Inaugural UCARE members announced

Inaugural UCARE members announced

The University Council on Anti-Racism and Equity will begin meeting early next year to support a more inclusive Queen’s.

By Phil Gaudreau

December 6, 2017


Queen’s has established a new council which will ensure a continuing and sustained conversation aimed at addressing anti-racism, diversity, and inclusion on campus.

The UCARE nominating committee, including Amir Fam, Professor, Donald and Sarah Munro Chair in Engineering and Applied Science, and Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies) in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science; Ramna Safeer (Artsci'18), AMS Social Issues Coordinator; Stephanie Simpson, Director, Human Rights Office; and Cam Yung (Sc'16), Rector. (University Communications)

Creating this new council was a key recommendation of the Principal’s Implementation Committee on Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion (PICRDI) final report.

Following the call for applications in October, the inaugural members of the University Council on Anti-Racism and Equity (UCARE) have been selected and their first meetings have been set.

“This new group will help shape the vision and strategy of our university, serving as a critical voice and advocate for diversity and inclusion,” says Daniel Woolf, Principal and Vice-Chancellor. “Establishing UCARE is a crucial step towards PICRDI implementation and towards building a more inclusive campus community.”

The UCARE nominating committee, which included representation by faculty, staff, and students, reviewed the applications to develop the list of potential members. The nominating committee provided its recommendations to the Principal for final approval. The Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion) acted as a non-voting chair on the nomination committee.

“I am pleased to announce the first ever members of UCARE, and I look forward to working together to build a more equitable Queen’s University,” says Teri Shearer, Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion). “Queen’s strives to create a campus community that respects and reflects the diversity of our country, is welcoming and accessible, and fosters a sense of belonging. This new council will help us continue to make progress on these important goals and build a two-way dialogue about these issues.”

The 17 members of UCARE are appointed to one- or two-year terms which can be renewed. The council includes majority representation from racialized groups, and has committed to maintaining at least 51 per cent representation when recruiting new members.

The first meeting of UCARE will be in the new year. More information on the UCARE committee can be found on the Provost’s website.

To learn more about the PICRDI report, please visit the Principal’s website.

Inaugural members of UCARE

Name Title
Darian Baskatawang (Artsci’18) Student
Michael Blennerhassett Chair, Senate Educational Equity Committee and Professor, School of Medicine
Alana Butler Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education
Yolande Chan Associate Dean (Research, PhD & MSc Programs), Smith School of Business
Liying Cheng Professor, Faculty of Education
Yolande Davidson Alumna and community member
Yasmine Djerbal PhD candidate
Setareh Ghahari Assistant Professor, School of Rehabilitation Therapy
Adriana Lopez Villalobos Ban Righ Centre
Aba Mortley Alumna and community member
Mona Rahman Office of the Vice-Principal (Research)
Ramna Safeer Commissioner of Social Issues, Alma Mater Society
Teri Shearer Deputy Provost (Academic Operations and Inclusion)
Stephanie Simpson Director, Human Rights Office
Ann Tierney Vice-Provost and Dean (Student Affairs)
Nathan Utioh Residence Life
Rosie Petrides Equity & Diversity Commissioner, Society of Graduate & Professional Students