Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Queen's University Queen's University
    Search Type

    Search form

    Recognizing the best in teaching and learning

    Queen’s University’s teaching award recipients were recognized in a special event hosted recently by Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning) Jill Scott at the Agnes Etherington Art Centre.

    [Laura Murray and Vanessa McCourt]
    Laura Murray (English Language and Literature), winner of the Educational Leadership Award, and Vanessa McCourt, winner of the Michael Condra Outstanding Student Service Award, have a chat during the Teaching Awards Reception. (Photo by Bernard Clark)

    More than 80 Queen’s faculty and staff members were honoured for their deep commitment to teaching and to the learning of students.

    The event was highlighted by a talk by Erik Knutsen (Law), the recipient of the 2018 Chancellor A. Charles Baillie Teaching Award. The deadline for nominations for the 2019 award is Monday, March 4. Full details about the award and the nomination process are available online.

    Presented by Principal and Vice-Chancellor Daniel Woolf the Principal’s Teaching and Learning Awards celebrate teaching excellence and trans-disciplinary leaders in teaching while also highlighting the diverse ways in which the student learning experience is enhanced by educators and educational supports at Queen’s.

    The deadline for the 2019 award nominations is Monday, April 1. More information regarding the Principal’s Teaching and Learning Awards, including the nomination process, is available on the Centre for Teaching and Learning website.

    Principal’s Teaching and Learning Awards
    2018 Winners

    Michael Condra Outstanding Student Service Award
    Vanessa McCourt, Four Directions Indigenous Student Centre

    Promoting Student Inquiry Teaching Award
    David Parker, Department of History

    Curriculum Development Award
    William Nelson, Department of Biology
    Randy Flanagan, Department of Psychology
    Alan Ableson, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
    Wanda Beyer, Faculty of Arts and Science Online
    Erik Bigras, Faculty of Arts and Science Online
    Julian Enright, Faculty of Arts and Science Online
    Rachel Eagen, Faculty of Arts and Science Online
    Nadia Morel, Faculty of Arts and Science Online

    Educational Leadership Award
    Laura Murray, Department of English Language and Literature

    International Education Innovation Award
    Yuxiang Wang, Department of Biology
    Stephen Lougheed, Department of Biology

    Educational Technology Award
    * No qualifying submissions

    A full list of award winners and internal teaching awards is available online.