Centre for Teaching and Learning

Centre for Teaching and Learning
Centre for Teaching and Learning

Programs and Events

Sections:

Please Note: All events through the CTL are currently online.

*New* This Events Calendar now includes both Centre for Teaching and Learning events and Faculty of Health Sciences events. Centre for Teaching and Learning events will now have CTL in front of the title and Faculty of Arts and Science will have FHS in front of the title.

    November 2020

    Monday

    Tuesday

    Wednesday

    Thursday

    Friday

    16 17 18 19

    20

    23 24

    11:30 - 12:30pm
    CTL -
    Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    25

    12:00 - 1:00pm
    CTL - Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL -
    Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Instructional Strategies

    26

    10:00 - 11:00am
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    27
    30        

    *Program is for new and pre-tenured faculty

    December 2020

    Monday

    Tuesday

    Wednesday

    Thursday

    Friday

      1

    11:30 - 12:30pm
    CTL -
    Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    2 3

    10:00 - 11:00am
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    4
    7

    8

    11:30 - 12:30pm
    CTL -
    Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link      

    9 10

    10:00 - 11:00am
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    11
    14 15

    11:30 - 12:30pm
    CTL -
    Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link      

    16 17

    10:00 - 11:00am
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - Decolonization Drop-In
    Teams Link

    18

    21

    22

    1:30 - 2:30pm
    CTL - onQ Virtual Drop In
    Teams Link

    23

    24 25

    More Events

    Date and Time

    Department and Title

    Location

    Fri. January 15, 12:30 - 2:00pm *CTL - TM: Active Learning Virtual - Teams

    *Program is for new and pre-tenured faculty

    Complete list of CTL workshops

    Is there a program or event that you would like to see the Centre for Teaching and Learning take on? Please email us your suggestions and comments at ctl@queensu.ca!

    Past Events

    Fall 2020

    Date

    Title

    Location

    Friday, November 20, 2020 Teaching Matters: Inclusion and Accommodations Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, November 18, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Communications with Students Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Collecting and Interpreting Feedback on Your Teaching Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, November 10, 2020 Info Session: Winter 2021 Grad Course on Teaching & Learning in Higher Ed (SGS 902) Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Teaching Sensitive Topics to Students Learning Remotely Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    November 2 - 6, 2020 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
    Friday, October 23, 2020 Teaching Matters: Course Design Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, October 21, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    October 19 to 23, 2020 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
    Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Giving Constructive Feedback to Students Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Friday, September 25, 2020 Teaching Matters: Giving Feedback, Giving Grades Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, September 23, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, September 16, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Building a Respectful... Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Friday, September 11, 2020 Teaching Matters: From Teaching to Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, September 10, 2020 Decolonization and Indigenization Webinar: Finding our Way Along the Path Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, September 2, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Course Design Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Transforming Teaching 101 Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    August 31, 2020 - September 4, 2020 Remote TD Week Virtual - Microsoft Teams

    Summer 2020

    Date

    Title

    Location

    Thursday, August 27, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Instructional Strategies Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, August 26, 2020 Transforming Teaching 101 Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, August 26, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Structuring Assessment that Supports Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, August 25, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Decolonization and Indigenous Pedagogies Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, August 20, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Building a Respectful... Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, August 19, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, August 18, 2020 Effective course organization in the LMS Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, August 18, 2020 Remote Teaching Q&A Series: Course Design Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, August 12, 2020 Supporting and Leveraging Teaching Assistants Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, July 30, 2020 Spotlight: Setting up your Gradebook in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, July 29, 2020 Reimagining your onQ course for Remote Teaching and Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, July 28, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Monday, July 27, 2020 Getting Started on Developing your course in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    July 27, to July 31, 2020 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
    Thursday, July 23, 2020 Spotlight: Creating an onQ Quiz Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, July 22, 2020 Introduction to onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, July 22, 2020 Communicating with Students Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Monday, July 20, 2020 Spotlight: Setting up Groups in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, July 15, 2020 Reimagining your onQ course for Remote Teaching and Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    July 13, to July 17, 2020 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
    Friday, July 10, 2020 Spotlight: Creating onQ Assignments Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, July 8, 2020 Getting Started on Developing your course in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Active Learning Strategies for Non-Lecture Style Teaching Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    July 6, to July 10, 2020 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
    Tuesday, June 30, 2020 Spotlight: Setting up your Gradebook in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Monday, June 29, 2020 Accessible Teaching in Every Context Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Friday, June 26, 2020 Spotlight: Creating an onQ Quiz Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, June 25, 2020 Let’s Sit Together: Building Classroom Community Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, June 24, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, June 24, 2020 Introduction to onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, June 23, 2020 Spotlight: Setting up Groups in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, June 23, 2020 Copyright and Remote Instruction Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, June 18, 2020 Spotlight:Creating onQ Assignments Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Wednesday, June 17, 2020 Reimagining your onQ course for Remote Teaching and Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Tuesday, June 16, 2020 Active Learning Strategies in the Traditional or Virtual Classroom Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Monday, June 15, 2020 Spotlight: Creating onQ Discussion Forums Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Thursday, June 11, 2020 Getting Started on Developing your course in onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Thursday, June 11, 2020 PUTL Workshop V: Accessible Teaching and Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Wednesday, June 10, 2020 Introduction to onQ Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Tuesday, June 9, 2020 Innovative Assessments for Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams  
    Thursday, June 4, 2020 Selecting Appropriate Technologies Virtual - Microsoft Teams       
    Thursday, May 28, 2020 Strategies for Inclusive and Equitable Teaching in Remote Environments Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, May 27, 2020 PUTL Workshop IV: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, May 21, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, May 20, 2020 Transforming Teaching 101 Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    May 11, 12, 13, and 14, 2020 Writing Pedagogy Institute Virtual - Microsoft Teams

    Winter 2020

    Date

    Title

    Location

    Thursday, April 30, 2020 Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, April 21, 2020, 10:00 - 11:00am Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, April 29, 2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop V: Accessible Teaching and Learning POSTPONED
    Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series POSTPONED
    Friday, April 17, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Conclusions and Next Steps; Goal Setting and Teaching Philosophy Statements POSTPONED
    Wednesday, April 15, 2020, 2:00 - 3:00pm Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: WEBINAR: Online TAship Support Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Collecting and Interpreting Feedback on Teaching POSTPONED
    Thursday, April 2, 2020 Collecting and Documenting Student Feedback on your Course Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, April 2, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom POSTPONED
    Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Designing Remote Final Exams Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Integrating Rubrics with onQ POSTPONED
    Thursday, March 26, 2020

    Designing Remote Final Exams

    Virtual - Microsoft Teams
    Thursday, March 26, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples POSTPONED
    Thursday, March 26, 2020 ICEd Coffee POSTPONED
    Wednesday, March 25,  2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop IV: Scholarship in Teaching and Learning POSTPONED
    Tuesday, March 24, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series POSTPONED
    Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, March 6, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Supervising Graduate Students and TAs Kinesiology Building, Room 106
    Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, February 27, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom CANCELLED
    Wednesday, February 26, 2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop III: Educational Leadership Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series

    The Event Commons on the main level of Mitchell Hall

    Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom CANCELLED
    Friday, February 7, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Decolonizing the Curriculum Kinesiology Building, Room 106
    Thursday, February 6, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Supporting English as an Additional Language (EAL) Students Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, January 31, 2020 ICEd Coffee Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Tuesday, January 28, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, January 23, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, January 10, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Active Learning Kinesiology Building, Room 106
    Thursday, January 9, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Mutually Respectful Graduate Supervision CANCELLED

    Fall 2019

    Date

    Title

    Location

    Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Fostering Productive Working Relationships with Teaching Assistants Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Wednesday, November 27, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop II: Practical Experience Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
    Friday, November 22, 2019 Teaching Matters:Inclusion and Accommodations School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
    Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, November 14, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Troubleshooting and Tweaking your Rubrics Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Tuesday, November 12, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, November 7, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Success with Student Response Systems Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Wednesday, October 30, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop I: Foundations in Teaching and Learning Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
    Wednesday, October 30, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, October 25, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Teaching Challenges in Large Classes Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Wednesday, October 24, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, October 18, 2019 Teaching Matters: Course Design School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
    Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, October 3, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Logistics of Academic Accommodations and Considerations Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
    Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Thursday, September 26, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Wednesday, September 25, 2019 How can educational support professionals spark social change?
    An example from decolonization
    Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday. September 20, 2019 Teaching Matters: Giving Feedback, Giving Grades School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
    Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
    Friday, September 6, 2019 Teaching Matters: From Teaching to Learning and How People Learn School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
    Wednesday, September 4, 2019 Teaching Development Day Various Rooms Across Campus