Department of Philosophy



site header

Queen's University has recognized Professor David Bakhurst as a Distinguished University Professor, the university’s highest research-related honour. David has earned the title for his wide-ranging work in philosophy, from Soviet philosophy to the philosophy of psychology to the philosophy of education, and more. Congratulations, David!!

Now in its second year, the Distinguished University Professor Program recognizes professors for exhibiting an outstanding and sustained research record, teaching excellence, and significant and lasting contributions to Queen’s, Canada, and the world.

“There is world-class research and teaching being conducted every day at Queen’s and this seems all the more imperative with the challenges we currently face with COVID-19,” says Patrick Deane, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Queen’s. “Each recipient exemplifies excellence in their field and it is my great pleasure to designate these six accomplished faculty members as Distinguished University Professors.”

The other 2020 Distinguished University Professors are: Julian Barling, Smith School of Business, Glenville Jones, Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences, Audrey Kobayashi, Department of Geography, Kathleen Lahey, Faculty of Law and John Smol, Department of Biology.