Art History Faculty

Administration

Norman Vorano, Head of Art History and Art Conservation

Ph.D. (University of Rochester)
(613) 533 6000 x77350
head.ahac@queensu.ca

Profile

Una D'Elia, Art History Graduate Chair

Ph.D. (Harvard University)
(613) 533-6000 x78140
gradchair.arth@queensu.ca

Profile

Jane Russell Corbett, Art History Undergraduate Chair

Ph.D. (Queen's University)
(613) 533-6000 x77466
ugchair.arth@queensu.ca

Profile

Art History Faculty

Gauvin Alexander Bailey

Ph.D. (Harvard University)
Professor, Bader Chair in Southern Baroque Art

(613) 533 6000 x77344
baileyg@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Art and architecture of the late Renaissance, Baroque, and Rococo in Europe and their global diffusion in Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia, and Africa.

Profile

Antonia Behan

Ph.D. (Bard Graduate Centre, NY)
Assistant Professor

(613) 533 6000 X78456
antonia.behan@queensu.ca

Research Areas: 19th- and 20th-century craft and design; global Arts and Crafts; Global Design History and Material Cultures

Profile

Juliana Ribeiro da Silva Bevilacqua

Ph.D. (University of São Paulo)
Assistant Professor, Queen's National Scholar

(613)533 6000 X75524
jrds@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Classical African art; contemporary African art; colonial museums in Africa; Afro-Brazilian art; Arts of Diaspora.

Profile

Una D'Elia

Ph.D. (Harvard University)
Professor and Graduate Chair

(613) 533-6000 x78140
deliau@queensu.ca

Profile

Stephanie Dickey

Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, NYU)
Professor, Bader Chair in Northern Baroque Art

(614) 533-6000 x78774
dickeys@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Dutch and Flemish 17th-century art, especially Rembrandt, prints, collecting, portraiture, emotion, gender.
 

Profile

Cathleen Hoeniger

Ph.D. (Princeton)
Professor

(613) 533-6000 x77346
hoeniger@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Italian Medieval and Renaissance art; Cultural heritage preservation; The history of art restoration/conservation; The impact of war on cultural heritage. 

Profile

Jen Kennedy

Assistant Professor
(613) 533-6000 x79066
jen.kennedy@queensu.ca

Profile

Allison Morehead

Ph.D. (Chicago)
Associate Professor

(613) 533 6000 x78804
morehead@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Modern art; art, psy-sciences, medicine; collecting and museums; feminist and critical race theory.

Profile

Matthew Reeve

Ph.D. (Cambridge University)
Professor, Queen's National Scholar

(613) 533 6000 x75247
reevem@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Later medieval art, architecture and aesthetics c. 1000-1500, episodes of medievalism in Western art, British art, relationships between architecture, the decorative arts and the history of sexuality, and the historiography and theory of art history.

Profile

Katherine Romba

Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, NYU)
Assistant Professor

(613) 533-6000 x74171
rombak@queensu.ca

Profile

Jane Russell Corbett

Ph.D. (Queen's University)
Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Chair

(613) 533-6000 x77466
jrc@queensu.ca

Profile

Joan M. Schwartz

Ph.D. (Queen's University)
Professor

(613) 533-6000 x75453
schwartz@queensu.ca

Research Areas: History of Photography; 19thC Visual Culture; Materiality; Archives; Photo-Geographical Imaginaries.

Profile

Ron Spronk

Ph.D. (Groningen)
Professor

(613) 533-6000 x78288
spronkr@queensu.ca

Research Areas: Early Netherlandish painting; technical art history; applications of digital imaging in art history; digital humanities.

Profile

Norman Vorano

Ph.D. (University of Rochester)
Associate Professor, Queen's National Scholar, Head of Department

(613) 533-6000 x77350
norman.vorano@queensu.ca

Profile

Cross-Appointed and Affiliated Faculty

George Bevan

Cross-appointed Associate Professor, Geography
(613) 533 2745
bevan@queensu.ca

Profile

Susan Lord

Cross-Appointed Faculty, Professor of Film and Media and Director of the Vulnerable Media Lab
(613) 533-6000 x77019
lords@queensu.ca

Profile

Ruth Cereceda

Experiential Learning Coordinator and Senior Lecturer, Art History
Bader College, UK
+44 1323834484
ruth.cereceda@queensu.ca

Profile

Professors Emeriti

Pierre du Prey

Professor Emeritus, Queen's Research Chair
pduprey@queensu.ca

Profile

Janice Helland

Professor Emerita
hellandj@queensu.ca

Profile

Looking for our Art Conservation faculty?