National Arts Centre Orchestra with James Ehnes

Artist Spotlight Concerts
Jennifer Velva Bernstein Performance Hall
The Isabel
National Arts Centre Orchestra with James Ehnes

Brahms’ violin concerto is as serene as it is songful—perfect for the gleaming sound and expressive power of James Ehnes (Gramophone Artist of the Year 2021), performing with an Isabel favourite, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Alexander Shelley, conductor. With Schumann's Symphony No. 3, this not-to-be missed powerhouse performance kicks off the Isabel's 2023/24 season.

SCHUMANN Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 97, “Rhenish”
I. Lebhaft (Lively)
II. Scherzo; sehr mässig (Very moderate in speed)
III. Nicht schnell (Not fast)
IV. Feierlich (Ceremonial)
V. Lebhaft (Lively)


BRAHMS Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
James Ehnes, violin
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Adagio
III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace

Photo of the National Arts Centre Orchestra by Curtis Perry.