John J. Heney Award

The John J. Heney Award, established in June, 2001, honours John J. Heney, former Director of Development and recipient of Queen's Distinguished Service Award. Through his professionalism and compassion, John Heney is a role model to all who serve in Advancement at Queen's University.

The John J. Heney Award is presented annually to the Advancement employee who best exemplifies the characteristics of commitment to the Advancement profession, superb performance and devotion to the organization.


  • All staff members of the Office of Advancement, including continuing and term employees, are eligible to be nominated
  • the award is to recognize one individual and not a unit, group or team
  • Previous award winners may be nominated and receive the award more than once at the discretion of The John J. Heney Award Selection Committee
  • If an individual from the previous year was not selected, they can be re-nominated.

Nominations are based on the employee's previous 12 - 18 month work period.

  • Commitment to the Advancement profession, professionalism, and compassion
  • Superb performance in achieving the strategic objectives of the Office of Advancement that embodies the Advancement mission, vision, and values
  • Devotion to the organization and/or the broader university
  • The nominator must include how the employee has demonstrated initiative above and beyond the regular call of duty in their work.

If you have any questions about the nomination process or the award please contact Carla Ferreira Rodrigues

Year Awarded Award Recipient
2023 Kelly Colby
2022 Patrick Galloway
2021 Kate Bearse
2020 Colleen McGuire
2019 Valerie Robinson
2018 Adam Say
2017 Terri Flindall
2016 Jon Bennett
2015 Marnie Girard
2014 Carla Ferreira Rodrigues
2013 Barb Lindsay
2012 Kim Wilkinson & Jodi Snowdon
2011 Tim Wowk & Research Team
2010 Annalisa Boccia
2009 Nikki Remillard
2008 Jeanna Faul 
2007 Laura De Luca
2006 Sharon Weiler
2005 Anne Kershaw
2004 Trish Serveau
2003 Paul Finn
2002 Susan Smith
2001 Ken Cuthbertson