Three faculty members elected to Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Three faculty members elected to Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

September 19, 2013


By Rosie Hales, Communications Officer

Roger Deeley

Three Queen’s professors and respected researchers have been formally inducted as fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS).

Roger Deeley (Pathology and Molecular Medicine), Jacalyn Duffin (Medicine, Philosophy, History, Nursing, Education), and Elizabeth Eisenhauer (Oncology) were chosen based on their demonstrated leadership, creativity, competence and commitment to the health sciences.

Dr. Deeley is the Vice-Dean of Research for the Faculty of Health Sciences, Director of the Queen’s Cancer Research Institute, and a professor of pathology & molecular medicine, oncology, and biomedical & molecular sciences. His research focus on multidrug resistance proteins (MRP) has been widely recognized as a major contribution to understanding the causes of resistance to cancer chemotherapy.

“I’m very honoured to have been elected as a Fellow of the Academy and I look forward to participating in the activities of the Academy in its support and promotion of health research in Canada,” says Dr. Deeley.

Jacalyn Duffin 

Dr. Duffin currently holds the Hannah Chair of the History of Medicine and is a cross-appointed professor in five academic departments at Queen’s. She has been president of the Canadian Society for the History of Medicine as well as the American Association for the History of Medicine. Last year she was appointed a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Her research interests include medicine and religion, disease concepts, medical technology and historical activism.

“It is a big honour to have my work recognized by the CAHS,” says Dr. Duffin. “I view it as a tribute from leaders of the profession to the abiding relevance of historical research within clinical medicine.”

Elizabeth Eisenhauer

For Dr. Eisenhauer, Queen’s has been the home of her medical education as well as her research career. Since graduating from Queen’s medical school in 1976, she joined the NCIC Clinical Trials Group(NCIC CTG) in 1982 where until 2012, she oversaw a national program of clinical trials using new cancer drugs. She has also worked to improve the way clinical studies in cancer patients are designed and conducted. Since 2012 she has been Head of the Department of Oncology at Queen's and in July 2013 also became Interim Director of the NCIC CTG.

"I am honoured to have been elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences,” says Dr. Eisenhauer. “I look forward to contributing to the work of the Academy in helping to shape the future of health care in Canada."

“Election to the CAHS is one of the highest honours for health sciences researchers in Canada,” says Dr. Steven Liss, Vice-Principal (Research). “The contributions of Drs. Deeley, Duffin, and Eisenhauer have had widespread impact both in Canada and internationally, and as a community of scholars, the Academy will benefit greatly from their experience and expertise.”

The new fellows were inducted into the CAHS on September 19 during a dinner ceremony at its Annual General Meeting in Ottawa.