Current Students

Awards and Scholarships

Andre Bieler Prize

Established by the friends and students of Emeritus Professor Andre Bieler in recognition of his work as the Resident Artist of Queen's University from 1936 to 1963, and as Director of the Agnes Etherington Art Centre from 1957 to 1963. Awarded on the recommendation of the Department to a student deemed to have achieved the highest performance in studio work.

Margaret Craig Scholarship in Fine Art

Established from the estate of Margaret O. Craig, B.A.(Gen.) 1947, and awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Art to a first-class full-time student entering the fourth year of the Bachelor of Fine Arts Program in the Faculty of Arts and Science.

William Mitchell Silliman Scholarship

Awarded on the basis of high academic standing at the end of first year to students with concentrations in the humanities or social sciences or in the B.F.A. or B.Mus. programs entering the second year who have not been awarded other scholarships of higher value.

Gerald Finley Bursary in Art

Established through donations, and in honour of Gerald Finley, founder of the Department of Art, and awarded on the basis of financial need to students registered in a degree program with a concentration in Art History or Fine Art.

John Cameron O Memorial Award in Fine Art

Established in February 2004 by Daniel Hyo-Won O and the O family members in memory of John Cameron O. Awarded on the basis of financial need and academic achievement to students in the third or fourth year of the B.F.A.(Honours) program. If there are no eligible candidates the award can be presented to students in the third or fourth year of the B.A.(Honours) program in the Department of Art.

Kay Wolstenholme Memorial Bursary

The Ban Righ Centre administers a bursary called the Kay Wolstenholme Bursary, named in honour of a former Queen's University Bachelor of Fine Arts student. The bursary is for a mature female student who demonstrates financial need. We define mature as having been away from formal education for one year or more. The recipients must also be Ontario residents as the bursary funding is matched by the provincial government. The funds can be given to students in Drama, Music, Film Studies, Art History and of course in Fine Arts.

Robert Shotton Memorial Entrance Scholarship

Established by family and friends in memory of Robert Shotton, Commerce '68. Awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Art on the basis of the portfolio presentation of a student entering the first year of the Bachelor of Fine Art Program.

Other Awards