Janina Fialkowska

Virtuosi Soloist Series
Jennifer Velva Bernstein Performance Hall
The Isabel
Janina Fialkowska

For almost 50 years, pianist Janina Fialkowska has enchanted audiences and critics around the world. Praised for her musical integrity, refreshing natural approach, and unique piano sound, she has been hailed as “one of the Grandes Dames of piano playing” (Frankfurter Allgemeine). A venerated interpreter of the music of Chopin, she makes her long-awaited return to the Isabel, sharing the music that made her famous.

Read the house program


Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
Sonata D.568, No. 7 in E-flat major

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Intermezzo Op. 76, No. 4 in B-flat major
Rhapsodie Op. 79 No. 1 in B minor
Intermezzo Op.118 No.2 in A major
Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 2 in B-flat minor
Capriccio Op. 116, N0. 7 in D Minor

- Intermission -

Frédéric Chopin (1810 –1849)
Polonaise Op.26, No. 1 in C-sharp minor
Ballade Op. 38, No. 2 in F major
Mazurka Op., 7, No 1 in B-flat major
Mazurka Op. 17, No. 2 in E minor
Scherzo Op. 54, No.4 in E major

Photo by Julien Faugère / ATMA.