international universities, of which Queen’s is a member – met in Beijing recently to help raise the profile of the network in China. Queen’s China Liaison Officer Zhiyao Zhang attended the event, which included meetings with officials from China’s Ministry of Education and the National Natural Sciences Foundation. There was also an alumni reception, attended by alumni of all seven MNU members.

Queen's in the World

The MNU was established in 2010 as an international network of leading and like-minded universities, with the goal of facilitating cooperation on everything from research and international exchanges to social responsibility projects and cultural activities. The six other sister universities are: Dartmouth College in the United States, Durham University in England, University of Otago in New Zealand, University of Tübingen in Germany, University of Western Australia in Australia, and Uppsala University in Sweden. The word “Matariki” is Maori for the constellation of the Pleiades, or Seven Sisters.

More information