Jim Bennett Award (Kingston Branch)

Branch Award
Judith Brown receiving 2019 Jim Bennett Award

Inaugurated in 1993 as the Kingston Award, this award is presented biennially by the Kingston Branch of the Queen's University Alumni Association to honour Kingstonians for outstanding achievements in careers, sport, the arts, or volunteer endeavours, contributing to the betterment of Queen’s or Kingston. Nominees do not necessarily need to be Queen’s graduates.

In 2000, it was renamed posthumously as The Jim Bennett Award to commemorate the distinguished and dedicated service of the late Dr. Jim Bennett to the University, to its students, and to the citizens of the greater Kingston community. This award is presented biennially at the Kingston Branch Awards dinner hosted by the Kingston Branch of the QUAA.

2019 - Judith Brown, Arts'70

The award is being presented for her role in advancing ethnic and racial inclusion and for being a long time champion for change in Kingston and at Queen’s.

2017 – Steven Koopman, Artsci'98 and Cristiano Vilela, Artsci'04

The award is being presented for their thoughtful service and innovative collaboration through social media that helps keep our communities safe.

2016 – Leslee Thompson, NSc’84

2015 - Peng-Sang Cau, Com'94

2014 - Carol Allison-Burra, Arts'68

2013 - Susan Creasy, Arts/PHE'77, Ed'78

2012 - Bhavana Varma

2011 - Ruth George

2010 - 2009 Gaels Football Team

2009 - Brian Osborne

2008 - Walter Fenlon

2007 - Venicio Rebelo, Artsci'82, and Brian Cookman

2006 - Kim Donovan

2005 - Doug Hargreaves, BA'55, LLD'12 (deceased)

2004 - Hal McCarney, BA'50 (deceased)

2003 - Brit Smith, LLD'09

2002 - Doug Thompson, Arts'55

2001 - Queen's Solar Car Team

The Kingston Achievement Award

2000 - Marie Shales

1999 - Greg Wanless, Artsci'82

1998 - Queen's Bands

1997 - Terence Dickinson

1996 - G. Graham Thomson, BA'34 (deceased)

1995 - John and Moira Davies

1994 - John Armitage, Sc'71

1993 - Diana M. Abramsky, BA'61 (deceased)

1992 - The 1992 Golden Gaels Football Team