Jane Philpott named Dean of Faculty of Health Sciences at Queen's University

Jane Philpott named Dean of Faculty of Health Sciences at Queen's University

Accomplished physician, educator, and politician will assume the role in July 2020.

By Dave Rideout

February 11, 2020


Jane Philpott
Dr. Philpott begins her term as Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Director of the School of Medicine on July 1, 2020.

Queen’s University announces that the Honourable Jane Philpott will serve as the university’s next Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Director of the School of Medicine. Dr. Philpott is an accomplished family physician, educator, and global health champion, and is best known for having held several senior cabinet positions with the Government of Canada. She will be the first woman to hold this position at Queen’s University.

“Queen’s University’s Faculty of Health Sciences is among the top interdisciplinary institutions of its kind in Canada, excelling in education, research, and care,” says Dr. Philpott. “I am honoured to accept the role as Dean and look forward to serving the Queen’s community in upholding and strengthening its reputation for excellence.”

The Queen’s Faculty of Health Sciences is internationally renowned for scholarship, research, social purpose, and sense of community. Dr. Philpott will lead a faculty that includes the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing, and the School of Rehabilitation Therapy. The faculty offers programs that are among the most in-demand in Canada thanks to an exceptional student learning experience, and new and innovative education models.

Elected as the Member of Parliament for Markham-Stouffville in 2015, she served in a number of prominent federal cabinet roles, including as Minister of Health, Minister of Indigenous Services, President of the Treasury Board, and Minister of Digital Government. She was a key leader of prominent policies and initiatives that advanced discovery research, mental health and home care resources, medical assistance in dying, First Nations rural infrastructure, Indigenous child welfare reforms, and refugee assistance. She currently serves as Special Adviser on Health for Nishnawbe Aski Nation, an organization representing 49 First Nation communities across Treaty 5 and Treaty 9 in northern Ontario.

“Dr. Philpott is an exceptional leader who has dedicated herself to improving the lives of her patients, her fellow Canadians, and the international community,” says Queen’s Principal and Vice-Chancellor Patrick Deane. “She is a powerful addition to our Faculty of Health Sciences and our university and I know will play a pivotal role in furthering our mission of making a positive impact on society through education and research. I want to extend my congratulations to Dr. Philpott and look forward to welcoming her to Queen’s.”

Prior to entering politics, Dr. Philpott spent over 30 years in family medicine and global health. After earning a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Western Ontario, she spent the first decade of her career in Niger, West Africa, where she provided clinical care to patients and training to community health workers.

Returning to Canada in 1998, Dr. Philpott spent the next 17 years practising family medicine in Stouffville, Ontario. In 2008, she joined the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Medicine and became Chief of Family Medicine at Markham Stouffville Hospital. She also founded a campaign that raised close to $5 million for people in Africa affected by HIV/AIDS, and helped to create the first family medicine training program in Ethiopia.

Dr. Philpott begins her term as Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Director of the School of Medicine on July 1, 2020. The appointment will see her also become CEO of the Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization (SEAMO). Dr. Philpott will succeed Richard Reznick, who has served in the role since 2010.

“I want to express my deepest appreciation and gratitude to Dr. Reznick,” says Tom Harris, Interim Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic). “His contributions to Queen’s University made throughout his ten years as Dean, have lifted our institution’s reputation to new heights, to the benefit of our students, our colleagues, our community, and to health sciences in Canada.”

Members of the advisory selection committee:

This appointment follows a comprehensive search process co-chaired by Provost Harris and SEAMO Board Chair George Thomson. The advisory selection committee included representation from across the administration, faculty, and student body. Membership included:

  • Denis Bourguignon, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Barbara Crow, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Sandra den Otter, Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International)
  • Anne Ellis, Professor, Department of Medicine and cross-appointment to the Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences
  • Dale Engen, Clinical Teachers’ Association of Queen’s President, Assistant Professor Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
  • Marcia Finlayson, Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director, Rehabilitation Therapy
  • Leslie Flynn, Vice-Dean, Education, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Tom Harris (Co-Chair), Interim Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)
  • Kanonhsyonne (Janice Hill), Associate Vice-Principal (Indigenous Initiatives and Reconciliation)
  • Jasmine Khan, MD/PhD Student
  • David Pichora, President and Chief Executive Officer, Kingston Health Sciences Centre
  • Stephanie Simpson, Associate Vice-Principal (Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion)
  • Steven Smith, Director of Research, Faculty of Health Sciences and Professor, Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences
  • Erna Snelgrove-Clarke, Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director, School of Nursing Designate
  • Lori Stewart (Secretary), Executive Director, Office of the Provost and Vice Principal (Academic)
  • Cathy Szabo, President and Chief Executive Officer, Providence Care
  • Chandrakant Tayade, Associate Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Education, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • George Thomson (Co-Chair), Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization, Board Chair
  • Alex Troiani, Nursing Science Society Senator

The Principal and Provost extend their gratitude to all the members of the advisory committee.

Health Sciences