Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts

Queen's University Queen's University
Search Type

Re-Picturing South Asian Migrant Men In Greece

Mon, Feb 6, 202310:00 am
Tue, Feb 7, 202310:00 am
Wed, Feb 8, 202310:00 am
Thu, Feb 9, 202310:00 am
Fri, Feb 10, 202310:00 am
Mon, Feb 13, 202310:00 am
Tue, Feb 14, 202310:00 am
Wed, Feb 15, 202310:00 am
Thu, Feb 16, 202310:00 am
Fri, Feb 17, 202310:00 am
Venue
Art and Media Lab
Price
FREE
Series
Human Rights Arts Festival
  • This Is Evidence
    This Is Evidence

This Is Evidence

By Dr. Reena Kukreja PhD, Global Development Studies at Queen’s University

Monday to Friday, 10 AM- 4 PM _ Public Lecture: Monday, February 6, 2023 at 5:30 PM

BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND!

This is Evidence, a powerful multi-media Photovoice exhibit focusses on undocumented South Asian male migrants from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and India living in Greece. “This will let the people learn how we live our lives here,” —these words from an undocumented Bangladeshi migrant worker sums the impetus behind this exhibit. Themes include xenophobia, Islamophobia, temporary labour migration, securitization of borders, as well as enactments of masculinity and encounters between migrant men and the Greek population. The exhibit includes photographic stills and videos taken by the migrant men to show their lives as undocumented workers, drone films, interactive touchscreens, maps showing migrant trajectories, life-histories, songs sung and games played for leisure, and reconstructed migrant housing.