Upcoming Events Calendar

December January More Events

December

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
5

6

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

7

8

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

9
12

13

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

14

15

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

16
19

20

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

21

22

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

23

January

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday

2

University Closed

3

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

4

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

5

9:30 - 12:30pm
SGS 902

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

6

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

9

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

10

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

11

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

12

9:30 - 12:30pm
SGS 902

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

13

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

16

17

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

18

19

9:30 - 12:30pm
SGS 902

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

20
23

24

12:00 - 1:00pm
Teaching to Transgress: Disability Justice in Higher Education: A Conversation with Jeff Preston

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

25

10:30 - 12:00pm
Critical Conversations Series: Responding to Racial Microaggressions in the Classroom

26

9:30 - 12:30pm
SGS 902

10:00 - 11:00am
onQ Drop In

27
30

31

1:30 - 2:30pm
onQ Drop In

 

   

More Events

Date and Time Title Location
Thursday, February 2, 2023; 11:00am - 12:30pm Critical Conversations Series: Facilitating Difficult Conversations (Practice session) Zoom
Monday, February 13, 2023; 2:00 – 3:30pm Teaching to Transgress: Microactions: Moves in Research, Teaching, and Service that can Shift Equity Creeds into Deeds Zoom
Wednesday February 22, 2023; 11:00am-12:30pm Teaching Strategies, Tips, and Tools Zoom
Wednesday, March 1, 2023; 10:30am – 12:00pm Critical Conversations Series: You’ve been called out for causing harm; Now what? Zoom

Complete list of CTL workshops

Is there a program or event that you would like to see the Centre for Teaching and Learning take on? Please email us your suggestions and comments at ctl@queensu.ca!

Fall 2022

Date Title Location
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Decolonization and Indigenization: Finding our Way Along the Path Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 Critical Conversations Series: Responding to Disclosures of Sexual Violence:  Information for Educators Cancelled
Thursday, November 24, 2022 An Introduction to the Intercultural Development Inventory Mackintosh-Corry Hall, E202
Tuesday, November 22, 2022 Teaching to Transgress: Human Rights and Social Justice in Law: A Conversation with Sharry Aiken Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, November 17, 2022 Panel: How is your Program Addressing Goals for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization Now and Into the Future? Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, November 17, 2022 TA 101: Collecting and Interpreting Feedback on Your Teaching Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Developing Globally Engaged Curriculum: Why, What & How Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 Critical Conversations Series: PANEL | Radical Assessment: Let’s Talk About Ungrading and Contract Grading Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 SGS902 Information Session Virtual - Zoom
Monday, November 7, 2022 TA 101: Inclusion in a Classroom (in partnership with SGSPA) LinQLab, Mitchell Hall
Thursday, November 3, 2022 Foundational Series: Facilitating Difficult Conversations Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Promoting Intercultural Engagement and Collaborations in Class Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 TA 101: PUTL Showcase: Professional Development in University Teaching and Learning Online Modules Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Cancelled
Thursday, October 20, 2022 Teaching to Transgress: A Teaching and Learning Speakers Series:  Decolonization in Education and Global Engagement Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 New Faculty Series: Creating Inclusive and Collaborative Teaching and Learning Spaces with Your TAs Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Communicating Effectively in Culturally Diverse Classrooms Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, October 6, 2022 Foundational Series: Anti-Racist Pedagogies: From Theory to Practice Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, October 6, 2022 TA 101: Principles of Teaching and Learning (in partnership with SGSPA) Mackintosh-Corry Hall, E202
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Exploring Cultural Orientations and Positionality in Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Friday, September 30, 2022 TRC & Me: What Educators can do to Respond to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Call to Action Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 Taking up the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Recommendations in your Classroom Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Atrium
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Foundations of Indigenous Pedagogies Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 Developing Globally Engaged Curriculum: Why, What & How Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Friday, September 2, 2022 Teaching Development Conference (TDC) Biosciences Complex and Zoom
Thursday, September 1, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Departmental Admins and Assistants Virtual - Zoom

Summer 2022

Date Title Location
Tuesday, August 30, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, August 25, 2022 New Faculty Series: Technologies offered at Queen’s Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 New Faculty Series: Introduction to onQ Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 New Faculty Series: Surviving the First Class and Active Learning Strategies Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, August 18, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Departmental Admins and Assistants Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Monday, August 15, 2022 Graduate I-EDIAA Student Leaders Retreat Donald Gordon Centre
Week of June 20, 2022 Course Design/Redesign Institute Virtual and In Person
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 Curriculum Commons: Setting the Tone: Preparing for an Effective Self-Study Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, May 26, 2022 An Introduction to Ventus for Instructors Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 Developing Globally Engaged Curriculum: Why, What & How Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Showcase of Teaching and Learning at Queen's Virtual - Zoom

Winter 2022

Date Title Location
Tuesday, April 12, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Globalization of the Curriculum: What, Why & How Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 31, 2022 Where Research and Teaching Intersect: An Introduction to the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, March 30, 2022 Curriculum Commons: Articulating Program Requirements: Addressing Section 4.2 Virtual - Teams
Tuesday, March 29, 2022 Decolonizing STEM Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 24, 2022 Beyond the Contract: Pedagogy and Developing the Course Syllabus Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 24, 2022 Decolonization and Indigenization: Finding our Way Along the Path Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 17, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Promoting Intercultural Engagement and Collaborations in the Classroom Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 10, 2022 Critical Conversations Series: You’ve been called out for causing harm; Now what? Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 Meaning-Making with Youth and Communities Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 The Pedagogy of Peace - A Model for Decolonizing and Indigenizing Teaching and Learning Practices Virtual - Zoom
Monday, March 7, 2022 Critical Conversations Series: Abolitionist Practices in Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, March 3, 2022 Curriculum Commons: Constructive Alignment: Addressing Section 4.1 Virtual - Teams
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 An Introduction to the Intercultural Development Inventory Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Winter Workshop Series for Teaching Assistants, Teaching Fellows, and Post-Docs: Assessment Practices for University Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, February 17, 2022 Winter Workshop Series for Teaching Assistants, Teaching Fellows, and Post-Docs: Developing your Teaching Dossier Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 Critical Conversations Series: Identifying and Responding to Harm in the classroom as QTBIPOC Instructor Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Developing Intercultural Communication Competence Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, February 3, 2022 Developing Intercultural Teaching Competence (ITC) Series: Exploring Cultural Positionality in Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, February 3, 2022 Curriculum Commons: Articulating Program Learning Outcomes Virtual - Teams
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classroom Virtual - Zoom
Monday, January 31, 2022 Winter Workshop Series for Teaching Assistants, Teaching Fellows, and Post-Docs: Leveraging onQ and Educational Technologies in your Role as a TA Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Foundational Series: Do you have questions about Accommodations and Extenuating Circumstances? Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 Winter Workshop Series for Teaching Assistants, Teaching Fellows, and Post-Docs: Introduction to Concepts in University Teaching and Learning Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, January 20, 2022 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Foundations of Indigenous Pedagogies Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, January 12, 2022 SGS902: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education - First Class Virtual - Zoom
Monday, January 10, 2022 Foundational Series: Anti-Racist Pedagogies: From Theory to Practice Virtual - Zoom

Fall 2021

Date Title Location
December 8, 2021 Advanced onQ Lunch and Learn Series: Course Awards Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 & Wednesday, December 8, 2021 CPR Retreat: Advancing on Academic Alignments Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 TA 101: Professional Development Series: Building a TA Community of Practice - Virtual Coffee Break and Dialogue! Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Decolonization and Indigenization: Finding our Way Along the Path Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Culturally Responsive Practices Workshop Series: Supporting International Students in Online Teaching and Learning Environments Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 Curriculum Commons: How is your Program Addressing Goals for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization Now and Into the Future? Virtual - Teams
Tuesday, November 23, 2021 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Selecting Indigenous Resources for the Classrooms Virtual - Zoom
Monday, November 22, 2021 Teaching, Learning & Assessment Across Disciplines: ICE Stories Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, November 18, 2021 TA 101: Professional Development Series: Data Science: Collecting and Interpreting Feedback on your Teaching Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 Foundational Series: Responding to Racial Microaggressions in the Classroom Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, November 11, 2021 SGS902 Info Session Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 Curriculum Commons: Articulating the Successes of your Academic Program Virtual - Teams
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 Culturally Responsive Practices Workshop Series: Exploring Best Practices to Support International Students Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 Advanced onQ Lunch and Learn Series: Intelligent Agents Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Foundations of Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Curricula Series: Foundations of Indigenous Pedagogies Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, October 21, 2021 Identifying Challenges in Writing Across Borders Workshop Series: Academic Integrity Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 New Faculty Orientation: DROP-IN: Creating Inclusive and Collaborative Teaching and Learning Spaces with your TA Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Curriculum Commons: Setting the Tone: Strategies for Preparing an Effective Self-Study Virtual - Teams
Tuesday, October 12 - 15, 2021 Course Design Express Virtual - onQ
Thursday, October 7, 2021 Foundational Series: Accommodations and Extenuating Circumstances: Understanding the Process, Supporting Students, and Self-Care Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 Identifying Challenges in Writing Across Borders Workshop Series: Critical Thinking Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 Advanced onQ Lunch and Learn Series: Release Conditions Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 TA 101: Professional Development Series: Leveraging onQ and Educational Technologies in your Role as a TA Virtual - Zoom
Monday, October 4, 2021 Learning Environments that Foster Student Wellbeing: A Conversation Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, September 30, 2021 TRC & Me: What Educators can do to Respond to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Call to Action Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 How Do We Talk About Colonial Violence in the Classroom? Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 Identifying Challenges in Writing Across Borders Workshop Series: Academic Writing Virtual - Zoom
Friday, September 3, 2021 Remote TD Week: Understanding the TA/TF Collective Agreement and Union Resources Virtual - Zoom
Friday, September 3, 2021 Remote TD Week: Strategies for Effective Teaching in the Laboratory Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, September 2, 2021 Remote TD Week: Introduction to Indigenous Pedagogies Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, September 2, 2021 Remote TD Week: Learning Environments that Foster Student Wellbeing: A Conversation Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, September 2, 2021 New Faculty Orientation: DROP-IN: Surviving the First Class Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 Remote TD Week: Developing Foundational Intercultural Teaching Competence Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 Remote TD Week: Getting to Know onQ Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 Remote TD Week: Building Inclusive and Anti-Racist Classrooms Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 New Faculty Orientation: DROP-IN: “What I wish I had known when I first started at Queen’s” Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 Remote TD Week: What I know now: Demystifying Teaching Assistantships Virtual - Zoom
Monday, August 30, 2021 Remote TD Week: Something to Talk About: Fostering Engagement in Synchronous/Asynchronous Discussion Virtual - Zoom
Monday, August 30, 2021 Remote TD Week: PLENARY AND WELCOME | There and Back Again Virtual - Zoom

Summer 2021

Date Title Location
Thursday, August 26, 2021 New Faculty Orientation: Introduction to onQ Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 New Faculty Orientation: Technologies Offered at Queen's Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 New Faculty Orientation Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 Course Design Express: Community Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 Course Design Express: Course Structure and Scheduling Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 Course Design Express: Assessment, Activities & Technologies Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 Course Design Express: Situational Factors, Learning Outcomes Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Tuesday, June 22, 2021 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, June 16, 2021 Exploring an Indigenous Competency-Based Curriculum Framework Virtual - Zoom
June 14 - June 18 Course Design Express Bootcamp Virtual - onQ
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Culturally Responsive Practice: Developing Foundational Intercultural Teaching Competence Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, May 27, 2021 Culturally Responsive Practice: Responding to Racial Micro-Aggressions in Times of Crisis Virtual - Zoom
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 Future-Proofing Your Course Design Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, May 20, 2021 Writing Pedagogy Institute: Peer Review Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 Brown Bag Conversations: Discussing Decolonization Series Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 Writing Pedagogy Institute: Giving Effective Feedback Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Culturally Responsive Practice: Supporting International Students in Remote Teaching and Learning Environments Virtual - Zoom
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Writing Pedagogy Institute: Designing and Using Rubrics Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 Decolonizing STEM Virtual - Zoom
Tuesday, May 11, 2021 Writing Pedagogy Institute: Authentic Assignments for Student Learning Virtual - Microsoft Teams
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Virtual Showcase of Teaching and Learning at Queen's Virtual - Zoom