What is Languages, Literatures and Cultures?

The Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures (LLCU) is sphere with dozens of countries' flags superimposeda multidisciplinary unit that offers students the opportunity to learn languages, develop an understanding of literary and cultural traditions, and pursue studies  in the field of Linguistics.  

LLCU offers courses in 11 different languages (Anishinaabemowin, Arabic, Chinese, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Mohawk, Oneida, Portuguese,  and Spanish) as well as courses on topics ranging from intercultural communication (LLCU 111 Introduction to Cultures) to organized crime (LLCU 214 Mafia Culture and the Power of Symbols, Rituals and Myth) to the  interaction of music and culture (LLCU 244 Hips Don’t Lie? Music and Culture   in Latin America) to the structure and use of human languages (LING 100 Introduction to Linguistics), and to language and power (LING 205) among many others. 

The Indigenous Studies program is also offered through LLCU, though the  Major, Joint Honours and Minor in Indigenous Studies also involve courses across many departments in the Faculty of Arts & Science.