Centre for Teaching and Learning

Centre for Teaching and Learning
Centre for Teaching and Learning

Programs and Events

Date

Title

Location

Wednesday, April 15, 2020, 2:00 - 3:00pm Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Webinar
Tuesday, April 21, 2020, 10:00 - 11:00am Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Webinar
Thursday, April 30, 2020, 2:00 - 3:00pm Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Webinar
May 11, 12, 13, and 14, 2020 Writing Pedagogy Institute Webinar

Postponed

Showcase of Teaching and Learning at Queen's

TBA

*Teaching Matters is only available for new and pre-tenure faculty

Complete list of CTL workshops

Is there a program or event that you would like to see the Centre for Teaching and Learning take on? Please email us your suggestions and comments at ctl@queensu.ca!

Past Events

Winter 2020

Date

Title

Location

Wednesday, April 29, 2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop V: Accessible Teaching and Learning POSTPONED
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series POSTPONED
Friday, April 17, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Conclusions and Next Steps; Goal Setting and Teaching Philosophy Statements POSTPONED
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: WEBINAR: Online TAship Support Webinar
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Indigenous Ways of Knowing Webinar Series Webinar
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Collecting and Interpreting Feedback on Teaching POSTPONED
Thursday, April 2, 2020 Collecting and Documenting Student Feedback on your Course Webinar
Thursday, April 2, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom POSTPONED
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Designing Remote Final Exams Webinar
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Integrating Rubrics with onQ POSTPONED
Thursday, March 26, 2020

Designing Remote Final Exams

Webinar
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples POSTPONED
Thursday, March 26, 2020 ICEd Coffee POSTPONED
Wednesday, March 25,  2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop IV: Scholarship in Teaching and Learning POSTPONED
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series POSTPONED
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, March 6, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Supervising Graduate Students and TAs Kinesiology Building, Room 106
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, February 27, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom CANCELLED
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop III: Educational Leadership Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series

The Event Commons on the main level of Mitchell Hall

Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom CANCELLED
Friday, February 7, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Decolonizing the Curriculum Kinesiology Building, Room 106
Thursday, February 6, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Supporting English as an Additional Language (EAL) Students Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, January 31, 2020 ICEd Coffee Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, January 10, 2020 *Teaching Matters: Active Learning Kinesiology Building, Room 106
Thursday, January 9, 2020 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Mutually Respectful Graduate Supervision CANCELLED

Fall 2019

Date

Title

Location

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Fostering Productive Working Relationships with Teaching Assistants Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop II: Practical Experience Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Friday, November 22, 2019 Teaching Matters:Inclusion and Accommodations School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, November 14, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Troubleshooting and Tweaking your Rubrics Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, November 7, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Co-Existence and Co-Resistance – Becoming an Ally for Indigenous Peoples Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Success with Student Response Systems Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop I: Foundations in Teaching and Learning Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, October 25, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Teaching Challenges in Large Classes Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, October 24, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, October 18, 2019 Teaching Matters: Course Design School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, October 3, 2019 Quick Questions, Simple Answers: Logistics of Academic Accommodations and Considerations Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Thursday, September 26, 2019 Introduction to Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 How can educational support professionals spark social change?
An example from decolonization
Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday. September 20, 2019 Teaching Matters: Giving Feedback, Giving Grades School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room E202
Friday, September 6, 2019 Teaching Matters: From Teaching to Learning and How People Learn School of Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, Room 106
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 Teaching Development Day Various Rooms Across Campus

Summer 2019

Date

Title

Location

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 Enhancing Student Writing in your Discipline Kingston Hall, Room 108
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Thursday, August 15, 2019 CTL Summer Reading Group Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Tues. July 16 and Thurs. July 18, 2019 Course Design@Queen's Institute Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Educational Research Grants N/A
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Teaching Enhancement Grants N/A
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop V: Accessible Teaching and Learning Ellis Hall, Room 226
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Decolonizing Education: Reimagining Curriculum, Teaching & Learning Ellis Hall, Room 319
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop IV: Scholarship in Teaching and Learning Ellis Hall, Room 226
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Friday, May 17, 2019 Visioning Curriculum Through an Indigenous Lens Ellis Hall, Room 319
May 13 - 16, 2019 Writing Pedagogy Institute Ellis Hall, Room 226
Thursday, May 9, 2019 Teaching Matters Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Showcase of Teaching and Learning Sir John A. Macdonald Hall, Room 001

Winter 2019

Date

Title

Location

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Graduate Student Teaching Monthly Drop-In Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop III: Educational Leadership Ellis Hall, Room 226
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Series: How to Write a Winning Grant Proposal Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Teaching Matters Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Graduate Student Teaching Monthly Drop-In Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop II: Practical Experience Ellis Hall, Room 226
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Series: Coding Qualitative Research Data Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Thursday, March 7, 2019 Teaching Matters Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Thursday, February 28, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 Graduate Student Teaching Monthly Drop-In Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 PUTL Workshop Series: Workshop I: Foundations in Teaching and Learning Ellis Hall, Room 226
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 Teaching Matters Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 Faculty and Student Voices: Decolonizing the Curriculum Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Thursday, January 31, 2019 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 Graduate Student Teaching Monthly Drop-In Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Series: Designing Interviews and Focus Groups Robert Sutherland Hall, Room 202
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 Teaching Triangles Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Thursday, January 17, 2019 Teaching Matters Mackintosh-Corry Hall, Room F200
Starting January 9, 2019 SGS902: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education Ellis Hall, Room 333