Department of Philosophy



site header

Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy at Queen's University has faculty working in a wide variety of fields, including political philosophy, ethics, bioethics, feminism, contemporary metaphysics and epistemology, philosophy of language, philosophy of science, continental philosophy and the history of philosophy. The colloquium series is one of the best anywhere, with well-attended talks by internal and external speakers every Thursday during the term, and extra occasional lectures. 

  • Watson Hall

    Watson Hall, named for the Canadian philosopher John Watson (1847-1939)

  • books by members of the Department
    A selection of books by members of the Philosophy Department
  • A campus walking path after rain

    Campus after rain, courtesy of the Queen's Image Bank.

  • A campus walking path in the Fall

    Campus in Fall, courtesy of the Queen's Image Bank.

  • The Philosophy Department lounge

    Books in the foreground in the Philosophy Department lounge

  • Some members of the Department of Philosophy, April 2019

    Some members of the Department of Philosophy at a short retreat, in April 2019. At the front (left to right): Lisa Guenther, Elliot Paul, Daryn Lehoux, Christine Sypnowich, Rahul Kumar, and Sergio Sismondo. On the stairs are David Bakhurst, Josh Mozersky, Jackie Davies, Paul Fairfield, Mick Smith and Jon Miller.

  • Iris Murdoch: A Centenary, poster for conference


Queen's University is situated on traditional Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe territory.
Ne Queen’s University e’tho nońwe nikanónhsote tsi nońwe ne Haudenasaunee tánon Anishinaabek tehatihsnónhsahere ne óhontsa.
Gimaakwe Gchi-gkinoomaagegamig atemagad Naadowe miinwaa Anishinaabe aking.