Queen's Gazette | Queen's University

Queen's University Queen's University
    Search Type

    Search form

    Recognizing years of service

    Recipients of the 35 years service award

    Queen’s University honoured faculty and staff who reached milestone years of continuous service during the 2023 Celebration of Service dinner at Ban Righ Dining Hall on Thursday, June 1.

    A total of 140 staff and faculty members were celebrated for their contributions and for reaching employment milestones of 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, and 55 years.

    The event was attended by recipients, their guests, and hosted by Principal and Vice-Chancellor Patrick Deane and Steve Millan, Associate Vice-Principal (Human Resources).

    “It is a privilege to be able to celebrate and thank our longstanding faculty and staff for their many years of dedication to their roles and to the university,” says Principal Deane, who spoke at the event. “Our employees are integral to the success of our institution, ensuring we are able to meet our operational demands and fulfill our academic mission. I am grateful for their years of service and the important role they have played in making Queen’s what it is today.”

    Congratulations to the following employees as they celebrate a milestone at Queen's this year:

    Celebration of Service


    Mark Babcock, Economics
    Christine Bertrim, Canadian Cancer Trials Group
    Martin Biggleston, Bader College
    Daniel Borschneck, Paediatrics
    Maria Burns, Library System
    Donald Chipley, Geological Science
    Alexandra Cooper, Library System
    Jenny Corlett, Bader College
    John Corrigan, IT Services
    Andrew Craig, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Christine D'Arsigny, Critical Care Medicine
    Diane Davies, University Research Services
    Hans Dringenberg, Psychology
    Petra Fachinger, English
    Barry Fagan, Agnes Etherington Art Centre
    Barbara Graham, Canadian Cancer Trials Group
    Karen Graham, Family Medicine
    Sandra Halliday, Library System
    Caroline Harber, Bader College
    Tracy Johnstone, IT Services
    Michelle Knapp-Hermer, Geography & Planning
    Karen Knight, School of Computing
    Will Kymlicka, Political Studies
    Barbra Lalonde, Global Development Studies
    Anne-Marie Leman, PGPS Admin
    Andrew Lewis, Mathematics & Statistics
    Tamas Linder, Mathematics & Statistics
    Jennifer McNeely, PGPS Admin
    Michel Melanson, Physical Medicine & Rehab
    Loanne Meldrum, SGSPA-Dean's Office
    Robin Moon, University Relations
    Michael Morrow, IT Services
    Tad Nishina, IT Services
    Kathleen Norman, School of Rehab Therapy
    Mary Olmstead, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Scott Parent, Chemical Engineering
    Nichole Peterson, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Vijaya Prabhu, Family Medicine
    Charlotte Reinholtz, Languages Literatures Cultures
    Ted Roddy, Facilities
    Francoise Sauriol, Chemistry
    Nicola Sikkema, Library System
    Graeme Smith, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Sandy Staples, Smith Faculty & Support
    Heather Stuart, Psychiatry
    Janice Tough, Global Engagement
    Joan Tranmer, School of Nursing 
    Janet Van Vlymen, Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
    Richard Van Wylick, Paediatrics
    Shakeel Virk, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Corey Willman, Canadian Cancer Trials Group
    Timothy Wowk, ADV Prospect Research
    Gene Zak, Mechanical & Materials Engineering


    Alexander Boag, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Michael Cassells, Dan School of Drama and Music
    Steve Compeau, Controls Maintenance
    Sharon David, School of Rehab Therapy
    Catherine Davidson, Canadian Cancer Trials Group
    Karen Dubinsky, History
    Christopher Eckert, Biology
    Christopher Frank, Family Medicine
    Mark Green, Mathematics & Statistics
    Richard Greenfield, History
    David Holland, Medicine-Nephrology
    Joseph Hulton, Utilities-Central
    Michael Kawaja, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Mary Kennedy, Institute of Intergovernmental Relations
    Matthew King, Psychology
    Deborah Knight, Philosophy
    Diane Lougheed, Medicine-Respiratory & Critical Care
    Donald Maurice, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Mary Ann McColl,* Rehabilitation Therapy
    Ann Messenger, Applied Science - Faculty Office
    Lois Mulligan, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Colleen Notley  Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Joel Parlow, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Victoria Remenda, Geological Science
    Penny Roantree, Queen's Quarterly
    Jonathan Rose  Political Studies
    Sergio Sismondo, Sociology
    Glen Takahara, Mathematics & Statistics
    Louie Wang, Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
    Gregory Wanless, Dan School of Drama and Music
    Lawrence Widrow, Physics

    Celebration of Service


    Michael Adams, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Julia Baran, Canadian Cancer Trials Group
    Diane Beauchemin, Chemistry
    Kimberley Bell, Library System
    Jane Bertrim, Library System
    Steven Blostein, Electrical & Computer Engineering
    Rick Boswell, Office of Partnerships & Innovation
    Andrew Bryson, Mechanical & Materials Engineering
    Luis Cardoso, Custodial - Blue Team
    Timothy Childs, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Janet Clark-Pereira, Centre for Applied Urological Research
    Monica Corbett, SGSPA-Dean's Office
    Danny Dwyer, Custodial - Red Team
    Randy Ellis, School of Computing
    Gail Ferland, IT Services
    Kevin Fletcher, HVAC Maintenance
    Lisa Gervais, Library System
    Lisa Graham, Faculty of Law
    Donna Ivimey, School of Kinesiology & Health
    Lynda Jessup, Art History
    Liann Joanette, Chemical Engineering
    Carol Johnson, Faculty of Law
    John Jordison, Facilities
    Panagiotis Katsabanis, Robert M Buchan Dept of Mining
    Kenton Ko, Biology
    Holly Lefebvre  ADV Info Tech Management
    Donald MacNaughton  , Paediatrics
    John McCallum, Facilities
    Kenneth Montroy, Faculty of Education
    Evelyn Morin, Electrical & Computer Engineering
    Sandra Murray, Centre for Teaching & Learning
    John Odell, Physics
    Daniel Offin, Mathematics & Statistics
    David Patterson, Office of Risk and Safety Services
    Paul Pearsall, Office of the University Registrar
    Diane Reid, Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor
    John Rudan, Orthopaedic Surgery
    Sandip SenGupta, Pathology & Molecular Medicine
    Lois Shepherd, Oncology
    Gordon Smith, Dan School of Drama and Music
    Richard Smith, Parking- Operations
    Patrick Tobin, Custodial - Red Team
    Karen Walker, Applied Sci - Faculty Office
    Robert Weisnagel, Human Resources
    Martin York, Centre Neuroscience Studies


    David Haglund, Political Studies
    Michael Korenberg, Electrical & Computer Engineering
    Monica St Pierre, Office of VP Research
    Angela Street, Student Awards
    Brian Surgenor, Mechanical and Materials Engineering
    Kenneth Wong, Smith Faculty & Support


    Selim Akl, School of Computing
    Nicholas Bala, Faculty of Law
    Christine Berga, Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor
    Margaret Hicks, Library System
    Anita Lister, Biomedical & Molecular Science
    Nancy Somers, Faculty of Law


    Bonnie Brooks,* Library System

    *2022 Milestone

    Celebration of Service