Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Queen's University Queen's University
    Search Type

    Search form

    Student Code of Conduct approved

    On May 6 the Queen’s University Board of Trustees approved a revised Student Code of Conduct, which forms the foundation for the new student non-academic misconduct system at Queen’s.

    “This review was guided by the university’s interest in ensuring the well-being and safety of our students,” says Daniel Woolf, Principal and Vice-Chancellor. “I would like to thank the advisory committee for its work in drafting the student code of conduct and all of those who contributed to the review process.”

    The Queen’s University Advisory Committee on Non-Academic Misconduct (ACNAM), chaired by Principal Woolf, began an extensive consultation process with the Queen’s community in October 2015.

    The committee was established following direction from the Board of Trustees, advising the university to review its current non-academic misconduct policies and procedures with the aim of improving the system to better support student safety, health and wellness.

    “As members of the Queen’s community, students are expected to adhere to and promote Queen’s values of honesty, trust, fairness, respect and personal responsibility. It is these values that are intended to inform and guide student conduct, as they foster mutual respect for the dignity, property, rights and the well-being of others,” says Principal Woolf.

    The review continued throughout the 2015-16 academic year, concluding in April 2016. Feedback received during this review both informed and contributed to the drafting of the Student Code of Conduct. In addition to consultations held with various groups, Queen’s community was invited to comment on the revised Student Code of Conduct in April.

    Committee membership included:

    Daniel Woolf, Principal and Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
    Alan Harrison, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) (Vice-Chair)
    Heather Black, University Council 
    Chris Cochrane, SGPS President
    Kanivanan Chinniah, AMS President
    Caroline Davis, Vice-Principal (Finance and Administration)
    Bill Flanagan, Dean, Faculty of Law
    Deborah Knight, Associate Professor, Senate
    Lon Knox, University Secretary
    Palmer Lockridge, Student Senator
    Ann Tierney, Vice-Provost and Dean of Student Affairs

    The committee also included the following non-voting advisors: 

    Michael Fraser, University Relations 
    Dan Langham, Environmental Health and Safety 
    Lisa Newton, University Counsel 
    David Patterson, Campus Security and Emergency Services 
    Stephanie Simpson, Human Rights Office 
    Harry Smith, University Ombudsman