Queen’s celebrates Order of Canada recipients

Queen’s celebrates Order of Canada recipients

By Communications Staff

January 2, 2018


Three Queen’s faculty members and a member of the university's Board of Trustees are among the latest appointees to the Order of Canada.

Governor General Julie Payette announced 125 new appointments – four Companions, 35 Officers, and 86 Members to the Order of Canada on Friday, Dec. 29.

Elizabeth Eisenhauer, R. Kerry Rowe, and Paul Armstrong were appointed as Officers, while Kathleen Pritchard was appointed as a Member.

“The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement and dedication to the community and to Canada,” says Principal Daniel Woolf. “Each of our recipients is a leader in their field and has contributed greatly to the betterment of the nation and beyond. On behalf of Queen’s, I congratulate each on this well-deserved recognition.”

The recipients will receive their insignia at a ceremony in Rideau Hall at a later date.


Elizabeth EisenhauerElizabeth Ann Eisenhauer, O.C.

Professor Emerita Eisenhauer (MD'76) recently completed a term as head of the Department of Oncology and is the former director of the Canadian Cancer Trials Group (CCTG). She was recognized “for her extensive research contributions and leadership within the field of clinical cancer care in Canada.”

Kerry RoweR. Kerry Rowe, O.C.

A faculty member of the Department of Civil Engineering , and former Vice-Principal (Research), Dr. Rowe was recognized “for his seminal contributions to the field of geoenvironmental engineering, notably for his pioneering research in waste barrier systems.”

Paul ArmstrongPaul W. Armstrong, O.C.

Currently an adjunct professor in the School of Medicine, and a Queen’s alumnus, Dr. Armstrong (Arts'63, MD’66) was recognized “for his contributions to the advancement of cardiology, notably for his pioneering research in acute cardiac care, and for his leadership in health care institutions.”


Kathleen PritchardKathleen Isabel Pritchard, C.M.

A member of the Board of Trustees, and a Queen’s alumna, Dr. Pritchard (Arts'69, MD’71) was recognized “for her contributions to the treatment of breast cancer in women, notably as a leader of influential national and international clinical trials.”

Other Order of Canada recipients with Queen’s connections include:

  • Thomas Cromwell (Mus’73, LLB’76) (Companion), former Supreme Court justice
  • Mary Law (Artsci’73) (Officer), John and Margaret Lillie Chair in Childhood Disability Research, McMaster University
  • David Sinclair (Artsci’69, PhD’72, LLD’12) (Officer), SNO and SNOLAB collaborator and Distinguished Research Professor, Carleton University
  • Marie Delorme (MBA’00) (Member), CEO, The Imagination Group;
  • Jocelyn Downie (Artsci’84, MA’85 (Member), law professor, Dalhousie University
  • Judith Sayers (LLD’93) (Member), President, Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council
  • Jean Weihs (Arts’51) (Member), librarian

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada, is one of the country’s highest civilian honours, and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.